We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful walk-up meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Bucchero

Antico Bucchero
Via dei Cartari, 4, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
0763 341725
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 128 Restaurants in Orvieto
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful walk-up meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Tucked up a small side street you find another place where the locals go for a dinner. Outdoor dining with great service!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    66
    27
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lunch escape out of the heat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A lovely cool atmosphere inside with appealing decor and friendly staff.
We had specials including tagliatelle with rabbit ragout and pork shin with vegetables. Each meal was delicious and a good quantity for lunch. Home made deserts followed and were away in under 1 hour to continue looking around Orvieto.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food, charming town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

One of the best. Everything in the menu was excellent. Typical italian cuisine. Great service, super atmosphere. I recommend this place as much as I recommend to make a stop in the beautiful town of Orvieto.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice decor, great food, we came back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

When we first visited Orvieto in 2008, we thought this was an "antique books" shop, tucked away in a side street. When we discovered it is a restaurant, being around lunchtime, we decided to stay for a meal. It was great! Our most recent visit in September 2011 was just as memorable; shaved ham and melon shared entree followed by rolled rabbit on spinach and thinly sliced veal and tuna, complemented by a bottle of Castagnolo Orvieto classico superior white wine.
Great service, no "hovering around the table", but attentive when needed. The decor completes the dining experience. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polis, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What A Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We chanced across the Antico Bucchero on a recent visit ot Orvieto, lunch in the courtyard was just a perfect dining experience. We chose the fixed menu which at 25 Euro (Including Wine) was outstanding value for money. Just off a busy street this Restaurant is a real find and should be rated far higher than it is!!! Local food cooked well in an ideal setting..If you are in Orvieto...or even close...do not pass up on this place...one of those experiences you will remember for a long time!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Bucchero also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Antico Bucchero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Bucchero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.