We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Domizia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Domizia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Domizia
Strada Provinicale 161, no 40 | Loc. Santa Liberata, 58019 Porto Santo Stefano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect place for relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights for summer holiday with girlfriend.
Our room (418) was a bit small, and a hint of 1980`s green in it. They have placed an antique little TV there with no channels (nothing good on Italian TV anyway), but instead of this we got a fantastic view from the balcony, and we didn't spend to much time in the hotel room anyway. Despite this, we had a wonderful time at this hotel.

The service was top class, rooms were very clean and air-con did work.
Restaurant had ok breakfast and nice lunch. Same menu for lunch and dinner.

The private beach was very nice and you`ll catch good sun here.

Hotel is located just a short drive from three small cities, Orbetello, Port Ercole and Porto Santo Stefano.

Highly recommendable hotel.

I recommend a day trip or sleepover at Giglio, boat from Porto Santo Stefano will take you there.

Negative:

Rooms need a time-machine, put the clock 30 years into the future and you`ll have a great hotel.
Be sure to book at room with ocean view, traffic can be disturbing.

Room Tip: Be sure to book with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    42
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
57
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a nice place with lots of unexpressed potential. The breakfast room has stunning views and there is a sort of private beach with steps to the sea. Rooms ar very clean but the ones with a sea view have pretty high extra charge whilst th other rooms are in a bad spot. Service is very good and overall his is a good place for a weekend?
A swimmingpool would definetely give this place an edge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

ah what a lovely place! we could not have been happier with our choice to stay here. only a few km from porto santo stefano (10 min drive) this true gem overlooks a little bay with private beach. stay here if you have a car (you could also catch a bus outside the hotel) want to stay close to a town but away from the crowds. We will stay again if ever in the area. we loved every minute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a room in the "new" section that was modern, clean, comfortable with our own patio with lounge chairs overlooking the Mediterranean. A bit of a drive to the port area with all the shops and restaurants but the convenient free and easy parking made up for it.
Nice breakfast on the terrace. Staff at desk spoke very limited English. WiFi for my phone was useless with the only signal I could get in front of the front desk and even then I couldn't connect. There was a box in the room that you could connect a cable to if you have a laptop - I didn't.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisamberg
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Villa Domizia is located on the peninsula about 3 km before the extremely busy Porto Santo Stefano (when coming from Orbetello). The hotel is built directly on the beach – so no noisy lungomare in front of your sea view rooms. These have a fair size, have modern furniture, are air conditioned (individually adjustable) and offer a wonderful view on the bay. The bathrooms are modern and spacious. In front of the hotel is a sandy “beach area”, in fact a terrace with direct access to the sea via a staircase. Sunbeds and umbrellas are included in the room price. This “beach” is a quiet and lovely spot with sunshine all day. Really relaxing.
The hotel then offers a nice bar with another terrace with a great view on the sea in the direction northwest – ideal for watching sunsets in summer. The restaurant has an indoor and outdoor area, a terrace on the second floor of the hotel with – again – a marvelous view on the sea. The menu choice is reasonably large and the quality of the food is actually very good. So there is no need to go into one of the villages (Orbetello or Porto Santo Stefano), which is very comfortable. The prices in the bar and the restaurant are surprisingly low, and the room rates are very fair considering the position of the hotel and the quality. Staff is very friendly and helpful in every aspect. Parking is available on the premises without extra costs.
Villa Domizia is an excellent basis for visiting Monte Argentario, the beautiful island of Giglio, the Maremma region or the magnificent “Borghi” like Pitigliano, Sorano, Sovana or for spending a vacation on one of the magnificent sand beaches like Feniglia. I think it is difficult to find something better in the area at this price class.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are looking for a clean hotel with a great view while breaking away from the crowds that are so common in Italy, do not miss Hotel Villa Domizia. The hotel was very quiet and clean, and offered excellent views of the sea. Porto Santo Stefano is only a five minute drive and the city offers a number of excellent restaurants.

We used Porto Santo Stefano as stopover between our time in Rome and Siena and after staying here, we wished we would have made Hotel Villa Domizia a more substantial portion of our itinerary. The water was a little cold for swimming in May, but it doesn't take away from the beauty.

Room Tip: Ocean view room for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

Sea View. Not near city Center but if you are BT car, Good location. Good breakfeast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Domizia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Domizia

Address: Strada Provinicale 161, no 40 | Loc. Santa Liberata, 58019 Porto Santo Stefano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Porto Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Porto Santo Stefano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Domizia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Domizia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.