We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully situated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Biodola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Biodola to your Saves list
Hotel Biodola
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Portoferraio
West Sussex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautifully situated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

With its own private beach, outdoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and tennis court, this hotel is a 15 minute drive from Portoferraio. Rooms are spacious and air-conditioned (although this is not switched on until at least May, so if there is an early heatwave, windows have to be open all night). It is very quiet although the bedroom floors are tiled so I imagine that you wouldnt wish for a room below a lady walking around in her heels! For me the oustanding thing about thi hotel was the service. In particular it was a joy to watch the oiled machinery of the restaurant staff in operation. And whilst we were staying on the limited half-board tarif, the food was excellent. I am really looking forward to going back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deferrari, Direttore at Hotel Biodola, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at the Hermitage.
It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We'll share your comments with our team, who I'm certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    40
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
78
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I loved staying here and Elba itself!

It was so beautiful and the images you see are exactly what it looks like - we had an amazing view from our balcony and watched the sun set :-) This is without doubt, the best bit!

The beach is sandy and lovely (and private), the hotel whilst in need of a lick of paint is really lovely, they have a lovely restaurant (not the cheapest mind!) and if we stayed again, we would opt for half board as we really enjoyed having food prepared at the table and just the great quality. It also has lovely bars! The best bit was having drinks and on the terrace which has lovely views and olive and lemon trees, or was it sitting in the hot tub or just going around Elba in a hire car - who knows. It was all pretty good!

You can apparently go and use the facilities of the hermitage hotel next door but we were not there for long enough.

Note - you will need a car to go around Elba - and I can not recommend this enough!

Loved the staff, loved the place and I want to go back and probably will :-)

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the sea - you need to see the sun set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deferrari, Direttore at Hotel Biodola, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are happy to hear that you spent a nice holiday at our Hotel.
May is a nice period to visit Elba due to the climate condition.
We are in a central position of the Island at only 7 km from Portoferraio harbor where the ferry arrives. From our hotel you can easily reach every part of the island.
Our concierge is always at your disposal for any suggestion about the best places to visit.
It will be a pleasure welcoming you again as our guest.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauchringen, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading about it on Tripadvisor and we were definitely not disappointed. If you are looking for a hotel that is (almost) perfect, look no further.

1) Location: It is probably one of the best possible locations on all of Elba: quiet, green, with a sandy beach and beautiful views - not to forget the sunsets.
2) Building: The hotel might need a bit of paint and it is not new any more, but it is comfortable with a nice restaurant and bar (including a huge terrace, where you can have a real 'sundowner' while the sun sinks into the sea right in front of you).
3) Rooms: Clean and comfortable, though they might be a touch bigger and the bathrooms could use an 'update'.
4) Food: Certainly the highlight. We went for the half-board option and did not regret it one second. Meals are served at your table by very attentive and friendly staff. The quality of the definitely freshly prepared food (sometimes in front of you) could not be better. The only 'problem': You need to swim, walk or workout a lot to burn the calories.
5) Services et. al.: We found the whole staff - without exception - very friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. - The beach is great and the hotel offers changing rooms, showers, etc. right on there private stretch of it.

Good hotels in Italy don't come cheap, but we can say that we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our week at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very nice hotel with an excellent restaurant and an extremely friendly staff. It is located in a beautiful bay just a few steps from a really nice beach that is reserved for hotel guests. A 9-hole golf course can be reached within a few minutes of walk and tennis courts and the gym can be used by guests of Hotel Biodola and Hotel Hermitage in common. It is not one of the most luxurious hotels we have been at, but we enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing week there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Rather stuck in the past, this hotel is not very stylish and there is no attention to detail - no floral displays, no free water in the rooms, basic toiletries, thin towels, no proper beach or poolside service. It does not compete with luxury hotels in other parts of the world, and has none of the little touches we now come to expect in a hotel as expensive as this.
The rooms are poorly sound proofed, and 'garden view' means a scrubby flowerbed.
The setting is beautiful and the pool and beach very well maintained. Most impressive is the restaurant where the cooking at dinner is excellent, the service rather patronising and the other guests horribly over dressed. This is bourgeois posturing, not barefoot luxury.
Dinner is in the same restaurant except once a week when it is a superb Tuscan buffet in the beach restaurant. There is no attempt to create a sense of variety in the experience, and both restaurants are as prosaically decorated.
If you bring teenagers, there is no provision for them-no table tennis, den area or activities organised, but if they want to change bikini 4 x a day and sunbathe they will fit in a treat.
I would say service is professional, and rather cool even for an Italian speaker like my husband.
But if you are one of the Italian families who obviously return here year in and year out service appeared to be positively forelock tugging.

