We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Quirico 33, 51100 Pistoia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pistoia
Kortrijk, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Noisy hell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After a 13 hour drive we arrived at 10 in the morning. I wanted to rest at the pool but it was closed because of a marriage. Apparently there was a marriage planned in the hotel but we were not warned. When we back at the hotel at eleven the parking lot was full so we had to park on a mountain road bit further. When i was in bed all hell broke loose. Fireworks next to our chamber and loud house music till 4 in the morning. I didn't sleep that night but couldn't get a discount because they don't speak english. When i complained that night that i was really tired they just said, come back tomorrow when the managers here. Yeah right. Rooms were nice. And maybe the italians are a bit more tolerant than me. I can laugh about it now :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
16
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asti
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

A former monastery, the hotel is located on top of a hill overseeing the city of Pistoia, with very nice view, and temperature is cool also during hot august.

Very nice the swiming pool, and excellent the food. The owner produces his own olive oil, which I recommend to taste with bread and salt.

The hotel if far from the crowdm, you can enjoy what real silence is, and has a large parking place, not a commong feature in Pistoia. This is why, even if this is what I define a "romantic" hotel, is also very good for a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Finding our choice Florence hotels fully booked, we came by chance upon this delightful former convent, converted with love and no money spared into a classy 30-room hotel filled with antiques, yet providing modern amenities and comfort. Located beautifully on a hill side outside of Pistoia, up a country lane through vineyards and olive groves, the hotel has a commanding view over the countryside and the valley below. Ample free parking is available in a lot across the street or behind a gate on site for those with security concerns.

Welcomed warmly by a smiling Paolo Petrini, the proprietor, we were offered a choice of rooms and settled on a rather spacious one with a terrace. Reached via lift, our room with its antique furniture and accessories, paintings, elegant drapery, and area rugs on the stone tile floor offered an ambiance enjoyed by those with an appreciation for antiques. Room appointments included pushed together firm twin beds with king size sheets, a stocked mini-bar, plasma TV with untold many channels via Sky Sat TV, A/C, desk, overstuffed chair and was very well lit and comfortable. The modern bath with a fully glass enclosed walk-in shower, rain shower head, sink, and bidet was a little cramped but the softest of towels made up for that, and all was sparkling clean, as was the room itself.

The hotel's common areas are filled with antiques and include a nice lounge, restaurant and breakfast room, all with a nice ambiance and with the ever present proprietor Paolo seeing to it that his guests are happy and satisfied. The food served in the classy, intimate restaurant was excellent, as was the wine from vineyards near the convent. Olive oil used in cooking is pressed by Paolo from olives out of the convent's grove. Morning fare consisted of an expanded continental breakfast with a selection of baked sweets, fresh berries, and poached apples.

By its location, the Il Convento Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore by car or train from Pistoia the towns of Florence, Lucca, and Pisa besides the Tuscan countryside. We left our car in the parking lot, taxied to the train station for 15 Euro and took the train for 6 Euro right into the heart of Florence. All considered, the Il Convento is a find and a quiet refuge for romantics. We would happily stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here two nights recently on a tour. The hotel is beautiful, the location is beautiful and it has a very serene feel to it. We had a special dinner the 2nd night and it was absolutely delicious. The owner, however did put a bit of a damper on things. He was pretty grumpy in the morning and I felt that if he spoke some English his life would be much easier. Mrs owner was much more pleasant. It is such a shame as we couldnt really fault anything else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed here on buisness trip to the area. I was really looking forward to the stay, it looks so good on its website and thought it would be welcome change from the usual big chains I stay in. The hotel is nicely furnished, well maintained and generally very comfortable. The standard room I got was small, comfortable, but furnished rather austerely. The hotel does not appear to have many staff, there is usually someone on the reception, but elsewhere you will be lucky to find anyone other than the ghost of a Franciscan Monk (The hotel was originally a monastery). Breakfast is fairly basic. The food in the restaurant is very good, but note the restaurant is not open Monday night. The hotel was very quiet, perhaps no more than 3 or 4 rooms occupied the nights I stayed. I don't think I would stay here again as I found it a little too quiet . But if that's what you are looking for then it is probably a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Good value for money. Would certainly go there again. The restaurant was easily the best in the Pistoia area.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spoleto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Incredible view, excellent restaurant, beautiful early 19th century structure. Ask to see the chapel. Just 10 minutes by car to the historic center of Pistoia. Great walk through the hills above the hotel. Rooms are quite comfortable, silent and elegant. There is no internet if you care about that. The owner doesn't speak English but the receptionists do. Will defintely return.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Address: Via San Quirico 33, 51100 Pistoia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pistoia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pistoia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Convento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ancient Franciscan monastery, turned into an elegant hotel immerged in the beautiful green landscape of Tuscany, half way from Florence (25km) and Lucca (30 km). Located on a hill at 230 mt above the sea level, where during particular clear days it is possible to recognize the Dome of Brunelleschi and the Bell Tower of Giotto in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.