We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubber necker trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giglio Island

Giglio Island
Porto Santo Stefano, Italy
0564 809400
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Rubber necker trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Of course I want to say that I came here to view the costa Concordia wreckage. I did. It is horrific. But ht island is charming and I had a nice time collecting sea glass and having lunch. It was a nice ferry ride from Porto S Stefano. We did not ferry our car and wish we did to explore more. Friendly people and town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    48
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great fisihing village with super restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I took a day trip to visit Giglio Island while in Porto Santo Stefano. It is a very easy ferry ride from the dock in Porto Santo Stefano. Tickets round trip are 20 euros pp and the ferry ride is a beautiful slow ride that last about an hour. The ferry also transports cars if you want to take your rental. We chose to leave the rental behind.

The trip to Giglio is very scenic. As you pull in to the port you go right next to the Concordia Cruise Ship that ran a a ground back in May 2012. So close you feel like you can touch it...that was very neat to see.

The village itself is full of shops and restaurants. We had a great lunch and spent about three house exploring and taking photos. Our time was limited, so we did not visit the walled castle on the top of the island...I was told the views were superb. We also di not go to the other side of the the island to visit the famous beach call Giglio Campese. We were also told this was a great location. All are easily accessible from a public bus that runs hourly back and forth from Porto Giglio to Campese Beach stopping at the castle each way.

We wished we had taken an earlier ferry so we had more time to explore.

It is a great day trip and worth the visit if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“magic island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Yes it is ! is the one where Costa Concondia collapsed...but believe me, nevermind with this, the island is still beautiful. go there if you are in south Tuscany.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“well worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

small town quite touristy. Take a bus up to the Castle, magnificent old fortress town with superb views and good restaurants

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Boat trip to Giglio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Beautiful little port and crystal clear water. Good place to chill and to scuba dive. Scuba schools near by.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giglio Island also viewed

Orbetello, Province of Grosseto
 
Isola Del Giglio, Province of Grosseto
Alberese, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Giglio Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giglio Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.