We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Service, Meal, Atmosphere and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna Dell'Etrusco

La Taverna Dell'Etrusco
Via della Misericordia, 5, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
0763 343 947
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 133 Restaurants in Orvieto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Toronto
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Very Good Service, Meal, Atmosphere and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Arrived early evening in Orvieto in a downpour complete with thunder and lightning. Checked in to our B and B then went hunting for a spot for dinner, ideally close by. Lots of places were closed or closing - we just wanted something fairly light. Spotted the sign along the side of the road and gave it a quick look.

Looked really inviting, busy, lots of chatter. Scored a table and were served immediately. Green salads, very good. Shared a pizza, also very good. Refreshments, of course.

Nice contemporary décor, looks freshly-renovated. We like that it was broken up into a number of smaller rooms, very comfortable.

There are so many places to eat in Orvieto we may not be back for another try ... but certainly would visit again without hesitation and recommend it to our TA friends.

All in all a great experience out of the rain.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    9
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good food - Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Sorry for late review . Lovely ? newly renovated restaurant on a side street off the middle main Piazza . Waitress charming with reasonable English . Food very nice , good selection & much better priced than on the main streets . Recommended for enjoyable food at a good price

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimate, Italy
1 review
“Worst experience of a great vacation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We picked the place on a Monday evening, as the restaurant advertised "carne alla brace", i.e. char grilled meat. Antipastis were great and service was nice, but when we got to the grilled meat things went first worse, and finally to a disaster. My wife took "Entrecote Angus," myself "Tagliata, rucola, grana", and we both asked our meat medium rare. What we both got, was half portion medium, rest well done. Unfortunately we could figure out the "well done part" only after having eaten the "medium" half. So we claimed on this to the waitress, who asked the chef. The chef told us we shouldn't complain, the meat is the same as for anybody else, we are just bums trying to get free dinner etc. An absolutely correct complaint was simply too much for the pride of the chef, he even promised to remake the portions, but which never arrived, we waited those for 45 minutes. So we ended up the evening on a fight with the chef on the bill...finally he agreed on a reduction, actually we would have wanted to eat well and pay for that....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice meal, nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a fairly new restaurant, I believe as I'd not been there before a year ago. Very attentive service, lovely fresh pasta and excellent pane cotta. Not too expensive and I will return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My daughter and I stopped by Orvieto on our way down the A1 and happened upon this restaurant for a quick lunch. We liked it so much that we brought the rest of our group of 9 family ad friends back for lunch at the end of the week.

The pizza was excellent! The super thin, crispy crust is about ten inches in diameter with a variety of delicious toppings. The cheese and truffle was my favorite of the ones I tasted.

The papardelle di cinghiale was especially delicious. Don't expect the wide noodles you get in the states, but don't worry it's wonderful pasta! the ground wild boar is flavorful and well-seasoned.

The décor is modern and beautiful. The wooden tables are each inlaid with different colored wood squares. There are only a few tables in each room of the restaurant.

The restaurant is located down a narrow side street off the square in front of the cathedral. You must walk as the side street and cathedral square are both pedestrian only areas.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna Dell'Etrusco also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to La Taverna Dell'Etrusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna Dell'Etrusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.