We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ombrosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ombrosa to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ombrosa
Via Alcide De Gasperi 9, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Portoferraio
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 6 nights at Villa Omrosa. We had half board included and that was a nice experience. (We were 2 persons and paid approx. 100 euro per person per night). You could choose between lunch and dinner and always with three different proposals. The staff was very helpful and if you didn't want to finish a bottle of wine they saved it until next time. Breakfast was good. Sun chairs and umbrella is included and they had a good standard. You also have a "private" shower (your own key). The beach is mainly covered with stones so I recommend swimming shoes. We paid extra to get the sea view and that is well invested money. Third floor is top floor with the best view but also second floor seems good. First floor could in some parts be covered with trees. Free parking was included and the reception also was helpful with ferry tickets which included a good discount compared to regular prices when we made the booking. If we come to Elba again our first choice would be Villa Omrosa.

Room Tip: We paid extra to get sea view and that is well invested money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
28
47
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Almost all the rooms at the Villa Ombrosa enjoy superb views (most from their own balconies) across the bay north of Portoferraio. It is very well situated for easy access into the port and the old town. The rooms are very small but immaculately clean and well fitted out. The food was not special but was absolutely adequate to our needs. There is a nice bay front terrace where one can gather in good weather and a fair sized bar if the weather is bad. The management was helpful and efficient and it all added up to good value for money - an experience i would recommend.

Room Tip: Insist on a seaview room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well placed but the reception personelle not welcoming at all, no smile no nothing, you feel as you are bothering them (proprieter). Room on backside noisy and dark, furniture from the 50ties Towels did not dry you, very thin cotton like kitchen towels for glasses. bEAUTIFUL ISLAND but NOT THIS HOTELL. Food dry and non-interesting at all. Very dissapointed.
tHEY SHOULD SELL OUT AND TAKE THEIR RETIREMENT . Would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Take another hotell!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

good location not far from the ferry with an excellent view of the sea. Nice balconies on the rooms and a nice little fridge for your evening cocktails. A very clean property.Staff were excellent and very helpful. Also free parking and a lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay. It's just outside the main town and within easy walking distance of the ferry port. Has its own beach, terrace, rooms with balconies & a view of a little island with a lighthouse on it, if you're at the front. Romantic or what? Good to get to Napoleon's town house and the bus station for his country house; the beautiful old town harbour area etc.

I was recommended to a restaurant on the harbour but decided to eat in....as did everyone else staying there! & when the food came, I realised why. There was a menu based on local dishes & the quality and variety of food was excellent, wine was not high priced vintage but thoroughly lovely, drinkable local wine, nice light refreshing, very pleasant.

The staff were all very pleasant and accommodating whilst being thoroughly professional, some with excellent English & if not they knew how to get hold of the ones who had. Room & bathroom were spotless, large bedroom which would be cool in summer using the traditional shutters. Imagine lying in bed listening to the sea lapping on the beach below, wonderful. Disabled access if needed, lifts, 1/2 size billiard table. It's just a great place, go there.

Room Tip: try for the front for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were going to stay 2 nights here but extended our stay an extra night because we enjoyed the hotel so much. We had a triple room which was two single beds in a double room and another single in a smaller room, both rooms had tvs and balconys. The decor was simple and some people might think out of date but we thought it was fine - afterall you are ony in the room to sleep usually! We had a great view from our room and the hotel was quiet, we all slept well. The breakfast was good and eating on the terrace at the front of the hotel was lovely. All the staff were very helpful and friendly despite our lack of Italian, communication was fine. The beach is small but adequate, there are about 20+ sun loungers and its a pebble beach not sand but the water is absolutely gorgeous. I would recommend staying here, its close to the ferry (10 min walk or cheap taxi ride), close to shops and marine restaurants and the hotels beach is just across the road.

Room Tip: If you requst a beach front room it might be a little noisier than the other rooms, but we enjoyed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We hadn't pre booked a quadruple room with two balconies offering fantastic sea views, but that's where they put us - the best room in the house and a great start! (Mind you, 2 people = fine, but you'd never fit 4 people in here!) Tons of wardrobe/drawer space. Bathroom is great, shower excellent. There is a handy small fridge in the room. Its quiet (unless the sound of the waves disturbs you), the beds were hard - not a problem for me but could be for others. There is a fair choice for breakfast in a large dining area. You're 10 mins brisk walk from the harbour area which is where the "action" is, and about the same to the ferry terminals. Access to the hotel's private sunlounger area is right across the road - they're set slightly back and above the public beach. The staff are ok and have just enough grasp of english. The hotel is always packed out for meal times - whether this is testament to the quality of food or just the pensioners all booked in for full-board I'm not sure! There is a sister hotel Acquamarina nearby. I don't know how good it is but its an extra 5-10 mins walk out of town. Overall, this place is brilliant, but make sure you ask for room 304!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ombrosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ombrosa

Address: Via Alcide De Gasperi 9, 57037 Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ombrosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ombrosa Hotel Portoferraio
Hotel Villa Ombrosa Elba Island, Italy - Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ombrosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.