We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Osteria Bacicio

Bar Osteria Bacicio
Via G. Capellini 17, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy
+39 (0)187 792054
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Porto Venere
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A cloud burst happened just as we entered a beach front front restaurant. Management then shifted the diners seated outside inside and apologised to us they could not seat us. The rain was bucketting down as we ran down the deck to find the stairs leading up to the the street above. We were very wet and just so lucky when we entered the Bacicio they had a spare table. We were impressed with bacicios great service, food and beverages. Fortunately it took a couple of hours for the rain to pass, so we enjoyed the good wine, beer and food in a leisurely manner. A great place and I am sure we had a more enjoyable time than the patrons on the fancy waterfront joint below.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    60
    14
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a great food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stopped at the bar in lunch time just because they had a stand near the street with snacks of dumpling stuffed with seafood and fried calamari rings and sardines.which was very nice.

At evening time, we looked for a restaurant and we decided to check with Tripadvisore "near me" and it was right beside us - the same one from lunch time. So we have decided to give it a chance and - what a great surprise!!
The decoration is very unique rusty plates and tables like barrels . recommend dishes:
For first dish we took mixed plate of mixed fish kind of "possalo" " Azura" and "Skea" special dish amazing test!!!
for the main course had two kinds of spagetti Bacicio - and Corsara. both were very very good!!
we took white wine of the house and we loved every bite.
the all cost was 35euro and it was fantastic!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Another fantastic meal at Bacicio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It's been a year since I've visited Portovenere, and once again, Bacicio did not disappoint me. No, instead, they outdid themselves. First, the spaghetti with mussels- light, perfectly cooked, scrumptious. If you aren't a mussel lover, this dish will convert you. Second course, octopus. Again, an unexpected delicacy. I've eaten at several locations in Portovenere over the years, many of them more than once. None of the others compare to Bacicio.
One more accolade for Bacicio- everyone treats you like you are their friend, one of the family. Friendly, welcoming, warm, perfect service.
Make this a must do on your Portovenere list. In fact, come to Portovenere just for a meal at Bacicio.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

All the times that i go to Portovenere i dont know why,i go here.At the entrance it may seems a serious place:the dont give you many smiles(ligurian style!),but all is great!good service ,good tagliatelle with zucchini and fresh tuna(well not good:great!)--orata and shrimps we had were absolutely fresh!
a lot of choice in first courses :if you are in a hurry and you want to eat well,this is the place.also aperitif are cool!:they serve also some kind of "fish snacks "so tasty!if you comeback as me,then nice smiles of the blond girl in the back and of the black boy that serves everything are coming!
i suggest this place to everyone

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Tucked away in Via Capellini away from the waterfront is this little pasta and pizza gem. I suspect it is great for lunches but we tried dinner and were not disappointed. A large menu with an oddly appealing pirate theme and lots of anchovies used in serious ways. The star of our meal was squid ink tagliatelle with anchovies, olives and tomatoes. This was very big on flavor and perfectly cooked. Main courses mostly around €10. Great value.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Osteria Bacicio also viewed

Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
Porto Venere, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Bar Osteria Bacicio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Osteria Bacicio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.