We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were so sorry to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saline Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Saline Hotel to your Saves list
Saline Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saline Street, 84064 Palinuro, Centola, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Palinuro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We were so sorry to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife, daughter aged 5 and step-son aged 9 and I just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay at Hotel Saline.
Service: I got the feeling the staff were falling over themselves to make sure we had a good time. They succeeded. Everyone from the drivers who took us into / picked us up from Palinuro to the people on reception were friendly and helpful.
Food: No complaints. I love Italian food and was able to enjoy it at the hotel. 'Tonio, the head waiter was helpful, polite and very professional.
Room: On the small side for the four of us but as we weren't in it much it didn't matter. We had a sea view which meant we could enjoy the beautiful sunsets.
Entertainments: A very energetic and enthusiastic team were constantly circulating and arranging activities for the "bambini" - although our two don't speak Italian they were made to feel welcome and enjoyed making sand volcanos (!), playing swimming games and drawing etc. I played beach volleyball and my wife enjoyed the "aqua-gym" In the evenings the children went to the "baby-dance" and were watched by parents.
Beach: Clean. Another reviewer mentions investing in swimming shoes and I am glad I took their advice. The coral starts immediately and provides excellent opportunities for exploring, snorkelling and swimming for adventurous kids and adults alike.
If you want a sea with a sandy bed immediately sloping away from the sandy beach you will be disappointed.
Other guests: We met one other English couple during our stay. Everyone else was Italian. I quite liked this and made some friends with good football banter and being able to laugh at my own pathetic volleyball skills!
This is a fun and relaxing place to come with a family. Yes, I would return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    64
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
113
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Be VERY careful if you are considering this hotel. This hotel is an Italian 'Butlin's'. If you're looking for a 'holiday camp' then you won't be disappointed. They blast music out across the beach and throughout the hotel morning through to late night. Awful cheesy 'karaoke' style singers all evening (there's no escape from it), baby-disco (I'm not kidding) and 'musical aerobics' in the pool. The hotel's decor throughout is like a tiled bathroom gone wild. To descibe this as a 4 Star hotel is inexplicable. The misrepresentation of the website is shocking. Also, Citalia's misrepresentation in it's brochure is equally disgraceful. Any trust in Citalia has disappeared. None of it stands up to closer inspection - the pool is very small and poor. The beach is poor and totally jammed. The food is terrible (and this is Italy, for heaven's sake!...there's good food everywhere. But not here.) And there's a building site right next door.
We were booked in for 6 nights. After one night we left. Got in the hire car and escaped.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSaline, Direttore at Saline Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Sir,
Receiving bad reviews is part of the play but, quite honestly, only when they are reliable. One night stay can’t give a right idea of a place.
Sometimes it is really difficult to balance different needs but the fact that this is a family hotel explains the music and entertainment until 11.00 pm in the evening.
The hotel’s decor you judge as a “tiled bathroom gone wild” has recently been restored by an important architect and the same tiles are from Vietri sul Mare. How strange? Tiles are getting popular in England too.
Anyway many thanks for your comment and we really hope to welcome you in the future.

With kind regards,

The hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The photographs of the Hotel would indicate that this is a quiet and relaxing place to stay. Think again. If you like music blasted out through a single speaker (akin to what you would expect with a travelling fairground ride) punctuated with the equivalent of a Butlins Red Coat shouting into a microphone in Italian, presumably telling everybody they're having a good time; from morning until late into the night, then you are on the right track. The food is of very poor quality, one main course consisted of two circles of spam, the swimming pool had a distinct odour of diesel about it and if you're wondering why the pictures are taken only showing the view directly out to sea or to the left; it's because the hotel has a large unfinished concrete structure to the right. There were also builders present throughout our stay banging about and adding to the general din. It was so bad, we checked out 2 days early and relocated rather than be driven mad by another night of the headshatteringly loud 'baby-disco' (don't ask!)
The Hotel is seriously misrepresented if you rely on the web-site. Think of a noisy Italian Butlins 3 hours from any decent town and you will get the picture.

