We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical cave tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orvieto Caves

Orvieto Caves
Piazza Duomo 24 (tourist info office), Orvieto, Italy
0763/344-891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 45 things to do in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: http://www.pozzodellacava.it/caves/
Watauga, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not your typical cave tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I live in Texas, which has a lot of natural caverns, so I have been on a lot of cave tours. However, the ones in Orvieto are not natural. They are man-made. There are HUNDREDS of caves within the moutain of Orvieto, but the tour only visits three. These caves were dug, among other reasons, because of overcrowding on the surface. People had their businesses, but not their homes, in the caves. The soft volcanic rock was easy to carve. The dovecotes were ingenious, as were the water collection systems. Our particular tour guide was supposed to speak English, but her accent was heavy, and her ability to understand questions was not great. However, we understood enough to decide this tour was worth our time, and was very fascinating. I thought it particularly interesting that the caves are the property of the house above them, and are included in the sale of real estate. Anyone want to buy a house in Orvieto with its own cave?

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    111
    31
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed the cave tour. Please make sure you take time to check them out. The history is fascinating and the views are amazing. Wear shoes with some grip. This is not a flip flop tour. Check and find out the time for the English speaking tour. You don't want ot miss out on the details of how these caves saved a town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay fortune
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

just go there and look around, you will not ever regret having been on this tour. I remember the pigeon holes with amazement, and the mats from pressing the olive oil. Imagine digging the well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wish I could explore it by myself”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The caves themselves are very cool and show how brilliant the original diggers were (including digging several hundred pigeonholes!). The tour experience was very rushed, and I think either a longer tour or just providing audioguides would be a better alternative.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remus, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely a MUST SEE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you like history at all, then absolutely take a tour of the Orvieto caves. They have such a rich and intriguing history. I lived in Rome for four months and Orvieto was one of my favorite places in Italy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orvieto Caves also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Orvieto Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orvieto Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.