We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and take it easy...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Rita to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Rita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zona Archeologica | Via Nettuno, 9, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Wiltshire UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relax and take it easy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotels don't come more relaxing than this one. A lovely building, beautiful grounds and very friendly owners. The sea is less than a kilometre away and the ruins of the ancient city of Paestum literally just over the road. [Ask Rita to tell you a bit about it before you visit.] Luigi will lend you a bicycle to get to the beach or explore the local hills.

This was my third visit. A great place to unwind!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    53
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
105
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

They offered to pick me up from the train station and accommodated me at the end of the season...if going to stay in Paestum.- stay here!! They speak good English and work very hard to make things comfortable for their guests even those with special food needs. Just remember to buy your train tickets before you get to Paestum.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

3 friends and I stayed here in October 2012. The hotel is well-located and beautifully maintained. The lobby is like a beautiful living room. We had dinner here and were very happy with the service and food. Luigi is very helpful with rides to the train station. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed there a week, weather was fantastic but the hospitality the best we have had in travelling in many years. Luigi was the best host I can imagine. His detail for customer comfort was outstanding. Food was very good an reasonable priced, The breakfast in particular was amazing, great buffet and proper coffee made to order! was in heaven.

We used Paestum as accomodation was cheeper than Naples, it had good transport networks with the train, Luigi will take you to the station and collect you on return at no cost. He even greeted us on our first day with Peroni beers at no cost.

The rooms were adequate, clean and all the staff were fantastic. This was a memorablle holiday particulary the heavy thunderstorms on our last night. This is one of the best hotels have stayed in with good rail and road links north and south. Ideally would still have a car as does allow you freedom but you can do this hotel on foot as the station is ten minutes away and can go to Pompei, Herculaneum, Naples and Rome etc.

The only aspect that you should prepare for is that the hotel is in the country and is rural, therefore a good midge repellant is required.

Room Tip: if want to use pool ask for rooms outside and not in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights in early October in this wonderful family-run hotel within walking distance of the amazing Greek temples. Our room had a great view toward the mountains (hot air balloon festival added a nice touch!), was simple and clean, with balcony, good storage, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom and shower. Breakfast was a great buffet (still dreaming about the croissants!) and dinner was some of the best food we had in our 17 days in Italy. Luigi was a terrific host, and his daughter Arrita, charming and helpful, as were all the staff. Luigi picked us up at the train station, and took us back when it was time to go. He lent us bikes to get to the beach on our second day.

We had quick lunches two days in a row at his sister's beautiful restaurant, Ristorante Nettuno, which is just at around the corner from the hotel. We ordered from the bar menu and sat in their garden overlooking the temples, but the dining room looked fabulous and would be worth exploring on another trip.

Paestum is definitely worth a trip and Hotel Villa Rita is the place to stay. We spent three nights - but might have been wise to just stay for two, as we had seen all we wanted to see by the end of the second day.

Room Tip: We liked the upper floor, looking across the garden toward the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Luigi, the owner of Hotel Villa Rita, sent a car to pick us up from the bus stop after we got stranded in Paestum. He greeted us at the door, walked us to our room and invited us to the dining room for a lovely meal. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a nice hot shower, a lovely dinner and a good night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and Luigi spent time talking with us about where we were from and where we were going next. A lovely experience...a lovely hotel...you must stay here!

Room Tip: Let Luigi choose your room for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia,canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September. Villa Rita is within easy walking distance to the Greek temples and the beach for swimming. We found the rooms very spacious, clean and very quiet. Our very own patio at the end of the day was cool and relaxing. The parklike setting of the grounds were beautiful as was the pool area. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to give us whatever we wanted. We would not hesitate to stay again in the future, in fact we would make this a destination if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Every one would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Address: Zona Archeologica | Via Nettuno, 9, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paestum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#11 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Rita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.