We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Biodola

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Biodola
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Portoferraio
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Perfect location, fantastic food! I have been here on two trips to Italy. It's rather expensive so after a few nights here head over to casa rosa and save some money

Room Tip: Try to get a room at least on the second floor for a balcony overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
62
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I would say that it is quite charming and very clean. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and bathrooms are 'to american standards'. The food is quite disappointing generally- one night a week they serve a buffet which was wonderful, but the rest of the nights it was not worth the price. They do do a wonderful pre-dinner drinks on the balcony, however.

The beach is fine. I think we went too early (late August)-- there were still hordes of people. We felt a bit crammed onto the beach like sardines amongst the beach chairs. (I think this was just the timing-- a week later would have made a huge difference). We visited other beaches on the island and they were all the same, but Biodola is one of the nicest.

So, I think all in all, while very pleasant to be on the beach and very comfortable, it was not worth the expense (it was VERY expensive). And we were not blown away by the service either.

Oh, last thing-- there were TONS of children... And they were all crying at dinner.. which felt a bit like a Club Med instead of the 4-star hotel we were paying for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

A lovely hotel in a great setting. We didn’t plump for one of the sea-view rooms, as we booked late in the day, and while the rooms are not sumptuously furnished, they’re clean and comfortable and fitted our needs perfectly. We stayed for 5 nights on the half-board option and the food in the restaurant was of extremely high-quality. However, if you don’t want to take this option, there’s a small restaurant/bar directly behind the hotel and in Scaglieri, which is only a 5-10mins walk away, there are another couple of beach side pizzeria’s/restaurants which all looked nice and very reasonable. The hotel is also only a short stroll away from its sister hotel, The Hermitage. The beach at biodola is wonderful with clean white sand and crystal clear sea and you’re allocated your own sun-loungers on arrival on the hotels private beach. Beach towels were available for 1EURO/day. As the entire island is pretty small no-where takes very long to reach by car. We visited Porto Azzurro, Capoliveri and Marina del Campo but agreed that biodola probably offered one of the nicest settings and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Staff most friendly and helpful.Food very good. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols on beach. hotel rooms absolutely spotless. Couldnt fault anything about the place. will definately return!

Room Tip: Families can ask for ground floor rooms which lead directly out onto grass area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Hotel Biodola is a beautiful hotel. The sandy beach was awesome and the water was clear as tap water!! The sunsets were amazing from the beach, the patio, and our room. As for the staff, I cannot praise the concierge Andrea Gentini enough. He was fantastic! He was always welcoming and helpful when assisting us with our travel and hotel needs. The hotel was beautiful and kept immaculately clean. The meals were great. We intended to rent a car to see the rest of the island, but in our 7 days there never did because the Hotel Biodola had everything we needed and wanted for a relaxing, beach holiday. I would definitely stay there again. Also, they didn't tack on extra costs for anything - intenet in our room was free, lounge chairs and umbreallas on the beach free. My only regret is that I don't speak Italian so I was unable to truly convey to all the staff how much I appreciated the amazing job they all did to make our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have balconies for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We've been coming back to this hotel for 11 years and every year the food is exquisite, the service lightning fast and the island beautiful. Our teenage daughter has basically grown up here. For families with young kids there is a fantastic program called the mini club where kids can meet each other and put on a show each week. Guests have access to the beautiful beach, the hotel pool, and the pools of the hotel Hermitage (which is a short and scenic 5 minute walk away) The rooms have recently been redone and updated. At the restaurant be sure to ask for the souffle. You must ask a few days in advance, but it is really worth it. Many guests return year after year so you often see the same faces and make friends. Its a fantastic place and anyone who says otherwise probably didn't actually stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

I was not impressed with that hotel at all. The food is great and the setting is very nice. Rooms are clean, but I did not like the interior design. The waiting staff in the restaurant was plain rude.
I' certainly will not stay there again.

  • Disliked — service in the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Biodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biodola

Also Known As:
Biodola Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Biodola Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio
Address: La Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Family Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Biodola 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent Biodola bay, the hotel has a large private sand beach, 8 clay tennis courts, 9-hole golf course.The hotel's restaurant is famous for its exquisite cuisine and service. Maitu' beach restaurant offers a range of Tuscan specialties. Rooms and suites all with terrace, have all the comforts one would expect of a top-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Biodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Biodola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Biodola to your Saves list