We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent..and discreet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Pellicano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Pellicano to your Saves list
Hotel Il Pellicano
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Sbarcatello, 58019 Porto Ercole, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Camogli, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent..and discreet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Tastefully decorated, excellent location, good food and service and discreet to the point my friends in Porto Ercole could not get in touch with me because the front desk staff would not reveal if I was staying there. I guess a good place to take a "friend". Or make sure your mobile is charged and working.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    18
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
29
146
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very expensive but terrible night.we couldn't sleep because of a strange noise the hotel couldn't detect,Mosquitos,piano bar musique loud,and no screen for the morning light.
The hotel suggested to change room at 11,45pm.but only 10% on the price.
Plus we were sick from the food. We strongly do not recommend this place.the fish was farm fish and the hotel is located not far the best place in Italy for fish Orbetello!plus the portion of pasta is not enough for a baby doll,a mini portion of bitter vegetables,nasty bread,really a shame for a Tuscan restaurant .

Room Tip: Maybe the cottage rooms are better,far from the noise and the icy ac of the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Il Pellicano is not cheap, some reviewers complained about the price(s) and I disagree; this is a world class hotel and yes, poolside sandwiches and water bottles are expensive. If you want cheap water and snacks find a cheaper hotel.
This being said, my wife and I had an experience of a life time enjoying the beauty, service, amenities, and glorious Mediterranean view at Il Pellicano on our honeymoon. We did a boat tour around the south side of Argentario and took a day trip to Montalcino and Siena (2 hrs away), and Porto Ercole (10 mins drive). The property at Il Pellicano is lush beyond belief with plants, gardens, terraces, friendly staff, and delicious food & wine. Every single square inch of Il Pellicano is designed with incredible detail, style, and class. Save up and make it happen!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just had an amazing stay at Il Pellicano. The staff was amazing, they were more than willing to answer any questions, give recommendations, make reservations, and get us where we wanted to go. All the staff was welcoming and pleasant. The hotel itself was amazing. We booked a romance package and it was perfect. Our room had a small patio and we overlooked the water, and it was magnificent. The pool was great, our weather was a little on the cool side, but we enjoyed a day by the pool anyway. We had the most amazing couples massage. The restaurants are all delicious and the service impeccible. If you are looking for a romantic, relaxing, quiet vacation spot-this is the place. It is expensive, but well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After this first trip to Il Pellicano my wife and I decided: we'll certainly come back, hopefully every year!
Porto Ercole is a wonderful charming place and the Il Pellicano is a jewel with everything you need to relax and enjoy life, with amazing views to complete the package.
But besides the views, the pool, the beach, the gym, the tennis court... what we must register here was the attention and quality of the service - and for that matter we have to mention Marcela and Floriana who were especially kind and made all the efforts to give us a perfect stay.
We went to Porto Ercole by car, leaving Rome, and we had a problem with our car tyre. The next morning Marcela and Floriana hired us a driver that took the blown tyre to Rome and a new one back to us whilst we were enjoying a beautiful day at the beach!
Obviously both have their own merit and are special professionals, but we felt that all the staff we interacted to were pretty much attentive to everything we needed.
We stayed at a junior suite with a great balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. The room was very spacious and had a huge bathroom. I don't know if we carry to much luggage on our trips, but although the room was big, there was not too much space for all our clothes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Expensive place to stay so it has to be very good. Sadly fell down on a few things which is why I only gave 4 out of 5. On the plus, great service from the staff most of the time.
Fantastic view from our room which also had a really nice balcony. The sun shone every day when the rest of Italy had rain and clouds, this place seemed to have its own weather system. Drinks are very expensive 9 euros for a small bottle of beer. Basic bottle of red about 40 euros. Small compensation in that the mini bar is inclusive but its not enough. The food is generally excellent however we ate in the Pelligrill one afternoon and it was really average. 45 euros for the mains, per person for fish of the day with a few grilled vegetables is ridiculous. It was not even nice, frankly my local fish and chip shop does a better meal than that! In hindsight I wish I had complained at the time.
The hotel location is really quite isolated and once you are here you tend to stay put. Its a good 3/4 hour walk up and down hills to Porto Ercole.
Room service we like to do a lot but there was not a lot of space in our room for this.
Also no wine or drinks list in the room is a disadvantage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Built on a rock this is an interesting example of architecture of the 60s, but no fear, the building and especially the bathrooms have been updated and are perfectly comfortable which can be expected for the room rates.

There is no beach, but platforms in the rocks and a smallish, but well heated pool. Also the gardens are well kept and pleasant.

We staid here by accident because their sister property, the Posta Vecchia had the kindness to transfer our reservation to Il Pellicano to spare us the experience mixing with a Russian group having some kind of celebration there.

Il Pellicano being obviously a place for the rich and beautiful (who and this being a consolation are not so beautiful and rather bored and boring people to have as fellow guests), we have been despite not being part of their target group treated with a lot of kindness and attention. Of course I would rather not pay their room rates, but there is that fantastic chef Antonio Guida here who is worth a trip himself. (Read my report on the restaurant Il Pellicano).

This place can be highly recommended for people looking for privacy when money does not matter. I will be back for sampling Antonio's food.

(Strangely there is some nickel and diming with room service breakfast charged EUR 20 supplement per person which is outrageous. This is written on the order form - I did actually not try it as their terrace is fantastic. So perhaps they actually do no charge this for real.)

Room Tip: Coming for one night to sample the fantastic food ask for a normal seaview room in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Pellicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pellicano

Address: Localita Sbarcatello, 58019 Porto Ercole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Il Pellicano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant five-star hotel, located in Tuscany's Maremma region, was built in the mid-1960s as a love nest for Michael and Patricia Graham and it is today part of The Leading Hotels of the World. The home, called Il Pellicano as a tribute to the first time the couple met at Pelican Point in California, was initially a club for the Grahams' friends, but was subsequently expanded and opened to friends of friends. However, a few things remained the same: the pleasure of feeling at home and the glamorous and slightly retro atmosphere. The hotel's discrete luxury and the still-rugged Tuscan countryside attract the international jet set. Today, the cottages and the central building are suspended between the sky and the sea, with large rooms, windows and terraces where it's unclear where the indoors end and the outdoors begin. There are pathways and stairways, fragrant gardens and discrete corners, a restaurant with one Michelin stars and three Gambero Rosso forks, a heated sea-water swimming pool, a spa with a sea view to soothe both the body and the soul, and for those wanting to take a dip in the Tyrrhenian Sea, a white platform with chaise longue and immaculate parasols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Il Pellicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pellicano Hotel Porto Ercole
Il Pellicano Porto Ercole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Pellicano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.