We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this place - simple, but charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mari to your Saves list
Hotel Mari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Carlo Pisacane, 19, 04027 Ponza Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ponza Island
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“LOVED this place - simple, but charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. Let me start off by saying that this hotel is very basic. It’s pretty much no frills. But that being said, it was perfect for our stay in Ponza. Things just happen slower on this island. Things are more peaceful. Ponza is a place where you can go and simply forget about the worries of the world – take in the breathtaking scenery, interact with the locals, enjoy some delicious food, and watch the evening slowly go by as you drink an Aperol Spritz (or two). This hotel fits the bill perfectly for that. It’s centrally located and the staff are warm and pleasant. English is not as common on this island as in other more touristy parts of Italy, and that’s part of the charm. The hotel staff though were very helpful – directing us to the local administrative office so my boyfriend could look up his mom’s birth record, spending time going through the all-italian San Silverio festival guide so we knew what events were happening during the feast day, giving us advice on renting boats, and generally just giving us an insider’s take on things to see and do on the island. The room was basic, but very clean – and although basic, I found it charming. Room was large with a good sized balcony overlooking the harbor – quite a lovely view. Hair dryer in the bathroom was one of the most bizarre looking devices I have ever seen --- like a vacuum attached to the wall. Breakfast was very basic, but the breakfast staff was lovely. The hotel was displaying beautiful ceramics from a local artisan in the common areas, and we ended up buying several pieces. I can’t wait until we go back to Ponza, and would be more than happy to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Small, functional place right in the center of town. The rooms are bright, impeccably clean and those facing the harbor have a wonderful view. The staff are helpful, with breakfast being more than ample.
Ponza is a delight as we were there in May and there were very few tourists.
The only complaint was the long ferry from Formia...old and rickety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeltweg, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our friends and we loved our stay at Hotel Mari. Our room overlooked the harbour so we very much enjoyed watching the port activities. We had a relaxing stay and did not find our room to be disturbed by outside noise at all. The decor was simple but lovely and the room had everything we needed. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and obliging, from the cleaners to the breakfast staff and especially the reception staff. Breakfast was fantastic, especially the home-made cakes and pastries. I would go back to Ponza and the Hotel Mari in a flash...just perfect.

Room Tip: Take a room with seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked this as a second choice but really glad we did. I am not so fit these days and this is one hilly place which is not so obvious when checking the web. However the hotel is magnificently placed right on the harbour and having a harbour view room is essential to get the complete experience. The rooms are minimal in creature comforts but the atmosphere created by the sounds, colours and lively traffic in the harbour more than make up for this. Life tumbles foward for for most of the day in a crazy interactive choreography between boats and land from the first ferry chugging away at 6.30 am until the last arrivals of the pleasure yachts in the slow waning of the light under a usually remarkable sunset. When we did go out the local buses are 5 minutes tramp around the harbour and for 1€ you can travel the llength and bteadth of this dream island. Breakfast is an experience with the owner and his wife very attentive and providing more than enough for two Scots on holiday. The local restaurants are a joy to experiment in. Seafood paradise.
Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view or you will eternally regret it. Top floor at corner has best room, biggest bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

A good middle of the road hotel in a central situation on the port in Ponza. Excellent breakfast in a renovated cisterna. Friendly staff and internet availability in the reception area. Go for a port view room - it is worth it.

Room Tip: Go for ones on the second floor - above the port noise and with open sun and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The location of this hotel, right in the port, is excellent, but the hotel itself and the rooms are totally charmless, poor and uninspiring. You'd better spend your money elsewhere on beautiful Ponza.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mari

Address: Corso Carlo Pisacane, 19, 04027 Ponza Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Ponza Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Ponza Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mari 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.