We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about this hotel-sea view room, beach, food, staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Biodola

Save Saved
You added Hotel Biodola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Biodola
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Portoferraio
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything about this hotel-sea view room, beach, food, staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Hotel Biodola is a beautiful hotel. The sandy beach was awesome and the water was clear as tap water!! The sunsets were amazing from the beach, the patio, and our room. As for the staff, I cannot praise the concierge Andrea Gentini enough. He was fantastic! He was always welcoming and helpful when assisting us with our travel and hotel needs. The hotel was beautiful and kept immaculately clean. The meals were great. We intended to rent a car to see the rest of the island, but in our 7 days there never did because the Hotel Biodola had everything we needed and wanted for a relaxing, beach holiday. I would definitely stay there again. Also, they didn't tack on extra costs for anything - intenet in our room was free, lounge chairs and umbreallas on the beach free. My only regret is that I don't speak Italian so I was unable to truly convey to all the staff how much I appreciated the amazing job they all did to make our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have balconies for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
79
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We've been coming back to this hotel for 11 years and every year the food is exquisite, the service lightning fast and the island beautiful. Our teenage daughter has basically grown up here. For families with young kids there is a fantastic program called the mini club where kids can meet each other and put on a show each week. Guests have access to the beautiful beach, the hotel pool, and the pools of the hotel Hermitage (which is a short and scenic 5 minute walk away) The rooms have recently been redone and updated. At the restaurant be sure to ask for the souffle. You must ask a few days in advance, but it is really worth it. Many guests return year after year so you often see the same faces and make friends. Its a fantastic place and anyone who says otherwise probably didn't actually stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

I was not impressed with that hotel at all. The food is great and the setting is very nice. Rooms are clean, but I did not like the interior design. The waiting staff in the restaurant was plain rude.
I' certainly will not stay there again.

  • Disliked — service in the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

I found this hotel by chance eight years ago and since then I spend a week there each year.The place is perfectly run, with the right mix of professionality and warmth. We have always stayed in the sea view room which are a little larger than rooms on the back although if you have kids reserve the ones on the ground floor which have a shared lawn great for children. The beach is fabulous , water is crystal clear and chairs, umbrella and beach towels are included in price; it's a private beach so even in crowded months it is not that bad, plus they give you your own umbrella so you do not have to fight over it every day!
The food is excellent, we always do H/B as their restaurant is the best on the island. They have another posher five star Hotel right nearby with SPA available (you can get there in five minutes) but I like this one better for the homestay atmosphere and its huge and beautiful terrace where we linger in the evening after dinner drinking 'Aleatico'. My husband loves MB and they provide a locked shed for bikes; from the hotel there are dozens of trails to bike to. The beautiful small perched villages of the island are all within reach so if you do not feel like sunbathing you can tour around.The staff is really helpful and they even book the ferry for you if you need it.
Go if you need a place to unwind, relax, tan and be pampered leaving the 'real' world behind!!

  • Liked — secluded, romantic relaxed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Biodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biodola

Address: La Biodola, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portoferraio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
#2 Family Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Biodola 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent Biodola bay, the hotel has a large private sand beach, 8 clay tennis courts, 9-hole golf course.The hotel's restaurant is famous for its exquisite cuisine and service. Maitu' beach restaurant offers a range of Tuscan specialties. Rooms and suites all with terrace, have all the comforts one would expect of a top-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Biodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biodola Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Biodola Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Biodola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.