We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the words of the Terminator, I'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda della Castellana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Locanda della Castellana to your Saves list
La Locanda della Castellana
Localita Valle Castellana snc, 71010 Peschici, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Peschici
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brussels
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“In the words of the Terminator, I'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

A delightful family hotel on the outskirts of the charming hillside village of Peschici. A lovely little pool, a wonderful host - Marino - and his team keep this place spotlessly clean and produce some wonderful inventive cuisine (a la Mama) every evening. They do massage, have their own gym and jacuzzi and have stunning views across the hills. The breakfast was one of the best I've had in Italy.

I was actually depressed when I left for Umbria, and almost ruined everybody else's holiday. The perfect place to forgot about work and other stuff and just relax.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    56
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
98
153
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The meals were very good, and the veranda was pleasant with room enough for all guests who wanted to eat at the hotel. Proprietor Marino gave excellent advice for other restaurants in the area, which we followed and enjoyed! One of the best beaches is very close by, just ask Marino.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poggio San Marcello
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our second visit was as satisfying and enjoyable as our first last year. The five ratings for everything says it all. We took a friend from England with us and she was charmed by the hotel too. Marino and his family manage the hotel perfectly. Just being at the Locanda della Castellana adds to a visit to the Gargano in a way that is beyond measure. It may be worth adding that in our few days there we were not the only guests who had returned once more. The glowing comments from other reviewers are very accurate. We shall return again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. We had a beautiful spacious apartment with lovely furnishings and a huge sunny terrace. Although the apartment was really well equipped for self-catering but we opted for half-board......a good choice! The food was fantastic. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy and the dinners were wonderful - fresh, local produce beautifully presented. The desserts were wonderful too. Wine was extra but incredibly good value for great wines.

The pool area is lovely and there's a table tennis table and a great gym with views over the valley. Marino and his family were incredibly helpful but never intrusive - the perfect hosts. All in all, we loved the hotel and couldn't find fault with it but were a bit disappointed with the area. We did a nice walk in the Foresta Umbra and had nice evening strolls in Peschichi and Vieste but there's not a whole lot else to do out of season. Had the weather been nicer, this wouldn't have been a problem as we'd have spent more time relaxing by the pool and on our lovely sun terrace.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We spent a couple of nights at the Locanda at the end of a week and a half in Puglia over Easter. Unfortunately, the weather was not great so we were not able to get out and about in Gargano as much as we would have liked. However, the stay at the Locanda more than compensated for the bad weather as it is one of the best places we have ever stayed anywhere in Italy (or anywhere else for that matter!) It is extremely homely and welcoming, the rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the Locanda has the most spectacular view down towards Peschici and the sea. The welcome from Marino and all the other people we met there was truly excellent and the meals served at breakfast and in the evening were simple but delicious and allowed us to sample some very typical Pugliese dishes such as calamari ripieni alla peschiciana (stuffed squid). Both the room price and the dinner prices were very reasonable indeed. The wine list is limited but very hgh quality and again prices are more than reasonable. Marino's mother makes her own orecchiette by hand - a real labour of love - and on the 1st morning we had great fun watching how she does this. The poor weather meant that we were unable to use the pool but we did get to use the gym, which has an absolutely stunning view. so, complimenti to Mrino and all of the other collaboratori at Locanda della Castlellana. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poggio San Marcello
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Having discovered this hotel via Trip Adviser, the hotel fulfilled and even exceeded our expectations. A warm and helpful welcome from Marino was followed by a guided tour of the excellent facilities. The whole family were friendly and gave advice without being intrusive and the accommodation was very good. The informal atmosphere created, complimented the efficient well run service.
Meals at the hotel were an adventure with an introduction to many delicious local dishes. The location, outside the town but with views of the sea/coast and also local scenery was perfect, enabling our exploration of the Gargano, its principle villages and the Forest of Umbra with ease.
A real find, we look forward to our return in the coming years and to enjoying this hotel created by the Cassio family, again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I really have to say that this hotel is a really great place to stay!! When you don't know the area, it is really hard to find a good hotel. Luckily we found the Locanda della Castellana. The hotel is very well located (5 min drive to the beach and the city) but not directly in the super lively area. We loved it because you can really relax at the pool and enjoy the sun.
The rooms are very spacious and extremely clean. There are 5 Star hotels which aren't that clean!

Not to forget: THE STAFF!!!! Super nice, helpful and honest!!

I can really recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Locanda della Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda della Castellana

Address: Localita Valle Castellana snc, 71010 Peschici, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Peschici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Peschici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inn is situated among the hills of the giant Gargano. Dry-stone walls, lemons, figs, prickly pears, olive trees and pines form its background, exalted by the breeze coming from the sea, a panorama which alone would be worth a stay of a couple of days. It represents a safe, pleasant, and regenerating departure point to discover the promontory, its gorges, beaches, woods, and sanctuaries. "La Castellana" is a sort of holiday farm, only 1 Km far from the town center of Peschici and 1,5 Km far from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Locanda della Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda della Castellana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.