We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda della Castellana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Locanda della Castellana to your Saves list
La Locanda della Castellana
Localita Valle Castellana snc, 71010 Peschici, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Peschici
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Marino is a star! Wonderful welcome. Spot on home made food.Delightful pool and lovely views to the sea.What not to like? We are coming back!
This place has the relaxed feel of a BnB but with family run hotel service efficiency.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    56
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
98
151
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Five stars, no doubt about it. Huge room with a terrace overlooking the hills down to the sea, figs the size of tennis balls picked from the garden, home-made pasta, friendly hosts... You could not want for more. Thanks Marino, we had a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived and Marino rushed out to shake our hands, knowing exactly who we were, we couldn't help feeling enthusiastic about La Locanda della Castellana. There's a beautiful pool and our room had a terrace with views down to the sea, but it was the welcoming atmosphere that made it such a great place to stay. Make sure you have supper there at least once - the food is really good home cooking with lots of local specialities - although you will come home feeling you've gained a few pounds! We were there for three nights and all wished we'd had longer - there's such a relaxing atmosphere about the place - even the dogs are laid-back and friendly. We all really hope we can go back again sometime. Thank you Marino for a wonderful stay and for making us all feel so welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have no hesitation whatsoever in giving a 5 star rating. This place made our vacation. Let it make yours too! I doubt you'll find a place more perfect than this one. Make sure you take advantage of the amazing homecooked meals served each night (except one per week). Breakfast is excellent too, Marino and the other staff are wonderful, and of course the location is beautiful. It's also a very affordable price.

My only complaint (which comes nowhere near trumping a 5 star rating) is that the shower was a little leaky and water always ended up on the bathroom floor. Could have just been our room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The atmosphere in La Locanda della Castellana is hard to describe. You really have to go and stay there to understand it. Marino and his family (Sister, Mother and Father) made us welcome from the moment we arrive until we departed. Marino’s mother even took time to give my wife a lesson in pasta making!. They did so much to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The location set into the side of a hill outside Peschici is wonderful, with views over the valley and to the sea. The breakfast and dinners on the outdoor terrace were superb with excellent food prepared by the family. We would definitely go back if we are ever in this lovely part of Italy again.

Room Tip: Upper fllors have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We came to La LoCanda della Castellana at the end of a very long day of driving. Peschici turned out to be just a bit further than we had expected, our GPS insisted in taking our 9-passenger van down very very narrow white roads (ignoring the two lane highway) and we were all hot and very tired. We pulled up the long driveway at nearly a quarter of eight that evening, having left Catania, Sicily right after an early breakfast.

We pulled up the very long driveway past olive trees. As we piled out of the van (three very tired couples), Marino exclaimed “we have been waiting for you”, showed us all to our rooms, and informed us dinner would be ready shortly. We came out to a 4-course dinner laid out on the patio dining area to a beautiful sunset.

You can't make stuff like this up.

La LoCanda della Castellana is a lovely Adirondack style resort nestled on a hill side that is run like a small bed and breakfast. It looks down to the Adriatic in the distance, with the working town of Peschici in between. The hosts are clearly inviting you into their home that they are rightfully very proud to share. The rooms are small and plain – and spotlessly clean, fresh, and comfortable. There is a television and air conditioning – but we used neither, as the room stayed comfortably cool with the window open. There is a nice shower with plenty of hot water in a nice sized bathroom.

Breakfast is included, with plenty of fresh fruit, breads, cheese, yogurt, and cereal. Juices are plentiful, and you can take it all out to the patio dining (indoor dining is available, but with the lovely weather we did not use it). The hosts gladly come with coffee and tea, as you prefer. There is a very nice pool, overseen by an exercise area with a hot-tub. Did I mention the lemon tree by the pool? The entire property is filled with flowers, vegetables, herbs, and trees.

A dinner is offered at 20-euro that most restaurants would have trouble competing with. The meals are mostly vegetarian and very well prepared. A nice selection of wines are available, making this one to the best dining experiences we had in our two week stay in Italy.

We were only at La LoCanda della Castellana for two days – and were very reluctant to leave. I recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation – and a very different experience from Rome and the other cities.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor rooms and had absolutely no complaint - but the second floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and really loved the place. The staff are really welcoming. the location is a bit out of town but that was perfect for us as we wanted to have a few days to relax before we drove to our next destination. There is a lovely pool area that is always quite quiet. We ate at the hotel one night and it was delicious, as a confirmed carnivore I was dubious of an all veggie meal but we thoroughly enjoyed it. My only small gripe is the room. We had quite a large room on the first floor and although the balcony was great the air conditioning wasn't great. The air conditioning unit was down by the front door in the lounge which meant it was a hot sticky sleep in the bedroom. We countered this by opening the balcony doors and this gave us some relief from the heat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Locanda della Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda della Castellana

Address: Localita Valle Castellana snc, 71010 Peschici, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Peschici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Peschici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inn is situated among the hills of the giant Gargano. Dry-stone walls, lemons, figs, prickly pears, olive trees and pines form its background, exalted by the breeze coming from the sea, a panorama which alone would be worth a stay of a couple of days. It represents a safe, pleasant, and regenerating departure point to discover the promontory, its gorges, beaches, woods, and sanctuaries. "La Castellana" is a sort of holiday farm, only 1 Km far from the town center of Peschici and 1,5 Km far from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Locanda della Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda della Castellana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.