We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they helped us well after another hotel had made an overbooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Giulia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Giulia to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Giulia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lido di Capoliveri, 57036 Porto Azzurro, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Porto Azzurro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“they helped us well after another hotel had made an overbooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had booked a night at Elba Golf Appartments, which made overbookings and so we ended up at Villa Giulia. The staff at the reception was extremely helpful and we got two nice rooms with private terraces. You can hear the main road. The swimming pool is bigger than in most hotels and the breakfast was ok. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    110
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
171
79
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The pool may look lovely, but our room was dingy, the sparse furniture was outdated by decades, the bed was extremely uncomfortable, the terrace was in a terrible state of disrepair, we had no phone and we haven't even started on the bathroom! You had to be very slim to even enter the bathroom. The shower had a rickety and flimsy door arrangement that opened on two sides meeting in the corner, if you could get it to open and close that is. There was no room to move in the shower and nowhere to put your soap or shampoo. Forget trying to put it on the floor, because you couldn't bend down to get it. When you sat on the toilet, you had the sink 'in your lap' ... talk about cosy! Why they bother to hand out WiFi passwords is a complete mystery, because the only way to access the Internet was by using the Manager's laptop on a little designated shelf while melting from the heat in the dim lounge. It was also impossible to get near our room with the car and the luggage had to be lugged up pebbled paths and stairs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I was bitterly disappointed with this hotel, because of the low value for money. We spent 7 nights for 1200 euros here from 24 to 31 July (high season) for a classic room in HB.
The room was TINY, you had to walk around the double bed very carefully in order not to trip over the bed itself or bang your knees. There is a small waldrobe and two bedside tables, though only one bedside lamp (ours was dirty and burnt). No airconditioning for classic rooms, you have to pay an extra 10 euros for it (fortunately it was not scorcing hot so we managed without). The bed was comfortable albeit the fact that it is composed of two single mattresses. There is also a small old fashioned TV right on top of the waldrobe (hard to see) with Italian and German channels. No English options. The bathroom is ok, with the added bonus of a built in hairdrier. No amenities (there is a soap despenser on the wall). The shower box is so small you bang yourself everytime you try to move in it. Terrible.
Now to the structure itself: it's quite a nice place, immersed in green, with a pool that looks a little tacky, but is nonethelss ideal for families with children. There is a very small reception area where wifi is available for free and then there is a large dining are. We were having our meals in the evening. I am Italian and have to say the quantity was good but the quality was quite bad...drinks are not included (nor is water) in the price. The breakfast buffet is abundant but lacking again in quality: in a country as famous as Italy for its home-made specialities, everything was industrial and tasteless. Even the fruit that was proposed was rarely seasonal: lots of pears and apples, not many peaches, no apricots, nothing typical of the region or the season.
All in all, if we had opted for the B&B solution and had paid about 500 euros less, I think we would have been less disappointed and my review would have been better. But this place is ridiculously overpriced for what you get both in terms of Bed and Board. A good note: staff are generally friendly and provide you with information willingly.

Room Tip: Do not get the classic room and if you do, avoid the roadside ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel is only good if you only care about being close to the beach (10-15 min walk) and if you are a family with children. There is a pool and you can have all your meals included. Most of the food was very nice and tasted like home-cooking. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere on a very busy road. It is not within walking distance to either Porto Azurro or Capoliveri. You will need your own transport if you do stay here, and make sure to request a room that is not close to the road, as a lot of traffic goes by. The rooms look a lot nicer on the website then in real life. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed here with friends for 3 nights. Our room was very poor; there was a lampshade missing, the shower panel was broken and there was no decoration whatsoever. It was clean though. Airconditioning is only available at an extra cost of 10 euro's per night, so a good idea for friends is to share the remote control and split the cost!!!
The pool was clean, but the area was just a bit blend. Some nice terracotta's with flowers could make a huge difference. Overall this place could be really nice, but it looks just a bit neglected.
Breakfast was not good at all; there was no bread most of the time and the coffee was old. No fresh fruit or anything fresh at all...
Apparently the hotel has a stretch of beach with beds and parasols. It was a shame the hotel staff didn't tell us about it ...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Giulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Giulia

Address: Lido di Capoliveri, 57036 Porto Azzurro, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Porto Azzurro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Porto Azzurro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Giulia 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Giulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Giulia Elba Island/Porto Azzurro, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Giulia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.