We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value with Italian welcome and style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cappugi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Cappugi to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Cappugi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Collegigliato 45, 51100 Pistoia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“excellent value with Italian welcome and style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This charming yet modern, stylish small hotel is tucked away on the edge of Pistoia overlooking the gentle Tuscan countryside. The staff were equally charming and were very helpful with onward bookings. The ristorante detached from the main building gives a feeling of " going out for dinner" although just across the garden. The breakfast buffet ( served in the main building) was excellent with a wide variety to choose from. But the best of all - the cost was really reasonable for the services provided.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    145
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
137
13
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lesja
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Spent 5 days there for a conference and the place was just great. Friendly staff and great food! When they also found a Ferrari for my friend so she could have the trip of her life everything was perfect! I will come back someday!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

we stayed here, and had a great time. (this was the second time is this hotel)
this hotel is great value. its central location is super for exploring this part of toscany.
staff is friendly and correct. room/bathroom very clean.
a large swimming pool, biggest i saw till now in tuscany!
restaurant is fair (we stayed half board), we found the diner and service in the restaurant perfect. you can sense the changes/reorganisations they made in the past year.
as result the restaurant is even better than past season.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Room was very good, clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly. Service at breakfast was not so good, buffet was very often empty. Though you can get a good cappucino when you ask for it. A hotel to come back to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Great location...great base to discover tuscany.
Very clean room/bathroom , little bit small but no problem as you only use your room to sleep.
Lot of choice at breakfast and super capuccino.
but...
do not eat in restaurant of hotel
poor food , lot of noise and very expensive!!
Just go into town where you find lots of nice restaurants...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The Villa Cappugi is a pretty new hotel, and I think it mainly caters to the business traveller/conference centre market. Having said that, it was a great base for us on our Tuscany driving holiday.
The rooms are very nice with Italian marble bathrooms (what else could you use here?) and the location on the edge of Pistoia makes it very quiet.
The grounds look nice, with a large pool that was unfortunately closed for the winter.
Breakfast was plentiful and includes eggs/sausage/cereals if you want more than a crossaint and coffee. They also have very nice espresso coffee.
The restaurant on the grounds was pitiful however. We had one lazy night that we didn't want to go back into Pistoia so we tried the hotel restaurant and regretted it. It was a nice building with good decor, but slow service and the food was not at all up to the standards of the local restaurants.
On that topic, I can highly recommend la BotteGaia Osteria in via del Lastrone, near the Duomo. Fantastic Tuscan food and good value.
If or when we go back to Tuscany we would probably base ourselves in another area, but if we were in Pistoia we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

I took a 4 night break here with the family. It's mixed news. On the positive side, it's a very clean place, with good decor in a quiet location. Hills at the back provide good walking and relaxation area - and the hotel's outdoor pool is large and clean.

On the less positive side, service was generally poor. The restaurant service was downright awful - with long gaps between courses and general confusion. Breakfast is plentiful and well laid out but the constant rush of the staff banging crockery and other utensils gave me a feeling of sitting in a cafe at a British supermarket.

I would stay here again but avoid the restaurant - there are plenty in town about 3km away.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy breakfast staff
Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Cappugi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cappugi

Address: Via Collegigliato 45, 51100 Pistoia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pistoia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Cappugi 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Cappugi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappugi Hotel Pistoia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Cappugi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.