We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service and expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Teresa

Save Saved
You added Villa Teresa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Teresa
Localita Bocchetto 1, 57036 Porto Azzurro, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had made a reservation for a unit in the main building. However, when we arrived we were offered "a better" unit in another building. When we insisted that we wanted the unit that we originally booked, we were informed that this was not available because of some problems with the "water". However, we were not offered any compensation and I felt like the manager was not being honest. Also, including the additional costs of linen and cleaning I would not say that this place is not worth its price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at Villa Teresa the first time in 2010, and had a fantastic experience here. We had with us our baby girl who was two years old, and it was perfect for her with the pool and the gardens on the property. It is a quiet place, very neat and clean and the family running the hotel are very tidy and strickt. It is a short walking distance to the town with restaurants and harbour, and we loved that the hotel was situated a short distance away, so we never heard any noise at night. We are definantely coming back, maybe this year already! If you are staying here with your children, you are definently gonna be happy with your choice.....even though the beach, which is nearby, is not very fresh, you wont need it - stay at the hotel pool or rent a boat and find a beautiful beach by the shores. Recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech republic
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Have not stayed in the historical building, instead had an apartment in a vilette - rather nice (as two families we had two adjoining apartments in the same vilette; each of ?three? has a total of four apartments on two floors, easy evenings sitting outside]
Overall the grounds nicely done, lots of threes and green.
Swimming pool better than on the photos, clean and pleasant.
The nearest beach (Barbarossa) not very pleasant (medusae eperienced personally, also debris and dirt, maybe seasonal, dunno), the one named Reale nearby seems better.
Ended up going to Lacona (beware, the map provided in Villa lists Laconella which is "social" without anything; go for Lacona).

One of apartments had some minor flaws (AC was dead, fridge not sealing properly, ...)
Vilettes situated next to a rather busy (relatively) road, shielded by a hedge; i.e. some traffic noise most of the time.
Wireless internet available but only during opening hours of the reception, i.e. theoretically 8am-8pm in reality ... depends.
Downtown is a walking distance from the place.

Overall - quite good

Room Tip: Not sure but aparmtemnts in vilettes seem a better deal, even though more expensive than the histori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosice
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Villa Teresa met all our expectations! Great place, great location, close to the beach, close to the centre, quiet, peaceful.... Excellent place to be! Cannot imagine anything better! Dont hesitate to book this place now!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We had the most romantic holiday ever on this Island.

We stayed in the Villa itself with small but very pretty rooms.
The villa also has separate apartments near the pool.
The hostess Manuela is very helpful. She arranged al sort of things for us.
If you can; make a reservation for room number 1 (2 persons room).

The Porto Azzuro is within walking distance and so is (a) beach.

Be aware that you really have to make a reservation for the ferry during summer months.

Would we go back to the villa again?
Picture this, we are going to get marry on Elba…at the villa!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Teresa

Address: Localita Bocchetto 1, 57036 Porto Azzurro, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Porto Azzurro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty lodging in Porto Azzurro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the end of 1800s, Villa Teresa is situated in the centre of Porto Azzurro, in the midst of an ancient green park and still maintains its original charm with period furniture in its interiors. The villa has, besides the main building, newly constructed units with modern furnishings. The complex is furnished with a tennis court and a swimming pool (7x14 mts). The nearest beach is that of Barbarossa around 500 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Teresa Elba Island/Porto Azzurro, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.