We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Orvieto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posta

Hotel Posta
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Posta to your Saves list
Hotel Posta
Via Luca Signorelli 18, Orvieto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Townsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in Orvieto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We are two older Australian women friends who recently made a trip to Italy. In Orvieto we were lucky to have found Hotel Posta. It was like a "Pensione" of old. The staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. Our twin room was spotless, spacious and tastefully furnished with old furniture. Breakfast was simple but good and served in the dining room which overlooked a courtyard and garden.
The hotel is central to everything, with good restaurants (are there any bad restaurants in Italy?) nearby, a supermarket across the little street and a pleasant walk up to the Duomo.
The beautiful sonorous bells added to the pleasure of our 5 night stay at Hotel Posta in Orvieto.
We both agreed that we would definitely stay there again and can highly recommend this budget hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street. A room overlooking the garden would probably be quieter but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
33
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Cheap and conveniently located hotel. Nothing special but the staff were always very helpful and willing to go out of their way for you. We would stay here again. Orvieto is a quite little village that is definitely worth a quick visit and is a great place to stop before catching the train onwards to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When we decided to do a stopover in Orvieto, we checked out availability and found this hotel as a budget option. It turned out to be one of the nicest places we stayed in during our trip. The room was large and comfortable, very clean with crisp white sheets. We looked on to a garden below, which was a great place to relax and have a picninc, and the town clock tower. The tower bell did ring early and late, but it really added to the ambiance. We had a shared bath, which was clean and functional. Note that internet is weak and only available right near the main reception desk, but there is a great cafe on the square nearby across from il Duomo that offers good cappuccino and fast internet. Breakfast is generous and served in a lovely formal dining room. All in all, great value for a good hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: There are street and courtyard rooms. The courtyard rooms will have the town clock tower bell ringi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The room was light and airy, cool when you closed the shutters. Like most places in Italy you do have to get used to the sound of the church bells chiming every 15 minutes. The road outside was noisy though in the early hours with delivery vehicles for the supermarket opposite.

The hostess was very helpful and welcoming. The only down comment here is we were booked on a room only basis and did not realise they could also offer breakfast - we were not advised this on check in.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Posta, the location is brilliant and a lovely building.

If driving my tip would be to park for free at the funicular station before you drive up to Orvietto and for just under EUR 2 for a return ticket it makes economic sense. This also includes the bus ride from the top of the funicular to the Duomo piazza, the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Orvieto has so many to choose from yet this has considerable charm and is in a great location

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menemsha
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

In a sea of over-priced rooms, this was a lovely find. clean room with a bath a short stroll down the hall, a very welcoming hostess and an abundant breakfast served on beautiful china. all with the requisite italian house cat in residence. great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

On one day's notice, the Tourism office of Orvieto recommended Hotel Posta for our family of five. Located on a tiny alley off the main piazza, Hotel Posta was clean, affordable and the hostess was very friendly. We had two adjoining rooms for less than most hotels were charging for one room. Don't expect anything glamorous, but for comfortable, economical rooms, you can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if you have 4+ in your gr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Address: Via Luca Signorelli 18, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Orvieto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.