We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect warm and personal hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Danila

Save Saved
You added Hotel Danila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Danila
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spiaggia di Scaglieri, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 26 hotels in Portoferraio
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect warm and personal hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

In Hotel Danila we found the perfect place to stay if you look for a casual, typical Italian atmosphere. No groups, very friendly people, lovely gardens, beautiful beach! The scenery feels so original mediterranean because the whole bay consists of a pine tree forest without hardly any buildings. White sand beaches and cristal clear water completes the picture. We would love to come back again!

Diederik and Annemarij

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

I can't really say enough about this place, over-rated, over-priced, loud, location is not bad and they do their best to keep you at the place to spend more money there.
The things we found mis-stated,
Internet access - none
Room Safe - none
Website rates not honored
Full Board charged even if you do not want it
The bed was so close to the floor it made it very difficult to get out of bed unless you just rolled off the bed onto your knees.
The room we had was so small in the bedroom area you had to put your luggage on the bed to get it to the other side of the room.
The beach they talk about is 5 yds of sand and shared by all the other hotels and campgrounds, not to mention the tons of locals that come daily.
Over all not recomended and would never stay there again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

This is a great litle hotel that has a lot of charm and the feel of a nice little getaway, the grounds are a highlight of the hotel , all the gardens, isolated lounge areas , very private areas, good food, nice staff, This is a quite old hotel (I think built in the 1950's) but this is a plus, gives you the feeling of old Italy, I had a superior sea view room ,,it was rather small, but just fine, the grounds make up all the difference.The beach is very nice with restaurants, bars, Beds for rent. I would stay here again, but mabye get a larger room. My opinion of this hotel, just a charming, romanic hotel for all ages, the atmosphere it creates is its selling point

  • Liked — The grounds, isolated areas with beds
  • Disliked — Small room, but they have better
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

We spent there 3 nights last september. Scaglieri bay is a charming little bay, so the location of this 3 star hotel is very nice. The hotel was clean and quite. We liked the food. Overall we would recommend it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room was quite small
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

We stayed at this fantastically located 3 star hotel in May this year. I have to say we were most impressed and it exceeded our expectations , we were a bit apprehensive as the year before we had had quite a disappointing stay at another hotel on the island that had been highly recommended by this web site. The Danila’s main asset is it’s location you literally walk out of your door and within a few steps your on to the powdery sand of the romantic Biodola bay. The hotel itself is very charming and although the room we stayed in was on the small side it was perfectly adequate and very clean with air-conditioning, satellite TV and safe. Another plus was the shaded car parking for the guests. My only slight disappointment was the food although the portions were good. I would have preferred to go just B&B however like with most Italian resort hotels it’s not encouraged to do just B&B as it’s nearly always as costly as doing half board I would suggest having lunch in the hotel and dinner at the wonderful restaurant right on the beach in front of the hotel ( Da Luciano) I will most definitely go to this hotel again however we were advised by the locals that the beach is extremely crowded in peak season from mid June through to August

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Danila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danila

Address: Spiaggia di Scaglieri, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 hotels in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Danila 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Danila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danila Hotel Elba Island
Hotel Danila Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Danila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.