We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good prices, lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clipper

Clipper
Via della Marina | Arzachena, 07020 Porto Cervo, Sardinia, Italy
+39 078 991644
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 59 Restaurants in Porto Cervo
Price range: $58 - $146
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We weren't very adventurous with our orders (e.g. spaghetti with clams - or "claims" as per the menu, crepes for dessert) but it was well priced and tasty. The restaurant was packed to the rafters with the yacht crews who stay nearby so the atmosphere was lively. Tables were very close together but we were comfortable. Service was friendly and brisk. Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    18
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So many better places in PC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Service was poor (rolled eyes when we ordered a less expensive wine (which was served too warm), it took an eternity for the check to arrive after we asked for it), the place was at least 80 degrees, food was average of the places we visited in PC,but not a good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were in Porto Cervo for 5 nights and choose this place for two of them. Great food at a fairly reasonable price. I was most impressed with the salads and how fresh all the ingredients were (it was the first time in two weeks that I actually had fresh mushrooms and not those from a can!). Make a reservation if you can (it's a busy place) but both times we went early and they were happy to accommodate. Service was extremely friendly too - a nice bonus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great tasting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked a table in the restaurant as a birthday celebration, based on a recommendation from Lonely Planet.
The service was very attentive and the waitress brought out the catches of the day for my partner to choose. She also made sure with the kitchen and the chef knew about my allergy - which made food ordering much less hassle! I like the fact that they recommended not the most expensive thing on the menu either, and that we did not get 'rushed through'!
Oh, and the seafood was great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ausburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“depende”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

nice restaurant, strategic location, I took the pizza but it had a strange smell, smoked?? I think it is appropriate to clean the oven or the chimney ... sin, but this is Italy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clipper also viewed

Porto Cervo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Porto Cervo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Porto Cervo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Porto Cervo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Clipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clipper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.