We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice archeological displays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Claudio Faina

Museo Claudio Faina
Piazza Duomo 29, Orvieto, Italy
0763/341511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 45 things to do in Orvieto
Attraction details
SF Bay Area California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice archeological displays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found this museum very interesting and well laid out. Be sure and check out the male/male debauchery on several of the terra cotta/black urns!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A chance to see Etruscan items!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This museum is opposite the cathedral and should be visited for its collection of Etruscan items. It also has an very extensive collection of coins but unless this is your interest proceed to the the vases of the Etruscan period; these are sometimes reproduced as prints and so one has a strange 'recognition' of them. I do not have the study to put them in context but this is a rare opportunity to see these relics of a vanished civilisation. The museum has no air conditioning but does have well cared for toilets and these are unisex I seem to recall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice pottery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was included in our carta unica ticket(9 sites) so we decided to have a quick look. All of the sites in town seem overpriced individually but when you buy the all inclusive ticket it makes them reasonable. The black and red faced pottery were great. They are on the first and second floors.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Too specialized for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A collection of Etruscan art and artifacts, too in-depth for me. Admission was included with my Orvieto Pass, so I went. I saw lots of ancient things, from the area and elsewhere. I could have passed and appreciated Orvieto just as much.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Museum..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have attended the exhibits here and was blessed by the atifcats located in this place. NICE tour

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Claudio Faina also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Museo Claudio Faina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Claudio Faina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.