If you want a few days by the sea in Elba with great food, this is a good option, but for the money I would personally try somewhere else like France, Tuscany proper or the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Try to get to the end of corridors to avoid the noise of people walking past at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've been at hotel Biodola end of june 2013 after a trip through tuscany. We were lucky and had great weather almost all two weeks. Therefore we really could enjoy the excellent beach. It is extraordinary clean and the water is dark blue as it should be. Almost all days exclusive yachts came to enjoy the beach as well which also proofs the unique quality. The hotel also offers a great terrace with breathtaking views on the sunset.
The rooms were very clean and nice. However, they are certainly not "modern". The inerior looks a bit used and may have already seen the one or the other year too much. However, everything works fine and is clean as said. The whole room has a tiled floor, which we prefer since it is a bit more hygienic, however, of course also a little "cold". One disadvantage is that the glass doors to the balcony are all but well isolated. You hear almost everything from outside. When there is live music at the terrance it is like the band would play inside your room. On the other hand you also hear the sea very clearly in your room which we found extremely nice - thus, it can be an advantage as well.
Another advantage of the hotel is the dinner. Every evening they offer a four course menu where you also can choose between different meals. The quality of the food is excellent and so is the service. Once a week they had a tuscany evening in the beach bar Maitu - don't miss this, it is even one class better than the normal dinner with a huge variety of different meals from tuscany and especially great prosciutto and slami choices and fruits.
The breakfast is ok. They have a buffet with an average number of choices. Very good "cappucio" and espresso (but this is normal for tuscany ;-) but nothing special at all.
We went out the one or the other night, but not in Biodola since there is absolutely nothing to go to around the hotel - thus, you need a car to get to Portoferraio, Procchio or Mariciana Marina (this one we liked most by far!). So directly in Biodola there is almost nothing you can do outside the hotels.
All in all it is very good four star hotel in a great location. We were struggling a bit on how to review it but decided at the end to give it three points. It is a price value decision since the hotel is very expensive and having this in mind it is ok overall. However, this shouldn't change the positive views you can read above, we really had a wonderful time in Biodola!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I found Hotel Biodola through CharmingTuscany.com. My wife and I have been here for the last 4 days and have found a comfortable and relaxing rhythm. Every member of the staff here is exceptionally polite and well trained in customer service. Presently the hotel is mostly booked with Italian couples and families and it seems they have been coming for years. The staff is so kind and accommodating to every guest and every request. It is a very nice feeling here with warm smiles all around; very much seeming like a throw back to kinder and gentler times. There is no attempt at cool or chic, just warmth and welcome. Domenico, the bartender is particularly kind, interesting and helpful. He handmade fresh, white peach juice at home and brought it in to make drinks or mix with champagne. Clearly we love the vibe.
That being said, everything works well in our suite, the bed is comfortable, shower and AC are good and the view from the balcony is unforgettable. We have the half-board which includes breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is a casual affair. Dinner is served in the dining room. The food is good and the service at dinner is top-notch. Tonight we are going the nearby sister hotel, Hermitage, for dinner at a little seaside restaurant. They are crediting our dinner here against our charges there.
At the beach, each guest has a chair and umbrella ready for them and there is none of that crazy jockeying we see at American hotels where guests go claim chairs (which they don't use for hours) just to get a spot.
Come to Biodola for some real service in a perfect setting. Don't come if you are looking for tons of action and partying.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Biodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biodola

Address: La Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Family Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Biodola 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent Biodola bay, the hotel has a large private sand beach, 8 clay tennis courts, 9-hole golf course.The hotel's restaurant is famous for its exquisite cuisine and service. Maitu' beach restaurant offers a range of Tuscan specialties. Rooms and suites all with terrace, have all the comforts one would expect of a top-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Biodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biodola Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Biodola Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Biodola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.