We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Badia di Orvieto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Badia di Orvieto to your Saves list
La Badia di Orvieto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita La Badia 8, 05018 Orvieto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was the most unique place I've ever stayed at. This monastary has been beautifully renovated yet still maintains it's original history and charm. It truly takes you back in time. The property stretches out over olive groves, tennis courts, a pool and gardens with stunning views of Orvietta. Although the weather was warm and sunny, unfortunetly the pool was closed on Oct. 1st, 2 days prior to our arrival. Our only criticism was that the restaurant was not worth the high price. We had arrived after a long drive and were to exhausted to go into town, but wish we had as we found the food and value there much better. Getting into Orvietta is easier than we expected with an underground car park and escalators taking you to the top. Do take the lovely country drive to the charming little town of Todi. The views from the top are spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalingriBadia, Responsabile reception at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Seaorski,

thank you for taking the time to review la Badia di Orvieto, we are happy you truly appreciated our unique characteristics.
We would be delighted to welcome you back, on such and occasion we hope you will want to give our restaurant a second chance, it would be our pleasure and priority to change your opinion on our cuisine.
Sincerely

Amé Malingri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    32
    14
    15
    7
See reviews for
24
78
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our trip around Italy. The place is outside Oriveto and in a beautiful spot. The building is very old and full of history and the rooms are very nicely decorated. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was amazing. I would recommended this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a beautiful place to unwind. The staff was great. The restaurant was good. Breakfast included had many choices. They even made cappuccinos!

As someone else said the pool could use some updating but it looked crystal clear and it was too cool for us to go in anyway.

Just walking around was a treat and it was a short drive into town.

Room Tip: We were presented witha choice and went with a beautiful view!!! There are only 28 rooms - I doubt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights here in early September. The place is so cool being in an old Abby. Rooms are quite comfortable, the location so peaceful. You are sleeping in a historic location. The included breakfast was the best I have had in all of Europe. We also had dinner here. Excellent service, incredible ambiance and good food.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalingriBadia, Front Office Manager at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear CalifReady2Go,

Thank you for reviewing la Badia, it has been a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after visiting Civita on our way from Rome to Siena. After a lot of walking on a hot day in Civita, La Badia proved to be a refreshing setting in which to recover and re-energize. The grounds and views are beautiful, and both the woman at reception and man who showed us to our room and hosted breakfast were friendly and helpful. Yes, the rooms and pool could use some updating, but they were perfect for us after a long day. We were extremely pleased with the restaurant for dinner (both service and food). Breakfast offered quite a few choices. We didn't expect, nor did we get, The Ritz -- but we got what we paid for: a different, beautiful and tranquil stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Responsabile reception at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear BB_KingKong,

Thank you for your kind words and your balanced review.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

La Badia is a gem. To stay in a 12th-century abbey in such a beautiful location was for us something very special. We loved having our meals under the cloister arches (no problem about taking breakfast outside - just ask! - and most days a table was specially laid up for us), and relaxing in the little olive grove under the tower with a view up to Orvieto's cathedral perched on its huge rock overlooking the valley. We were free to wander around the abbey, and it was magical to discover medieval frescoes in the chapel and in what I guess was the old refectory. In the face of such wonderful surroundings, it's hard to understand why previous reviewers were more preoccupied with the state of the tiling (though we loved the 12th-century marble mosaic floor in the chapel). Certainly it's expensive, but we were granted a share in medieval Italian history, which felt to us more special than anything a modern hotel can deliver.

Although it's clear from previous reviews that the rooms are variable, we were happy with our suite for a family holiday - not the most grandly furnished in the hotel, but helpfully laid out with sofa beds for our two children in the sitting room, and two bathrooms, one with jacuzzi. We often had the swimming pool to ourselves (likewise the tennis court), and on weekdays when the restaurant is closed at lunchtime they serve light lunches by the pool, complete with linen table cloths and an ice bucket. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we took full advantage of the local taxi service they arranged - fares were always pre-agreed and although not cheap they still came to less than a week's car hire for the transfers from/to Rome airport, a few trips into Orvieto and a day trip to Lake Bolsena.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeMalingri, Responsabile reception at La Badia di Orvieto, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Uk_Italophile,

Thank you for your review, it was a great pleasure to have you and your wonderful family as our guest.

Warmest regards form all the staff at la Badia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at La Badia for four days at the beginning of August . We never expected luxurious accomodations from the pictures on the website , but were beyond shocked when we were allocated our "superior" room upon arrival ! Dark , broken tiles on the floor , old shower , sad furnitures or lack of ( no shelves let alone chest of draws !). I don't dare imagining the state of the comfort room . To be fair after complaining we were presented with alternatives and relocated to a lighter and more comfortable room( F3.) We were as well given a discount .
We had dinner the first night as part of a birthday celebration . The setting was very picturesque and the service good but my food was average and very overpriced . If you do not have a car , you cannot walk to Orvieto and unless you fancy looking for taxis late at night to get back to the hotel , you cannot escape having a very expensive and unmemorable dinner there !
Breakfast buffet was good with fresh orange juice and fresh fruits but served in a very claustrophobic room artificially lighted . I fail to understand why it was not in the main dining area overlooking the courtyard .On the plus side , you can take your breakfast there if you wish .

The pool area , was peaceful and very scenic , but unfortunately very derelict . I finf it hard to believe any modernisation took place in the past 20 years ( as stated in comments from the hotel ) It doesn't look at all like the pictures on the website !!! The review from DannyRinaFamily describes it perfectly .
I found everyone working there nice and helpful , nevertheless this very tired place needs a major face lift to justify their expensive rates ( even with a 10% discount ! ). At the moment it is not worth paying more than 100 euros a night .
What a shame !

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Badia di Orvieto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Badia di Orvieto

Address: Localita La Badia 8, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Badia di Orvieto 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Badia di Orvieto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Badia Di Orvieto Hotel Orvieto
La Badia Di Hotel Orvieto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Badia di Orvieto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.