We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a 3 star - certainly not a 4” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala Granu, 07020 Porto Cervo, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maybe a 3 star - certainly not a 4”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

The Grand Hotel is set approx 3km away from the main centre of Porto Cervo. The hotel like all of the others in the area is very traditional in build and style, with rustic finishes, set on a high cliff. There is a private beach which you reach by walking down steps near the pool and is set in a little cove.The view from the hotel and pool is beautiful, and the pool itself is quiet large. Those are the main positives of this hotel.

The rooms are very basic, with poor quality linen and sparse furnishings. It is however clean. As other have commented breakfast is a disaster. It is self seating, however because it is served buffet style, when you return to your table with a plate of food you find someone else has sat at your table. The variety never changes so you will be eating the same thing for your whole stay, the toaster does not work and the eggs were greasy and unappetising. The waiters often clear your plate while you are still eating and do not come and refresh cutlery if they have taken yours away.

I was also disappointed that even though the hotel has a private beach you are required to pay 23 euros to use the sun beds! I think this is ridiculous for a supposed 4 start hotel. The day beds and couches around the beach and pool are tired, stained and could do with being refreshed. There are some facilities advertised that are not a true reflection of what is available. The hotel has a large TV room with DVD player but does not supply DVD's - you are expected to bring your own. If you book a massage it will be from which ever yoga instructor they have that week and the sauna is tiny (single person). The shuttle to the town centre only goes twice a day with the last return at 7:30pm.........but the restaurants in Porto Cervo do not open until 8.00pm.

Finally this hotel is used for yoga retreats and if you are not part of these large yoga groups you can feel like a less valued customer.

The hotel is basic, and would be a good spot for someone just looking to lay their head but if you are looking for luxury this is not the place to come.

P.S Access to the hotel and between the hotel and main centre is very steep and a difficult walk - a car is a must and even then some with a smaller engine were struggling to make it up the steep drive.

Room Tip: The main resort is only 4 floors so go for a room on the fourth floor if you would like nice view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    69
    41
    7
    7
See reviews for
32
78
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

We were a bit worried coming here having read some of the reviews on Trip Adviser after booking b&b on a whim with Secret Escapes. the room was fine, exceptionally clean roomy and light, with a fridge. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The grounds are excellent with lots of different secluded seating and the pool is a good size if a little cold! The breakfast is everything you'd expect - selection of fresh and tinned fruit, yoghurt, cereals, boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, cold meats cheese, pastries etc. A minor wasp problem is somewhat tiresome however. Unless you are desperately in need of relaxation and sun worship, or intend to go on the expensive excursions possible, you do really need a car however as the hotel is a long way from even the town of its name. The said town is best avoided anyway unless you are someone whose idea of fun is visiting Bicester village and buying overpriced designer tat. It is quite a long drive but the north west of the island has places well worth visiting such as Alghero and Bosa. Two day trips well recommended.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

The good stuff first. Great location is a natural asset. Some staff do their best to compensate for the dreadful systems the hotel expects them to implement. Rooms are clean and adequate. Bad stuff next. Restaurant is diabolical. We practically had to beg to be allowed to eat in the restaurant on our 1st night. Felt we had to say a huge thank you when they allowed us to sit down. Food was very mediocre, service was awful, price was ridiculous €102 for 2 pre-prepared courses & 3 glasses of Italian Prosecco. Worse was to come the following morning at breakfast. Tinned fruit, cold scrambled egg, one slow automatic coffee machine to serve everyone and a tiny, antiquated toasting machine that had guests lined up waiting for their bread to be warmed, not toasted. All of the above is not what you would expect from a 4 star resort in the culinary paradise that Sardinia is. We missed breakfast on our 3rd morning at the hotel and were delighted to go elsewhere for it - even though it was included I in our package. We just couldn't face another Grand Hotel breakfast experience. Hotels like this shouldn't rest on their laurels - nice location etc. we felt sorry for some of the heroic staff who tried their best to compensate. But it was simply not good enough. They MUST DO BETTER.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I spent 3 nights at the hotel with Sardinia Yoga.

The hotel rooms and bathroom were lovely and clean (and the towels were new). the food was delicious.

The reception was really helpful!

I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

A week in this hotel was more than enough! Room small and musty smelling, shower cubical in the bathroom smallest I've ever seen-good job we are not fat or we could not have fitted in! We have been allocated a room which had interconnecting door so we could hear our neighbors snoring, coughing, etc.
Front desk very unhelpful and condescending. Food quality worst I ever had on a holiday at very expensive prices. Pool bar and restaurant staff arrogant, impertinent altogether very unprofessional.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Hotel has a good front desk reception help. The money you pay is for location not quality of the room- clean, small terrace, there was AC, but room smelt very musty had to keep both doors open to get air circulation. No safe or iron in the room.
Breakfast was excellent with many choices no complaints there. This hotel was booked last minuet we stayed two nights and that was just enough for us.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel.the rooms are clean and comfortable, grounds are beautiful and the beach and views are spectacular
Breakfast could be better and the wasps were a huge problem as all the dinning was outside
Pool is great and staff were incredibly helpful during our stay Overall highly recommended

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo

Address: Cala Granu, 07020 Porto Cervo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel In Porto Cervo Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.