We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic B&B in Orvieto!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Michelangeli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Michelangeli to your Saves list
B&B Michelangeli
via de Saracinelli, Orvieto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 51 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A fantastic B&B in Orvieto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We highly recommend staying at the Michelangeli B&B. Francesca and her husband are great hosts and did everything to ensure our stay (1 night) was wonderful. The B&B is actually a large house with 2 bedrooms, a huge bathroom with delightful deep tub (and shower) and a kitchen fully stocked with cereal, coffee, yogurt, all kinds of yummy bread, yams, milk etc. Everything was spotless. The location is also very very convenient and just minutes away from the Duomo and excellent Italian restaurants. We have nothing but positive comments about the B&B, Francesca and Orvieto and would recommend staying her to family, friends and all you Trip Advisor readers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We recently stayed two nights at B & B Michelangeli in Orvieto. We were greeted by Carlo and Franscesca like we were family. The apartment was well stocked with tea, coffee, bread and pastries for breakfast. Francesca recommended a few restaurants which we found to be fabulous. The apartment has lots of room and is very quiet because of its location on a quiet street only a few minutes from the main street of the town. The apartment is extremely well kept and spotless.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.
Francesca is a fabulous hostess and will make sure you have everything you need.
Larry and Sharon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent a wonderful two nights at the Michelangeli B&B in Orvieto. Francesca (the owner with her husband) handled the email reservation and greeted us in the apartment (her husband picked us up at the funicular from the train station). This is a beautiful small apartment - much more than a regular B&B - with a kitchen, living room/dining room on the main floor and spiral staircases to the bedrooms and bathroom. The kitchen is stocked with tea, coffee, milk, yogurt and pastries and biscuits. The apartment is bright and cosy. Orvieto is a wonderful small town. The Michelangeli B&B is on a tiny quiet lane but a five minute walk from the center of town. The Michelangeli family are wonderful sculptors and their whimsical wooden sculptures are found throughout the town. The sculpture studio is next door to the apartment, as is Francesca's family apartment. We highly recommend Michelangeli B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed in B&B Il Teatrino. It was wonderful (it does have two bedrooms). The location is great, the cleanliness perfect, and it felt like we were staying in a home, it was so well stocked and loved. Francesca was wonderful, a great host and a wonderful person. If she thought that more help was needed (as we didn't speak Italian) she would call a friend of hers who did. Orvieto is truly a perfect spot. The Duomo one of the best in Italy. Francesca was great in helping us find the place (she had to come out and get us as we got lost), and helping us get our car into the space (we had a station wagon and it worked out just fine). The sole downfall of the place, is that you can't really see out of it to the amazing views of the town. However, the door opens to a private type drive, it is so close to everything, and comfortable, that we never felt like we were missing anything. In fact we felt like we were experiencing a place and a town, that was real, full of art and culture, good food, great people, and where people lived - not touristy, just real and fabulous. We highly recommend any of Francesca's properties. You will be well cared for and happy to be in Orvieto. Family of 4 - 21 month old, one 4 yr old. Perfect for a couple or family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were absolutely delighted with our historically charming, spotlessly clean and comfortable accommodation with one of the most helpful B&B we have ever meet in Italy. We were looked after like we were family! We had everything we needed or we just had to ask. Our very little Italian was no problem, great effort was made to make sure all our queries and needs were met and answered. We have recommended it to our friends and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were looking for a one night stay on our trip through Umbria to Rome and the original place we were looking at was nota available. The owner suggested this location run by her friend Francesca. We could not find a lot of information on the apartment, but took a chance and it could not have worked out better. We arrived a little before we expected and made our way to the building. Once getting there, we weren't sure how to contact the owner but being that Francesca lives right next door, she saw us and came down to let us in. Francesca doesn't speak a lot of English but as were able to communicate well. She showed us around, gave us the locations of some places to eat, which were all wonderful, and instructed us how to use the washing machine. The apartment was very clean and had everything we needed, although we had a terrible time trying to find a bottle opener (hint, there is a hidden drawer in the kitchen table under the tablecloth). Even though the apartment lacked air conditioning, even in the heat of summer, it was very comfortable. I'm glad we took the risk staying in this apartment, it was by far one of the nicer places we stayed on our trip and I definitely recommend it to others when exploring Orvietto.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a splendid time in Orvieto and would have stayed longer happily. The B&B is a cool and quiet retreat from the hot summer days in Orvieto (no AC but the 3 foot thick walls take care of that nicely, even for my cold-loving husband), beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, handy to the things you likely came to Orvieto to see. Francesca and her husband are gracious and helpful hosts.

If you have any mobility issues, you will likely want to get a more conventional hotel - most of the B&Bs seem to be, like this one, in traditional Orvieto homes, which are multilevel and have odd layouts. For instance, the (lovely, blue and white tiled) bathroom has a small flight of stairs down to the tub. I found it picturesque and convenient, but certainly know folks who would find it difficult.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Michelangeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Michelangeli

Address: via de Saracinelli, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B Michelangeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Michelangeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.