Room Tip: Don't go south of the Amalfi Coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Great ambiance, incredible crystal clear water, a serious children program and great weather make for a top family vacation destination. The restaurant service is superior and the whole place is spotless. The establishment is run by one of the best known families of hoteliers of the Sorrento coast. We recommend considering water shoes for small children due to the reef pushing close to the beach. The presence of the reef also means hundreds of delightful sea creatures for kids and adults to enjoy and explore while snorkeling in the safety of the reef. The location is also a perfect starting point for excursion on one of the most pristine coasts of the Tyrrenian sea.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

It's hard to say exactly what this hotel, and Palinuro itself, is really like as when we went (mid-September) everything had begun to close down. The village was like a ghost town and by the time we checked out of the hotel, we were literally the last guests in the building - the staff had been packing things away for the last 3 days and we were half-expecting the manager to hand us a set of keys and tell us to lock up on our way out.

The hotel itself was very clean and well presented, except for the pool which looked a big scuzzy and uninviting. Our room was quite small but clean and with a great view of the ocean and beach which is just metres away. One complaint about the room was the over-priced mini-bar which contained no snacks - and in a hotel where NO food was available outside of set meal times, a bag of nuts or a ginger biscuit would have been most welcome.

On the subject of food, the restaurant could have been better, but with the lack of alternatives within walking distance we were very glad of the food on offer. The menu lacked variety (plenty of local pasta and seafood dishes but very little else), but the quality was very good which - almost - made up for this.
The staff in the restaurant we very friendly and service was top notch, but be aware you will find communicating very difficult unless you have a basic grasp of the Italian language (actually, this may apply to Italy in general as they seem the be of the opinion that the world should speak their language - something they share with us Brits).

The location of the hotel is ok. If you have a car you will have no problems - but if not, its a good 20 minutes walk to the village centre, and 45 minutes to the harbour. There also nothing much of interest within walking distance, other than beaches. On a larger scale, the surrounding area is stunningly beautiful, with a rugged coastline and hills and mountains everywhere.

Overall, it was basic but enjoyable. The hotel was very nice but it's let down by the village around it. We went there for a quiet relaxing break and that's exactly what we got. But if you're looking for a busy holiday with lots to see and do, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

My wife and I took this as a last minute holiday recommended by the travel agent. If you want to get away from it all and experience Italy as the italians do then we highly recommend the hotel and area.
Outside of the hotel there were many wonderfull towns, villages to visit and explore. A car is definitely required for the freedom to do this.
Its about a three hour drive from Napoli - don't use the sat nav route as it takes across country and along the narrow mountain roads - a night mare if you have never driven in italy or on the "wrong side" of the road before.
The hotel was perfect - we cannot complain about anything. We were the only "non Italians" in the hotel but rather than have a negative effect it made the holiday kind of special. I would recommend this hotel for couples wishing to have a quiet relaxing and romantic break.
We would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

My family and I expeiaced a wounderful staff Led by francisco. The Dining was good and Anthony catered to our requests. The ocean was tranquil and very plesent for my entire family. The boys 4 and 1 had a blast. The town was pleasent in the evening and all around the value was exelent.. As an Itialian american whho has lived and traveled throu-out Italy I can say the experiance is worth the journey from Napoli.

Ciao, e Buona Fortuna Saline

  • Liked — the chefs menu
  • Disliked — pool not heated
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saline Hotel

Address: Saline Street, 84064 Palinuro, Centola, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Centola > Palinuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palinuro
#6 Family Hotel in Palinuro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palinuro
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palinuro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saline Palinuro recently refurbished, each of our 66 guest rooms features a balcony or terrace, most with full sea views overlooking the enchanting Bay of Palinuro. Magnificent at any time of day, the views are especially remarkable in the evening, when the sun slowly sets into the sea, painting the rippling waters from the beach to the horizon with shimmering gold highlights. Surrounded by the Cilento National Park, an area so rich with natural beauty as well as historical and cultural resources to have been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1998, the Hotel Saline is the perfect retreat for a relaxing holiday in a pristine slice of the Italian coastline without giving up the opportunity to take unforgettable day trips. The Hotel Saline Palinuro is located about a kilometre from the lovely town centre of Palinuro, and six kilometres from the Pisciotta-Palinuro railway station. Shuttle bus service is available to and from both. In addition to the fully equipped private beach, hotel Saline amenities include a bar and restaurant, a sea water swimming pool, a tennis court, a wellness centre, the services of a professional entertainment team, a mini-club for kids, wireless internet access, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Saline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saline Hotel Palinuro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saline Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.