We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent Elba's Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Biodola

Save Saved
You added Hotel Biodola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Biodola
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Portoferraio
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Execellent Elba's Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is ideally located and great value for money. The staff is very helpful, the two restaurants have a terrific chef with breakfast/lunch and dinner a la carte with buffet choice. The rooms are clean and pretty. The hotel has its own beach with sunbeds, umbrellas, a restaurant, and a bar. Included are some water sports; canoe and peddle-boat.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
79
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is simply fantastic, you get really a great deal for your money. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast is delicious and they have a big choice. The rooms are clean and pretty, we were absolutely satisfied with the standard double room. The hotel has its own beach with sunbeds, umbrellas, a restaurant, a bar, and very clean bathroom facilities. Biodola beach is one of the nicest beaches on the island. The hotel's bar has often live music, and the view from the terrace is amazing.
We had dinner only once in the hotel, it was abundant and good, but if you have a car, it is recommended to visit some nice restaurants in the neighbouring little cities.
A real advantage of the hotel, is that it belongs to the same group as its 5-star neighbour, the Hermitage, and as a guest of Biodola, you can use all sport facilities (gym, tennis, football).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very nice hotel, clean, good service. Own beach and nice breakfast buffet. Probably in the nicest bay on Elba Island

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We wanted to stay as the year before at Hotel del Golfo, but as the hotel opened only in May we were asked if we would go to Biodola what we accepted without hesitation as it belongs to the same group. We are a family of four with two little children and enjoyed our stay at the Biodola as much as we had enjoyed our stay with del Golfo the year before. The hotel is in a really nice location with fanatstic views on the sea, a very nice beach, great food and most of all a highly motivated and very friendly stuff. The rooms are not fancy but nice and clean. The beach is really wonderful and end of April a great place to relax in spring. They are very child friendly and nothing is to much for the team to make parents and children happy. They have a couple of tennis courts and while we were there the hotel guests were mainly Swiss tennis families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Perfect location, fantastic food! I have been here on two trips to Italy. It's rather expensive so after a few nights here head over to casa rosa and save some money

Room Tip: Try to get a room at least on the second floor for a balcony overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I would say that it is quite charming and very clean. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and bathrooms are 'to american standards'. The food is quite disappointing generally- one night a week they serve a buffet which was wonderful, but the rest of the nights it was not worth the price. They do do a wonderful pre-dinner drinks on the balcony, however.

The beach is fine. I think we went too early (late August)-- there were still hordes of people. We felt a bit crammed onto the beach like sardines amongst the beach chairs. (I think this was just the timing-- a week later would have made a huge difference). We visited other beaches on the island and they were all the same, but Biodola is one of the nicest.

So, I think all in all, while very pleasant to be on the beach and very comfortable, it was not worth the expense (it was VERY expensive). And we were not blown away by the service either.

Oh, last thing-- there were TONS of children... And they were all crying at dinner.. which felt a bit like a Club Med instead of the 4-star hotel we were paying for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

A lovely hotel in a great setting. We didn’t plump for one of the sea-view rooms, as we booked late in the day, and while the rooms are not sumptuously furnished, they’re clean and comfortable and fitted our needs perfectly. We stayed for 5 nights on the half-board option and the food in the restaurant was of extremely high-quality. However, if you don’t want to take this option, there’s a small restaurant/bar directly behind the hotel and in Scaglieri, which is only a 5-10mins walk away, there are another couple of beach side pizzeria’s/restaurants which all looked nice and very reasonable. The hotel is also only a short stroll away from its sister hotel, The Hermitage. The beach at biodola is wonderful with clean white sand and crystal clear sea and you’re allocated your own sun-loungers on arrival on the hotels private beach. Beach towels were available for 1EURO/day. As the entire island is pretty small no-where takes very long to reach by car. We visited Porto Azzurro, Capoliveri and Marina del Campo but agreed that biodola probably offered one of the nicest settings and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Biodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biodola

Address: La Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Family Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Biodola 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent Biodola bay, the hotel has a large private sand beach, 8 clay tennis courts, 9-hole golf course.The hotel's restaurant is famous for its exquisite cuisine and service. Maitu' beach restaurant offers a range of Tuscan specialties. Rooms and suites all with terrace, have all the comforts one would expect of a top-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Biodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biodola Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Biodola Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Biodola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.