We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful position!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alfiero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Alfiero to your Saves list
Hotel Alfiero
Via Cuniberti 12, 58019 Porto Santo Stefano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful position!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on 2 occasions. The hotel itself is basic, well positioned and very clean.
We had a room with a balcony which overlooked the port - it was beautiful!
The staff here are very friendly and go above and beyond to ensure your stay is a pleasant one.
Overall, I would say that it was very good value, the staff were so lovely and I have recommended this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Udine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

In genera the overall impression is unexpectedly positive.
he hotel is oldish, like many others in Porto Santo Stefano but the bathrooms are renovated, so is part of furniture and blankets. The general impressioni is good but for the noisiness. The rooms are unexpectedly noisy (you can hear people speaking in the other room as if there were no doors).
The breakfast is nice and varied and the location is very conveninet (just above the port). A couple of perks are: no parking (if I'm not mistaken), no safe, no airconditioning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Basic hotel, well priced if you are visiting the area. Area in general is very over priced and you get little for your money.

free wifi though which is fab

Room big and plain. bed not the comfiest. Hotel has a a supermarket on doorstep which is good for all your basic bits and pieces. 10 mins away from local market on a tue.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We recently stayed here after coming ashore in Porto Santo Stephano by chance, following a cruise ship mishap. The gracious hospitality of the staff here was appreciated beyond words. Simona made us a Cappucino I will never forget, which my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed while she checked us in. Our room had a balcony overlooking the harbor and a queen size bed as well as a fold out couch. There is a nice coffee shop/breakfast area downstairs in the hotel. The people of Porto Santo Stephano were kind and welcoming. We hope to return there in the future and appreciate this beautiful area during the warm season. Excellent pizza a short walk from the hotel, and several restaurants with sidewalk seating overlooking the harbor nearby. Grazie

Room Tip: overlooking the harbor, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stepping into this place is like to step into another epoch – in a hotel reception area, which is also a foyer and a breakfast area and whatever common guest area it can be, one is greeted by a warm scene of a few older nonnos playing cards peacefully under neon interior light, while a younger woman behind the counter is busy with chores and a baby, who is in turn being passed around by a few ladies obviously belonging to la familia dell’albergho. Lazy flies are buzzing in the stuffy evening air of the reception area; and the guests are greeted benevolently. It feels as you traveled a few decades back, and it does not come to mind to inquire about things like internet connection, Wi-Fi or satellite TV channels.

Surely it is a type of place that one would not call a modern hotel; those who are older than 40 would probably recall such places when they went to the sea with their grandmother. We were lucky to find an asylum here in the dark autumn night, in Porto Santo Stefano where there aren’t many hotels regardless. We were trying to circumnavigate Monte Argentario, but the road above Porto Santo Stefano is not open to regular traffic – it is marked as a “molto pericoloso” drive (very dangerous), and only the most luxurious and well-equipped Mercedes-Benz and BMW SUVs were occasionally lurking in and out of that drive – the travel guide states that the West and South-West side of the peninsula is occupied by the opulent private villas of Italian super-rich elite; naturally, the road there is passable only for special vehicles. We had a rental car, so we opted out to reach to Porto Ercole, the place of the great artist Michelangelo Caravaggio’s passing. Because of that art of cowardice, we were forced to return to Porto Santo Stefano and find a shelter for the night. The lesson learned is – you cannot drive around Monte Argentario unless you are ready to take a risk of driving on a road marked with a warning.

Hotel Alfiero is exactly serving the purpose of the primordial goal of providing a sleeping place. The bed was sleepable, but the room itself is so outdated that it is beyond comment. In addition, it faces the only and therefore busiest road on the peninsula, with the moveable feast of the fish market starting at dawn, and other exciting local attractions which are very laudable. The comforts of the room include a huge wooden wardrobe, and a bathtub with a faucet erupting hot water more passionately than Vesuvius does its lava.

Despite all that, we rested well there; in the morning a cap of tepid coffee awaits a guest; and the breakfast is probably generous by the standards of such hotels, but otherwise simply miserable; the evening flies were revived by the perfume of stale croissants and other local delicacies that looked as they spent some good weeks in the plastic case.

We asked for a map but the hotel had not any to spare; I made a photo of a wall-hanging map which I include; also a map was drawn on a breakfast napkin, so we collected it, an dit truly helped.

I cannot imagine that do more in this place than to spend a night together, after a touring day. Yet we went for a promenade in the morning, and the beauty of the Italian sea and sun expiated for anything. The views on Isola del Giglio are divine, and the drive to another hotel, Cala Piccola, is splendid. Around Porto Santo Stefano there is also a pebble beach in Cala del Pozzarello, a marvelous place. With all this beauty, the hotel is passable – for one night only!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alfiero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfiero

Address: Via Cuniberti 12, 58019 Porto Santo Stefano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Porto Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Porto Santo Stefano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alfiero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alfiero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.