We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet street, great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B La Casa di Tufo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B La Casa di Tufo to your Saves list
B&B La Casa di Tufo
Via del Paradiso 11, 05018 Orvieto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet street, great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

B&B La Casa di Tufo, run by a friendly and efficient proprietor, is tucked away on a quiet side street in Orvieto. We were able to find the street no problem, as it is only a few minutes walk from the Piazza della Reppublica. However, the B&B is not well marked, so keep an eye out for the street number - we walked right past it!

From the entry, you walk up the stairs to the second floor common room. We didn't spend time in this space so I cannot comment on it too much; however, I did notice lots of guidebooks and local information. It is furnished with modern IKEA-type items and is well kept.

Our room, Camera Stella, was on the third floor. This room is large for two guests by Italian standards. It had a large bed, sofa, small table with two chairs, and large mirrored wardrobe. Very quiet, with a nice window overlooking Orvieto rooftops. Again, all modern IKEA furnishings. The bathroom was very large and updated. The shower was interesting and had spa-type jets, an overhead light (burnt out), and a radio. Make sure the doors close tight, ours leaked a bit. There were only a few towels (no washcloths, but I do not think they are normally included) and they were not soft at all.

All in all, a simple and pleasant place to stay in Orvieto at a great value (75 Euro for two). The owner was very accommodating, provided GREAT dinner advice, and was flexible when we needed to depart early. She provided breakfast vouchers for a nearby bar, as we were up and gone before breakfast. The only downside was that the B&B was a bit of a hike from the Duomo and funicular for a one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We decided to stay in Orvieto for two nights and my daughter was intrigued with a place that had a truffle dog. Unfortunately they could not accommodate us in two separate rooms for the entire stay but she had a main floor apartment with two rooms that she offered us. This was great. There were two separate rooms and lots of space. The lady was super and offered us great suggestions to eat and was most accommodating. Orvieto is a wonderful place with the best food we had in Italy or have had in Italy since this is not our first trip. Breakfast was very good too. I would stay here again. The shower was wonderful and very modern with music, sprays and a nice size. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: More a bed and breakfast so not a great choice in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very nice, simple and clean B&B. Run by a friendly german woman, who also gave us good tips on restaurants, and parking (which is pretty difficult in Orvieto!). Had some trouble finding the place on arrival, the map we got from the hotel was pretty difficult to read (did not have all the street names), but managed to find it by asking the locals. The streets in Orvieto are very narrow, so drivers beware.
Very clean and our family of five fitted in nicely. Furnitures Ikea-style, simplistic and useful. Wifi worked all right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After the hustle of Venice, we enjoyed three nights in the scenic town of Orvieto. We loved the bed and breakfast and the quad room is perfect for families. My children appreciated having their own bedroom in the loft with separate twin beds. The unit was clean, large and the breakfast great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We only stayed for one night, wish we could have stayed longer. Orvieto is a beautiful town, and La Casa di Tufo was a great place to stay. It's located in a narrow, quite street, close to all the shops, restaurants and attractions in town.
The home has been remodeled, is very clean and pleasant. Jasmin, the owner, is very nice and accommodating, and immediately makes you feel at home.
We had a very large room on the 3rd floor for our family of four. Nice furnishings, and lots of closet spaces. The only disappointing factor was that our teenagers had to share a bed, it would have been nice to have the choice of 2 twin beds. The bathroom was large, nice shower. Be sure to bring your own toiletries. The lack of an elevator may be a factor for some people, but the stairs were not a problem for us.
Jasmin prepared a very nice breakfast and delicious coffee. She also recommended restaurants, and looked for answers to all of our questions. We had a wonderful, very pleasant stay. Orvieto was our favorite location in all of Italy !
P.S. Try the Porchetta from La Bottega Del Norcino on Corso Camillo Benso, down the hill past the pharmacy - delicious !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived in Orvieto without a reservation. Not unusual for us. We knew there was a tourist office in the town square across from the Cathedral which turned out to be closed for lunch. When opened, the B&B we had in mind was not available so she suggested a recently opened B&B which was La Casa di Tufo. What a wonderful surprise! It is a long walk from the Cathedral as mentioned in other reviews but the bus service solves that problem (when you learn about it). Do be sure to stay in the city itself for that is when you see the locals out for their evening stroll and get a real sense of the city. The B&B is fresh and nicely furnished with a very solicitous owner and son. They serve a mean breakfast. When we left, she brought her car up to the B&B and delivered us and our luggage to the train station. Now that is service!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This place is very nice and rooms are very well appointed. We were reserved to stay in the smallest room but there was an opening to stay in the much larger family sized room and we were given that room with no extra charge. The room was huge by Europe standards and even had a peekaboo view of the countryside outside of the walls. The bathroom was huge and had a spa-like shower that took a little time to get used to. Breakfast is served every morning by the property manager and consists of coffee, pastries, fruit and fresh cheeses and meats. Fantastic way to start your day. When you arrive in Orvieto, via the funiculare from the train station, make sure you use Bus B that will take you to the other side of the city. The B&B is on the far side of the city and would take 30+ minutes to walk. I wish we would've stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B La Casa di Tufo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Casa di Tufo

Address: Via del Paradiso 11, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast La Casa di Tufo is situated in the quaint medieval quarter, in the historical center of Orvieto, in Umbria. La Casa di Tufo is a warm and welcoming accommodation, and we are always available to provide you with any information you might need: traditional restaurants, outings for the family, the best nightspots, horseback riding, and we will be happy to help you in different languages (Italian, English, French, Dutch, Spanish). If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact us. A presto! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B&B La Casa di Tufo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B La Casa di Tufo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.