We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maitani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orvieto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Maitani
Save
You added Hotel Maitani to your Saves list
Via Lorenzo Maitani, 5, 05018 Orvieto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Orvieto
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yuck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We came into town a day early and could not get into the Hotel Duomo for that first day, so we had to sacramble for accomodations. This is what we came up with, and it left us wishing we'd waited until our Hotel Duomo reservation was ready before we came to Orvieto.Our room was an over-priced, unfortunate combination of dark and noisy, with weird, mis-matched furniture, and a dodgy bathroom. Worse, when we went to shower in the morning, there was no hot water. The location, just beyond the Duomo, was certainly convenient, but that is about all this hotel has to offer. Orvieto is not that big. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
9
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
work
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We spent 3 nights in the Maitani with 2 other couples and were very impressed with the staff. They went out of their way to help us make arrangements, restaurant recommendations, etc. We had suites with 2 bathrooms, small sitting rooms and very comfortable beds.. The hotel had an old world feel with spacious lobby areas and beautiful antique furniture. Breakfast was typical of Italian hotels. The location was the best in town, close to everything. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We had stayed in Rome in a 2 star hotel and thought there would be a reasonable jump to the "four star status" of this place. While the staff were polite and the hotel was spacious it was a far cry from the comfort and service we had gotten from a far less pretentious and cheap veneered property.

Our major issue with the place was that it seemed all show with none of the key elements that make a hotel stay worth the money you pay for it... I like to choose how cool I am in my room, esp. after hiking up the hill to the hotel with a fully loaded backpack in mid June heat, but was told the air con (which was centrally controlled) was not turned on because "it wasn't warm enough" (The temp was well into the mid twenties and climbing). We were told to cool ourselves down we should open our windows... which was a small issue in light of the significant noise coming off the street. It was either noise or sweat which kept us from a comfortable sleep the first night

Funnily enough the next night the air con WAS switched on (for two hours) as a large tour group complained, but clearly the interests of individual clients was secondary to the high heat tolerence of the owners.

The walls were also paper thin, so the so-called noise proofing was almost entirely useless when it came to hearing our neighbours bedtime and toiletting habits.

  • Liked — The little soaps and things in the bathroom
  • Disliked — Staff's attitude that our needs/wants were secondary to theirs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Well, we stayed at the Maitani for four nights this month and were treated with complete kindness from arrival to leaving. We were two couples, with very pleasant rooms, and enjoyed unfailing smiles at the desk.
They portered our luggage to the room, and asked why we didn't call them when we were leaving
We never had to ask for our room keys, they remembered the numbers every time
They parked our car, and retrieved it quickly when we needed it.
After they heard it was my wife's birthday , they gave her a small gift.
Breakfast was a little limited, but not unexpected in Italy.
Maitani would be my first choice for a further visit to Orvieto.

  • Liked — Plenty of room.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

I chose this on the basis of price, location, Lonely Planet listing and reviews on this website. I booked directly with the hotel and their response was courteous and informative. For those arriving in Orvieto by train it is ideally located in a quiet street a stone's throw from the bus stop from the station, the cathedral and the information office. Several nice restaurants, snack bars within 200 yards.

The lobby is huge, well furnished and comfortable if you want to relax there rather than in your room. Rooms are well-furnished and equipped: for a single room mine was large and had a nice seating area. Shower room was also large and well-fitted.

A previous contributor complained about surly staff at reception. They are not effusive but they are polite, efficient and helpful, which is what I look for.

I was a bit disappointed in the breakfast buffet which I thought was just adequate, but apart from that i have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, room, cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

We found the Hotel by way of the sign on the end of the street after a booking fiasco with another hotel in Orvieto. We had a double room with plenty of space and a huge, comfortable bed. Breakfast was the usual Italian fare including cereal. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about their town and what to do and see. Their English was a lot better than my Italian! Access to the internet was appreciated. Dinner on the balcony overlooking the Duomo was a highlight of our stay. The sun was setting and the Cathedral was bathed in a pink light; very beautiful. Everything was very clean, and the deep bath was bliss after a long day exploring the town on foot - the only way to go. The bus from the cable car sets down in the square very close to the Hotel. Central to everything one could wish for. Looking forward to our next visit to Hotel Maitani.

  • Liked — Location. General ambience
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

I stayed in the Hotel Maitani for one night in late Septebmer and was happy with both the service and the room. Exceptionally, they took my booking without asking for a credit card number.

Like all the staff I met at the hotel, the receptionist was polite and helpful. My single room was small, but bright, well furnished and extremely clean. The brass double bed might have been a bit too big for the room, but it was nice to get a full-sized bed instead of a single. The room had some nice extra touches like a welcome chocolate, big fluffy towels, a toothbrush and toothpaste, and tissues (a rarity in most Italian hotel rooms). The bathroom was tiled mildly eccentrically in blue and red, however, it was also spotless, and contained a full-sized tub.

Breakfast was the usual buffet of ham, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, breads and cakes. Each guest was also offered a hot drink as well as a glass of freshly squeezed juice.

One of the nicest features of the hotel was the terrace which has a view of the Orvieto catherdal's facade.

On the whole a very pleasant place to stay in a lovely town. I would unreservedly recommend the Maitani.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maitani

Address: Via Lorenzo Maitani, 5, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Maitani Hotel Orvieto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maitani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.