We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Duomo (Cathedral) and Piazza right out our window, very modern & comfortable decor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Virgilio to your Saves list
Hotel Virgilio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Duomo 5/6, 05018 Orvieto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Duomo (Cathedral) and Piazza right out our window, very modern & comfortable decor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We dropped our Hertz rental car at Orvieto train station, caught fenicular (cable car) up the hill to to the large hill town and were amazed to find the hotel on the edge of the large Piazza that has the Duomo in the middle. The duomo is away from the main shops so is a bit quieter than you would think.
Reception spoke great english & showed us up the small elevator to our room, we opened our windows out to the quiet piazza & Duomo. The room was very modern with great bed, large bathroom and great fixtures. The modern Aircon was silent and worked well.
The Continental Breakfast was a bit disorganised and we had to wait for the crossant to be cooked.
The price of hotel was about the same as paid for previous 3 stars but the quality of the room and location was so much better.

Orvieto town was a great suprise, we planned it as a one night drop off stay from Tuscany in preparation for our train to Rome, but the large town on top of the hill was magestic (better than San Gimignano), interesting and well served by bars and nice resturants, and not totally overrun by tourists. We did the cave tour (that leaves from our Piazza) which was interesting and well priced. In the evening after dinner 12pm we Sat outside the hotel in their umbrella and chair "Cafe" area and had a drink watching the activity, a 2 piece down the way playing cruzy music to a small crowd of diners and onlookers...it was a majical setting in the warn night air

The next morning It was easy to cablecar down to the Train to make the 1hr trip to Rome.

Fantastic hotel in an impressive and large walled hilltown with plenty to see

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    78
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
119
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at the Hotel Virgilio. Had a small room but we had expected that as we paid a low rate. Still it had everything we needed. The location on the piazza right outside the Duomo is amazing and you really feel to be part of the wonderful town's atmosphere. There is low cost parking across the other side of the piazza. Drive up the restricted street almost into the piazza itself and it is on the left. It is fully manned and you only pay between 8am & 8 pm. Breakfast was a bit limited and the breakfast room is a little un-prepossessing but that makes little difference o the overall experience. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ellijay, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel may fool you from the outside--my husband wondered what I had done! It is an adorable, and very old building, but inside it has been delightfully renovated. The room had everything we needed, was quiet, and nicely decorated. But, as nice as the hotel is, and at a good price I felt, we probably had one of the highlight evenings sitting out in the courtyard of the hotel, overlooking the cathedral with our bottle of wine and cheese, while we listened to fantastic music from the neighboring restaurant, just people watching, looking at all the details of the cathedral, and enjoying a summer evening in Italy! The girls on staff that we dealt with were very friendly. Location was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This charming hotel is located right on the main plaza. It has been completely refurbished and is charming inside and out, where a cute terrace allows you to have a drink watching the sunset. My room had a gorgeous view of the plaza and the famous Duomo of Orvieto. It was marvelous to wake up or go to sleep with such a stunning view. The staff at the hotel are most kind and made dinner reservations and helped with any other questions that came up. This is a memorable place and I shall return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved the hotel, location was great but check in man was unhelpful, unlike other places we have stayed. When we asked where the post office was he couldn't tell us. Bed soft. Breakfast good. Able to park car close to hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel from start to finish . Bright comfortable clean rooms with air conditioning . Helpful and friendly family run hotel less than 100 metres from the Duomo, all for 90 euros a night when we visited .Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

WE stayed here one night in June. We had a nightmare getting to the hotel. We had rented A car to drive around Tuscany. There are multiple routes to get into Orvieto and our GPS kept taking us all over the city, after narrow one way street, angry Italian drivers and lots of honking we finally parked in the public parking and walked to the hotel - almost 4 hours after reaching orvieto. We finally walked to the front desk, at this point we were very hot and exhausted, we were in the mind set to find another hotel in the out skirts and forget about this one. Upon reaching the receptionist, and young Caucasian male gave us a look like we are stupid and the hotel is so easy to find, not at all sympathetic. At this point we were unable to cancel our reservation and so we walked back to the parking to get our car. The rooms were wonderful, we had one with a view and one without, both were clean. We then go to park our car and find out that we had to pay for parking, which seemed pretty silly to me for the price we paid for the room.
Breakfast was good, we had an old gentleman helping us who was very kind.

Overall, this could have been a great stay but because of the attitude of the front desk staff our trip was spoilt we just spent the day at the hotel instead of walking and enjoying the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Piazza Duomo 5/6, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the small town of Orvieto, in the historic center, facing one of the world's most famous monuments: the Duomo. In addition to its strategic position near the main monuments of the city and near the shopping center, is ideal for a relaxing break. Equipped with all the comforts and highly qualified personnel to meet the needs of any type of customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virgilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.