We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orvieto Caves

Orvieto Caves
Piazza Duomo 24 (tourist info office), Orvieto, Italy
0763/344-891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 45 things to do in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: http://www.pozzodellacava.it/caves/
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The relatively short tour (50 minutes) took us through underground caves literally below the ground we were just walking on while touring Orvieto. The tour was given in english and very informative. Probably not recommended for someone with mobility issues as there are several underground staircase to go up and down. They offered a lot of insight in to the life of the Etruscan's who built the caves in the porous grounds. Well worth the time and energy!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    111
    31
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting place you have to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

When i went there, i couldn't imagine that people who lived there had done all those caves, because it had a lot of work, knowledge, and design. It is well preserved, and the tour doesn't take a lot of time and is concret. If you go to Orvieto, you can't miss it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit while in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

There are better caves throughout Italy but these tell the story of Orvieto and how the folks here use to live and sustain themselves. Nice side attraction for kids and for a break from above-ground heat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A deep dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Lots if steps, that you think would never end. Cold but mystic. I am sure we would like it more knowing Italian, no person, who could tell us more was there

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We enjoyed this underground tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We are NOT tour people (my husband tends to wander) but this tour kept our attention and moved along rapidly enough. some interesting facts we did not know which was nice to learn being our second trip to Orvieto. Nice in cool in caves if you happen to go during summer!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orvieto Caves also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Orvieto Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orvieto Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.