We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colonna Country and Sporting Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colonna Country and Sporting Club to your Saves list
Colonna Country and Sporting Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Loc Porto Cervo Marina | via Capo Ferro snc, 07020 Porto Cervo, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shocking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

The complex, pools and kids play area were great, however the rooms were shocking! Old, tatty and very small. However the whole of that area of Sardinia is very expensive and poor quality ..... So good luck!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    23
    20
    7
See reviews for
41
55
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Hotel w rzeczywistości różni się od zdjęć z folderu. Pokoje rodzinne są małe, ciemne , śmierdzące grzybem, słabo wentylowane. W łazience nie było lampy , jedynie żarówka wisiała na kablu... Niesamowite że ten hotel dostał 4 gwiazdki !!! Nie ma tam basenów, tylko brodziki w którym pływały żaby. Obsługa słabo mówiła po angielsku. Jedynie jedzenie smaczne , ale kelnerzy nie znali angielskiego w ogóle. Absolutnie nie polecam !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We have been travelling through Italy for twenty summers. This is the first hotel we would strongly advise anyone to stay away. The staff is very arrogant and not interested at all in the well being of the non-Italian guests. The quality of the rooms is extremely poor. It is a mystery how the hotel got a four star qualification. One day I was ran over by one of the gardeners. He didn' t even bother to apologise. The Italian version of Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Firstly let me say that just the address alone is misleading . It's NOT even near Porto Cervo Marina... it's at least 20 minutes walk away. We booked because we thought it was IN the Marina!

This hotel is NOT 4 star. It's NOT friendly or helpful to people who are not Italian. The receptionist were rude and disinterested and really shouldn't be doing that job. The rooms were dingy. depressing, and the view consisted of a floodlight car-park behind a wire fence.We tried sitting out on our balcony one night but it was so depressing we couldn't manage it for more than 10 minutes. Sitting on 10 dollar plastic furniture is not my idea of 4 star!
The TV in the room didn't work and looked like something from a 1970's car-boot sale. The air conditioning broke down and was SO loud it was a choice between no sleep because of the noise or no sleep because of the stifling heat in the room.
My bed (I asked for twin beds) was a camp-bed pull out sofa and was so uncomfortable you couldn't even sit on the end of it. You had to PAY for a towel by the pool! And why they call it "Sporting" is the biggest insult of all. The "Gym" was an outside barred cage!.


There was nothing to do there at night. Not even a piano player or any kind of evening entertainment at all. Consequently people just sat around outside the hotel and looked bored. I twas in one word .....an unhappy hotel. The Colonna chain should be ashamed of themselves calling this a 4 star hotel.. it's nothing less than an insult.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

A short walk to a lovely beach this hotel has a fabulous location. We stayed in the appartments across the (very quiet) road from the main hotel and had a great time. The appartments were vast with planty of space for 4/5 in three bedrooms.

Well furnished and quiet you could not ask for more.

The swimming pools are a little jaded as is the kids club but really this is not a place to stick your kids in a club whilst you do other stuff. The beauty of the thing is there is not much else to do. Fantastic for relaxation even with the kids.

Staff were friendly and fun. We really enjoyed it. I would change only the breakfast offering which could be spiced up but in general a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Before we left, I looked at the reviews of other visitors on different websites. Because of the many complaints we did not have high expectations of this hotel.
Unfortunately, we have to agree with most of the comments written by other reviewers. I don't know why this is a 4 star hotel. The entrance/reception looks cheap and they don't speak much english.
When we arrived at our room (junior suite), they were smelly, small and old. However, the rooms were very clean which is important. The television looks like it's from the 80s but at least it worked.
The food in the restaurant was very good and sufficient but the service in the restaurant is the worst we had every seen. Either the dishes remain on the table for 10 - 15 minutes or they bring the next course directly after you finished the previous one, you need to ask everything at least twice before you are served, any language other than Italian is not understood etc.
The prices in the hotel are ridiculous. Both wine and beer are overpriced.
All these things are in contrast with the garden / pool which is very nice and clean. There gardeners have done a great job. The pools are great with islands and waterfalls.
Although I've seen complaints about the fitness, it wasn't that bad to be honest. Some of the equipment look new (incl bikes).
In summary, this is an expensive 3 star hotel although I've seen better of these as well.

Some tips:
- Make sure you are in the country area (not the sport) because this is much newer and has more things to do.
- The hotel has no animation during the day / night. The bar closes very early.
- Make sure you rent a car for 3 days and travel from east to west. The views are amazing.
- At Baia Sardinia, you can catch a boat to the Magdalena Archipel for 30 Euro. Recommended!

  • Liked — Garden
  • Disliked — Service in the restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

The hotel was a major dissapointment.
With a name like' resort and sporting Club' and a 4 star rating you would excpect something decent but that didn't happen: room was smelly, stains on the sheets, you could hear your neighbours jawn, talk, pee etc and the TV was broken. The gym is a cage outside with some weights when its 40 degrees outside!There is nothing to do there and staff is unfriendly!

The beach that is close to the hotel is nice but smells really bad
I wouldnt recommend it to anyone

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonna Country and Sporting Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Country and Sporting Club

Address: Loc Porto Cervo Marina | via Capo Ferro snc, 07020 Porto Cervo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Country and Sporting Club 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Costa Smeralda is one of the world's most famous and exclusive tourist destinations and a favourite haunt for celebrities and famous names from the Old and the New Continents. Glamour, exclusivity and the area's natural beauty blend in perfect harmony. Nature and architecture blend perfectly in a setting of rare beauty. Visitors arriving for the first time at the Colonna Hotel Country & Sporting are met by perfectly manicured lawns, gardens, avenues, the simple Mediterranean architecture, pastel hues, rock formations and the heady aromas of the Mediterranean vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colonna Country and Sporting Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Resort Country And Sporting Club Hotel Porto Cervo
Colonna Hotel Country And Sporting
Colonna Country And Sporting Club Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonna Country and Sporting Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.