We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torrevecchia

Torrevecchia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Torrevecchia to your Saves list
Torrevecchia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via san Giorgio 17/23, 51100 Pistoia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at Torrevecchia. What a stunning location. The farmhouse is set right out in the Italian countryside. The gardens and the grounds were very well kept and are a credit to the owners. On the days we were not traveling, we spent hours on our terrace enjoying the peaceful surroundings. It's an ideal location if you want piece and quiet and also a good base for exploring Tuscany.
The only minor issue is that the owners do not change your towels or bedding for the week. We washed the towels ourselves, but would have appreciated clean bedding mid week. This is the reason why I've scored a 4, not a 5.
We would definitely recommend staying at Torrevecchia and would stay again.
Finally, you have to try the local restaraunt (forgotten the name) which is about a 10 minute walk. The food and service were very very good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We spent a week in the two bed roomed apartment and were very pleased with the stylish accommodation, clean & spacious. We had two bathrooms one on the ground floor and another on the upper main floor, both bedrooms are upstairs. The pool area is well maintained with plenty of beds and the grounds are well screened from the single track road by trees and hedging. The one improvement that could be made would be to put ceiling fans in the bedrooms. Because of the mosquitos we could not open the windows at night and the temperature inside the bedroom was up to 28c at midnight. The apartments are only 5mins drive from Pistoia centre we parked in the free car park at Stadi comunale football ground a nd walked 10 mins to the cathedral. There are two restaurants nearby, as others have said the "Limonaia" in Gello is good and is only a 15 min. walk along a narrow road but take a torch. We had the 25 euro set meal ( steak main course no veggie option ). The other is the Da Bischio in the middle of the village of Torrevecchia and is a more basic but stll good restaurant and needs a car to get there about 10 mins, and you can park in the car park belonging to the " Circolo " bar/social just a few mins walk up the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks in one of the Apartments, which when we arrived was filthy, with cobwebs and dust everywhere. There is no air conditioning and also no fans and with a 35+ Degrees outside temperature, it was at best stiflingly hot inside the apartment.There were mosquitoes everywhere which meant that because there were no mosquito screens on the windows that we had to shut blinds and windows at nightfall every day which made the apartment more dusty and claustrophobic. We asked for fans and were told they were all broken, so we were forced to go & buy some, eventually the owners found a couple which they weren't sure worked, but without them the place would have been unbearable for the kids at night !. We were told on arrival that we were not allowed in the swimming pool until 9am every day, which was a joke considering we were on holiday and the best time to swim is in the morning before too much heat sets in. That same day the children were playing in the pool with just ourselves and the owner came running over to tell the kids off for making too much noise and splashing the water. It was unbelievably rude and an appalling attitude towards young children as they were doing no one any harm and were just having fun.

We were told that the pool closes at 7pm and were promptly asked to get out when we were desperate for a swim after a day out caught in traffic, absolutely no leeway was shown.

The beds were so uncomfortable that the kids had to move downstairs and ended up on the sofa for the remaining 10 days of the holiday. The attitude of the owners was draconian and rude and all we could think of was how this place had ruined our holiday and put us so on edge that we couldn't wait to leave. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Just got back from a week at Torrevecchia, fabulous place to relax and unwind. The buildings have been sympathetically renovated to provide a series of unique apartments (we peeked inside a few of those besides the one we were staying in) varying in size from 'cosy' to cavernous.

Well placed to tour northern Tuscany - Pisa, Lucca, Florence and all places in between all within easy travelling distance. We travelled by car (Italian driving is definitely an 'experience') though you can get to all places by train from Pistoia itself.

Torrevecchia is a little 'remote', the only place really within walking distance is the Ristorante Limonaia, which we found wonderful (our neighbours recommended another ristorante a bit further away as 'the best in the area' but we didn't find it as good). Having said that it's 'remote', you don't have to go out - just stock up on the booze in plentiful supply at either Conad or the Coop and sit out in the wonderful grounds. Word of warning though the midges really are merciless (I got about 40 bites the first night) so wear plenty of repellent, use citronella candles outside and a plug-in in your room(s).

Talking of booze one of the speciality dolci (desserts) of the area is Cantucci e Vin Santo - I was hooked from my first taste.

There are plenty of places to go in the world, but I'd definitely be tempted back. Oh and a week wasn't enough, I'd go for ten days or two weeks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We spent 2 weeks in an 'apartment ' at Torrevecchia farmhouse, but it wasn't really an apartment, more a villa with it's own private garden.

The farm has been sympathetically converted to provide each apartment with outdoor area and privacy. The pool is beautiful (but would have loved it to have been open later than 7pm). The owners are friendly and helpful.

The place is very low key and traditional, which was perfect for us as we don't like resort style holidays.

Pistoia, the nearest town, is surprisingly attractive and relatively unscathed by tourism, has 2 great supermarkets, Conad and Coop, and a great Sunday market. There are also several good restaurants, including la Limonaia which is only a 10 minute walk from Torrevecchia.

Central for touring northern Tuscany , good train services to Florence and an hour's drive to Lucca, and Chianti, less than 2 hour to Pisa.

Watch out for the narrow very twisty road to Torrevecchia - italian drivers worse than their reputations and testosterone fuelled driving duels ensue as no-one will back down and reverse when 2 cars meet on narrow causeway just outside the farmhouse! Hilarious to watch, but not so much fun if you get caught up in it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

I feel compelled to write a review of this amazing place to stay! We booked Toreecchia through a travel agent and weren't expecting muchgiven previous self catering encounters. As we were shown into our apartment by the owner Charles and his wife we thought there must be some mistake, surely not all this can be ours!! The place is fantastic, clean and accessible with a lovely big pool! The owners are lovely people who will go out of their way to recommend walks, drives and restaurants (I recommend getting the train to Lucca - we intended to stay for an hour but nearly missed the last train back!). Would thoroughly recommend anyone considering going to this area of Tuscany to stay here...well worth the money!!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

This was our second visit to this wonderful place. Stayed for two weeks, 16th to 30th June. If you want to get away from it all, but still be close enough to civilisation when you need it, then this is the place for you. An old Tuscan farm converted into 13 apartments of
varying sizes, with beautiful gardens and swimming pool area as well as barbeque area, football pitch and tennis court. Nearby are the wonderful restaurants Da Bischio and La Limonaea, the latter within walking distance.

A five minute drive will bring you to the Conad supermarket which has
the most fantastic delicatessan if you wanted to self cater, but beware the cake counter!! Tiny delicacies sold by the kilo! Resist them if you can.

I would say the only down side to this place, if it's important to you, is that there are no good bars within walking distance, but the prices at Conad are so good, that you might as well get stocked up there and soak up the atmospere of this wonderful property. We visited with two friends, but there are always others around to talk to, and quite a few are Dutch and they speak excellent English. As previously reported, mosquitos can be a problem, but we overcame that
with personal sprays, and plug in devices in our bedroom. We shall definitely be visiting again, as Carlo and Enrica, the owners,are the most delightful people you could wish to meet.

  • Liked — Tranquility and beauty
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torrevecchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrevecchia

Address: Via san Giorgio 17/23, 51100 Pistoia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Pistoia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Pistoia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Torrevecchia 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Torrevecchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrevecchia Hotel Pistoia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrevecchia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.