We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Pellicano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Pellicano to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Il Pellicano
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Sbarcatello, 58018 Porto Ercole, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Porto Ercole
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just had an amazing stay at Il Pellicano. The staff was amazing, they were more than willing to answer any questions, give recommendations, make reservations, and get us where we wanted to go. All the staff was welcoming and pleasant. The hotel itself was amazing. We booked a romance package and it was perfect. Our room had a small patio and we overlooked the water, and it was magnificent. The pool was great, our weather was a little on the cool side, but we enjoyed a day by the pool anyway. We had the most amazing couples massage. The restaurants are all delicious and the service impeccible. If you are looking for a romantic, relaxing, quiet vacation spot-this is the place. It is expensive, but well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    17
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
27
134
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After this first trip to Il Pellicano my wife and I decided: we'll certainly come back, hopefully every year!
Porto Ercole is a wonderful charming place and the Il Pellicano is a jewel with everything you need to relax and enjoy life, with amazing views to complete the package.
But besides the views, the pool, the beach, the gym, the tennis court... what we must register here was the attention and quality of the service - and for that matter we have to mention Marcela and Floriana who were especially kind and made all the efforts to give us a perfect stay.
We went to Porto Ercole by car, leaving Rome, and we had a problem with our car tyre. The next morning Marcela and Floriana hired us a driver that took the blown tyre to Rome and a new one back to us whilst we were enjoying a beautiful day at the beach!
Obviously both have their own merit and are special professionals, but we felt that all the staff we interacted to were pretty much attentive to everything we needed.
We stayed at a junior suite with a great balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. The room was very spacious and had a huge bathroom. I don't know if we carry to much luggage on our trips, but although the room was big, there was not too much space for all our clothes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Expensive place to stay so it has to be very good. Sadly fell down on a few things which is why I only gave 4 out of 5. On the plus, great service from the staff most of the time.
Fantastic view from our room which also had a really nice balcony. The sun shone every day when the rest of Italy had rain and clouds, this place seemed to have its own weather system. Drinks are very expensive 9 euros for a small bottle of beer. Basic bottle of red about 40 euros. Small compensation in that the mini bar is inclusive but its not enough. The food is generally excellent however we ate in the Pelligrill one afternoon and it was really average. 45 euros for the mains, per person for fish of the day with a few grilled vegetables is ridiculous. It was not even nice, frankly my local fish and chip shop does a better meal than that! In hindsight I wish I had complained at the time.
The hotel location is really quite isolated and once you are here you tend to stay put. Its a good 3/4 hour walk up and down hills to Porto Ercole.
Room service we like to do a lot but there was not a lot of space in our room for this.
Also no wine or drinks list in the room is a disadvantage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Built on a rock this is an interesting example of architecture of the 60s, but no fear, the building and especially the bathrooms have been updated and are perfectly comfortable which can be expected for the room rates.

There is no beach, but platforms in the rocks and a smallish, but well heated pool. Also the gardens are well kept and pleasant.

We staid here by accident because their sister property, the Posta Vecchia had the kindness to transfer our reservation to Il Pellicano to spare us the experience mixing with a Russian group having some kind of celebration there.

Il Pellicano being obviously a place for the rich and beautiful (who and this being a consolation are not so beautiful and rather bored and boring people to have as fellow guests), we have been despite not being part of their target group treated with a lot of kindness and attention. Of course I would rather not pay their room rates, but there is that fantastic chef Antonio Guida here who is worth a trip himself. (Read my report on the restaurant Il Pellicano).

This place can be highly recommended for people looking for privacy when money does not matter. I will be back for sampling Antonio's food.

(Strangely there is some nickel and diming with room service breakfast charged EUR 20 supplement per person which is outrageous. This is written on the order form - I did actually not try it as their terrace is fantastic. So perhaps they actually do no charge this for real.)

Room Tip: Coming for one night to sample the fantastic food ask for a normal seaview room in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

with my Husband and 2 friends we spent 3 wonderful nights in this amazing place the weather was not so nice
but everything else went perfect the staff was always ready for our requests ,the restaurant managed by Michele is well organized the food is excellent i have until today a copy from the menu that we had personally i like every sort of risotto but all Italian food is very different.
in the pool area wee had with other friends snacks and a nice bottle of Prosecco there we meted a girl that served us she was always smiling and very attentive it seemed that we were eating at the restaurant ,the second day we meet her at the bar near the restaurant and we know then that her name is Georgia each time she welcomed us with a big smile and toked care of us we appreciated everything every detail we will definitively come back
we had really a nice time in this structure .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights there on our way back from Rome. When seeing the pics on their website we thought that we will be disspointed compared to reality but we were not ! it is even more beautiful than expected.
We have been treated like we were home, the staff is extremely nice and attentive to your comfort. they anticipate all your needs.
the room was big and nice with a beathtaking view from the (big) balcony.

the food was great and they even managed to cook anything for us at the michelin star restaurant when we started to know all the menu.

special mention to Antonella who made our stay amazing by its professionalism and kindness (and very good french speaking), to Frederico who took care of us all day long anticipating all !!!! and to the lady sommelier who helped us to discover new vintages and that has such a passion for wines.

We will definitely come back since we felt at home being part of this big family.

Room Tip: we had G5 the sea view was great and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

On a random road trip down the west coast of Italy October 2011 we, unannounced, pulled into this hotel after a long day on the road, (apologies for the delay in getting around to this review). I have to say it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. As a hotelier myself I love to go to privately run places where you get that extra special feel to them, and this had just that.

The lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful, showing us around a few rooms first before we finally chose the one that we liked best (granted it was out of season so this was possible at the time), it was one of their suites, it was spotless and decorated very tastefully, with best of all a large sun draped terrace overlooking the sea.

The hotel is located at the top of cliffs and has a long walk down to the rocky beach below, where sun loungers are placed for use at your leisure (a little cold when we visited in october, but I can imagine it is perfect in the summer), which had a lovely quaint family run restaurant selling all kinds of seafood that we loved, and the walk back up to the hotel kept us nice and fit.

The restaurant in the evening is a MUST with a beautiful A La Carte menu that has just the right enough amount of choice, and great service. The head waiter looked after us very well both nights, and recomended two very nice bottles of wine that complemented our meals beautifully.

All in all a perfect stay and we wished we could have stayed for longer. Thank you all for your hospitality and if you are ever in the UK (wales) please come and visit us at Llanerch Vineyard and we will return the hospitality.

Ryan Davies

Room Tip: The suites with the sea views were spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore generale at Hotel Il Pellicano, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the time you have dedicated today to this Review you now decided to share with the TripAdvisor Travellers. You are kind to apologize but it's not necessary, I think your impression and experience is more real and more effective after exactly quite two years from your stay.
The Staff and me we are very glad to you and honoured for your description, the idea of your memory after two year is somenthing to write in our procedures book and a milestone as example of hospitallity and empathy with a place and the people making the place.
I really hope to have the opportunity to meet you at Il Pellicano personally, it's time after two year for a quality check.
Thank you very much, have a good summer season

Danilo Guerrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Pellicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pellicano

Address: Localita Sbarcatello, 58018 Porto Ercole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Il Pellicano 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Il Pellicano is a member of The Leading Hotel of the World.Magnificently located on a terraced hillside in an exclusive and secluded corner of the Tuscan coast, IL PELLICANO blends beauty, luxury and tranquility with rare touches you will only find at an independent hotel: attention to detail, service witha genuine smile, and pride in delivering a uniquely gratifying experience to the world’s most demanding clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Il Pellicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pellicano Hotel Porto Ercole
Il Pellicano Porto Ercole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Pellicano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;