We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Not Enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence i Gabbiani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residence i Gabbiani to your Saves list
Residence i Gabbiani
Via dell'Olivo 465, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Porto Venere B&B and Inns
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“One Night Not Enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We only stayed one night and were very impressed with the apartment. It was very clean and spacious and well equipped. The balcony was a highlight with a picture postcard view of the port and banana lounges to relax in and take it all in. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Car park underneath is a bonus and access to the apartment is an easy drive on a one way street through the town. The apartment is located out of the main center however it is a pleasant 10-15min walk along the water front into center of Porto Venere. The supermarket can be accessed along the way. Highly recommend Porto Verne as a relaxing holiday spot. Easy access to nearby locations, Cinque Terre and The Gulf of Poets by boat trip or car. Will definitely return for a longer stay in Residence i Gabbiani

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in apartment 4 with 2 young children. The apartment was very spacious, clean and the kitchen well equipped. Lovely terrace area, which was nice for the children. The views were amazing and we spent alot of time in the evening sitting outside enjoying the view and the changing sky. Parking was a blessing as it is paid parking on the street. I had wanted to visit Cinque Terre for a very long time and after visiting a few of the villages I think Portovenere has so much more to offer and would recommend it as a place to stay. It takes about 20 mins to walk into the village from the apartment, but it is a lovely walk (also one that our 3 year old did very easily). I can recommend the little shop just 5 minutes walk away with beautiful cakes and fresh fruit. We fell in love with Portovenere and genuinely didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Me, my wife and child had stayed 2 nights in here.
The room was really clean and the available pans and kitchen saved us some money on dinner/breakfast (and if you came to Portovenere you know what I mean).

The owner is fantastic, it can entertain you for hours telling about his past, somebody is going to make a book about his hectic life! But very kind expecially with small kids.

The decks are the highlight of the deal, breathtaking views of the gulf! Bring your tripod.

It isn't too close to the "core" of the town but the walk (~20 minutes) is nice and plenty of opportunities to steal some figs from the neighboors.

We will come back (to hear more stories)!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in appartment number 4. It was a great experience.
When we arrived we walked up the stairs to the owners' appartment. The lady does not speak any English but her husband does a little. Both very kind. They showed us the appartment, which is very nice. Terrace facing the sea (and sun from about 10am til 8pm) with two sunbeds and a table with some chairs. Inside: Very clean, nice bed, kitchen with microwave, oven, stove, fridge and freezer. Very handy since we cooked a lot of our own meals during our stay. Nice living room with a sofa, closet desk and tv. Walking distance from the beach (5min), the town (10min), a small supermarket (10 min) and restaurants (10 min). Airconditioning in the living room and bedroom, which was great. WiFi worked really well in the livingroom.

We really appreciated the garage, as parking is pricy on the street. Unfortunately there were a few days on the weekends when the garage was full. But we moved some trash cans and were able to park inside anyways. If you don't have a car, there is a regular bus service which runs through the street to La Spezia. The street is not super busy though (except for saturdays) so it was nice to sit outside whenever we felt like it.

Whenever our towels were dirty we could drop them off with the owner and she would give us clean ones. Same with the bed sheets. Be sure to just use gestures and point to things you need, so she understands. Also the younger lady who cleans speaks a little English.

Downsides: the pillows were pretty hard, so we bought some cheap new ones in the supermarket in La Spezia. The kitchen has plenty of pans and utensils, but a few more cups would have been nice and a sponge to do the dishes.

Overall it was great to stay here and if we ever come back here, I would pick Residence i Gabbiani again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: For as far as we could tell all appartments except for number 5 face the sea. We stayed in number 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our two night stay at Residence i Gabbiani was one of the highlights of our three week driving trip. The access is simple...drive into Porto Venere on the one way road and follow it as it starts back up the hill. It has free parking in the garage beneath the apartments. The view is nothing short of spectacular! One can enjoy the view and a little sun from your own lanai. The apartment is very clean, comfortable and fully equipped. The owner speaks practically no English...only Italian but that was not a problem. We were able to communicate with no difficulty. It is a short walk down the hill to many fine cafes and the local sights. It was a short drive to La Spezia to take the train to the Cinque Terre. We would have walked to the boat, but the Ligurian Sea was too rough for the boats to run.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Residence i Gabbiani is a joy where we had a 2 room flat with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Poets on the Ligurian Sea in a sturdy family-run hotel with underground parking! Parking is especially important in Portovenere and to find a hotel with free parking is an anamoly here, the gateway to the Cinque Terre. The lovely woman who runs the place speaks no English so be prepared to talk with your hands but you can be understood by simply stating your name if you have a reservation. The man of the house will sometimes share a bottle of his own wine with you, too. In additioin to the front balcony, we had a nice, roomy, sunny terrace off our bedroom and TWO bathrooms in the 2 room flat. Spotlessly clean, the living area features a Murphy bed, a small table with chairs, and an efficiency kitchen. Since my daughter, grandson, goddaughter and I were there, I have also placed several friends in Residence i gabbiani.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a large modern apartment with fully equipped kitchen/breakfast nook, living room, bedroom, and extremely large patio overlooking beautiful Portovenere. Car parking is free in the garage (1.25 to 1.75 euro per hour on the streets). Driving is simple - you come in on a one-way road to the center and leave town on a one-way road away from the center (Residence i Gabbiani is just up the hill on the way out of town and easy to find). While the owner's mother does not speak English, she maintains a friendly line of patter in Italian as she shows you what is needed by sign language, and then gives you a free bottle of wine to seal the deal.
We had intended to visit three towns of the Cinque Terre by boat from Porto Venere. Because of rough seas the boats ran only to Monterosso on our first day and not at all on our second day. This was OK with us as we enjoyed Monterosso and seeing the rest of the five towns from the sea, but loved to be in Portovenere. One can climb to the fortress overlooking the town and to the two lovely churches that provide great views. The narrow streets are rustic and it was enjoyable to watch children leaving for school on my early morning walks. I am 71 and the walk to the main square and boat docks was less than 15 minutes. Only one uphill portion returning to the apartment so the return took about 15 minutes. Can't recommend Portovenere and Residence i Gabbiani enough.

Room Tip: Any of the sea view apartments would be great. We had number four, which also had a small side gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence i Gabbiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence i Gabbiani

Address: Via dell'Olivo 465, 19025 Porto Venere, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Porto Venere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Porto Venere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a balcony overlooking the Ligurian Sea, apartments at the Gabbiani Residence are 300 metres from the sandy beach and 1.5 km outside Portovenere. Air conditioning, a fully equipped kitchenette and flat-screen TV are included in each apartment at Residence I Gabbiani. Some units boast separate living and sleeping areas, and some have free Wi-Fi. Guests can find shops and restaurant only 400 metres from the property, or reach La Spezia city centre in 20 minutes by car. The famous Cinque Terre Area is 25 km away. Parking is free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence i Gabbiani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence i Gabbiani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.