We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pedro

Save Saved
You added Don Pedro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Don Pedro
Via Panoramica 7, 58018 Porto Ercole, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Porto Ercole
Letcombe Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a lovely stay. The hotel is relatively simple but has true charm. The restaurant food is good even by italian standards and occasionally delicious. Room was clean and comfortable with a fantastic view overlooking the port. Balcony bathed in sunshine. Rooftop terrace is great for sun-worshippers. Hotel beach slightly rocky to get too. Visit Il Passionisti up in the mountain, San Stefano and Orbitello.

Room Tip: Just not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel (and our room's balcony) has lovely views of the harbor and the fortress, the rooms are large, but have aging bathrooms/decor and were dusty under the beds (due to the start of the season?). The staff was friendly and very accommodating of our small children, setting up an extra bed and a high quality travel cot for our arrival and opening the (very good) restaurant early for dinner for us. The restaurant and the covered terraces (where we spent some time due to the rain) share the great views. Porto Ercole is bustling, and it was nice to be quiet, have some space and have parking nearby, but still be able to walk down into the center. This is a good value, family friendly place to stay in beautiful Argentario.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Don Pedro Hotel in Porto Ercole on Oct 4th before departing on our cruise of the Mediterranean. Porto Ercole is about an hour north of port for ships departing from Rome. We picked this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and found them to be quite accurate. The hotel was easy to find. It has limited parking but we had no problems getting a place. We were give a room on the first floor with a large balcony that overlooks the town and harbor. The room was small but very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The main feature of this hotel is the view - fantastic. We were able to walk down to the harbor on a set of steps across the road from the hotel - not too hard a climb to come back. We had supper at one of the restaurants along the harbor front and watched the fishing boats unload their daily catch. A continental breakfast was included and the food was good. WE sat on the patio enjoying the view.

My only concern and it is minor, is that the hotel does not have a secure website to provide credit card info when making reservations. They said we could email the info but we decided to phone them instead.

A great place to spend a day if you are taking a cruise from Rome. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the first floor rooms with a large balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room was on the small side, but clean and comfortable. We had a small patio with a lovely view of the harbor and the town. Breakfast buffet was complete with an assortment of cold items and coffee. Perfect location for a walk to town. We also caught the ferry over to Giglio Island and had a great hike overlooking their harbor as well - complete with the overturned Costa Concordia (which was a surprise - we'd forgotten the name of the city that tragedy occurred in). Our daughter and her fiance also found a secluded beach on their hike on Giglio Island for a cool swim before ferrying back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

There are limited hotel choices in Porto Ercole. At Don Pedro, most rooms have a nice view of the harbor and a terrace. The rooms are quite small. The only outlet for charging electronics that we could find was in the bathroom. We had to unplug the small tv to recharge phones. Our air conditioning did not work. The sheets were not up to the quality standard of better italian hotels. Wifi is available only in the bar and lobby. There is a private beach available but it is difficult to find with access marked by a "do not enter" sign. The hotel seems to cater to larger tour groups.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here at the end of August with our 3 young children. Great location overlooking the charming Porto Ercole, clearly a family-run establishment, done so with care. We ate only once in the restaurant, daily changing menu with a strong seafood emphasis. Waiting staff were great with the kids, and the same ones served breakfast on the terrace overlooking the port in the morning. Hotel beach nearby has lovely rock pools, and was the only time we wished for babysitting as they serve cocktails in the evening, overlooking the sea... Thanks Don Pedro for a great stay and welcome

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spontaneously drove to Argentario and first stayed in an unpleasant hotel in noisy, dirty, bustling San Stefano. We spent one dreary night in the awful Hotel Alfiero room overlooking an Agii gas station and garbage dumpster, as well as the harbor of San Stefano. Alfiero came with surly service. wew didn't unpack and couldn't wait to escape to adorable Porto Ercole around Monte Argentario. We drove to worlds-away delightful Porto Ercole. We arrived on a holiday weekend (June 2--like their US July 4), and the rooms with sea-view terraces were already all occupied. However, our twin-bedded room had a small balcony with garden/rear view which was very quiet, room 410. The very nice housekeeper provided us with a fridge on request. Maybe 3 meters away from room 410 is the hotel's enormous sea-view terrace with tables and chairs. You can sit outside, look at the twinkling harbor lights, play cards, drink a bottle of wine and have snacks, see the market along the "boardwalk" area in the evening and watch people strolling, and the mountains all around you. It's a nice walk up to the hotel after yet another gelato. 2 elevators. There is no air con, but it was cool enough in the frist few days of June. I think it would be too hot July/August, but maybe the evenings are cool enough even w/o cross-ventilation. Free unlimited wifi in lobby only. No wifi available in the rooms. Non-discountable 130 euros in June, 110 in May. Breakfast is included inside or on another nice sea-view long terrace on the 2nd (US 3rd) floor. Service throughout the hotel is kind and attentive.

Room Tip: If you want a fantastic view, ask for a large terrrace facing the sea. You will hear some street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pedro

Address: Via Panoramica 7, 58018 Porto Ercole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Porto Ercole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Porto Ercole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Don Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.