We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Al Pozzo Etrusco da Giovanni

Ristorante Al Pozzo Etrusco da Giovanni
Piazza Ranieri 1A / 2, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
+39 0763 341050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 128 Restaurants in Orvieto
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Moro (also in Orvieto) would be one of the best Italian restaurants in any city, but Giovanni's gets my vote for one of my top 5 restaurant experiences in the world.. And I'm fairly well travelled (I also own a restaurant).

Small and intimate. Giovani and Dana are gracious hosts. But, oh the FOOD!! Orvieto is a one hour train ride from Rome, and I will tell you that Giovanni's alone is worth the trip to Orvieto. From the very first bite of their free salty fried bread dough I knew we were in for a treat. Absolutely perfect flavor profile and texture. The rest of the menu lived up to expectations. The only way to deliver food to this level is to have a master chef cooking everything that comes out of the kitchen, one blessed with fantastic taste buds to go with years of experience.

Here are the dishes you must try:

- Giovanni's tagliatelle pasta. Make sure you cut the ham into small pieces so that you have a salty piece in every bite. This is food so naturally well designed and cooked that it rises to the level of molecular gastronomy.
- Beef fillet with pistachio crust. Perfect!! Unbelievable subtlety in the pistachio crust. Lends perfect texture and magically complements the slight sear on the beef.
- Gnocchi. With walnuts. Again, another unusual yet subtlety perfect complement to the dish.
- Tortellini with truffles. I hate 99% of dishes using truffles bc most chefs overdo the truffle and overwhelm the dish with it. Not here. It was perfect.

What else can I say, one of the best restaurants in the world delivered in a casual family run package, where you can have one of the best meals of your life for around $20 per person (including a delicious bottle of Orvieto wine).

Giovanni's is enough reason for me to come again to Italy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    116
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bussum, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great menu, excellent quality and very nice people!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've been here in july 2013, the owners just started this restaurant but i knew allready that Giovanni means Quality.

We drove more than an hour to go to this place (from Cortona to Orvieto) and it was all worth it!

We ordered a starter, first course, second course and a dessert, all of it was very delicious and for a fair price.

Especially the steak with pears was a recipe that was fatanstic.
(i can say, one of the best things i ever had..)

The owners are very nice people and the service is great!

We will come back next year. For sure!!

Jaco

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Couldn´t have picked a better place to celebrate my wedding anniversary. Amazing food, innovating dishes, delicious flavours, excellent service and small details that make the difference.
I would recommend this place to everyone who wants a real treat in Orvieto.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just had some lunch after arriving in Orvieto and really enjoyed it! Wish I had the opportunity to go back and taste some of the main dishes and visit that great city again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, West Yorks
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited as a result of the recommendations on Trip advisor, whilst staying for one night in Orvieto. The service, atmosphere and food was superb from start to finish, and the evening was completed by a visit to the Etruscan well, and meeting Giovanni's parents who do all the cooking. This is one of the best meals we have had anywhere and we wish them every success. We would love to come back !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Pozzo Etrusco da Giovanni also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Ristorante Al Pozzo Etrusco da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Al Pozzo Etrusco da Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.