We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of trattoria da carlo

trattoria da carlo
vicolo del popolo, 9, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
0763343916
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 128 Restaurants in Orvieto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rehoboth, MA, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tiny place, atmosphere and view are nothing to write about, but the people are delightful and the food is great. Just off the Piazza del Popolo, it is worth finding.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    96
    30
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They must have been having a bad night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

It's hard to believe that this restaurant could have a rating of four with TripAdvisor, unless they were having a really bad night. We were warmly greeted and then left standing for about 20 minutes... apparently since we were two and their empty tables were mostly arranged for four. A couple of times, friends of the host arrived and were seated with just two at a table for four. When we made moves to leave, they hurried a table of two, who were obviously also tourists, to leave. We waited a while to be served while friends who were seated about the same time were served immediately. It got worse from there. We decided to try a full menu with appetizers, first and second course with salad. The appetizer, bruschetta, were four small pieces of hard bread with a little olive oil and tomato paste spread on them... for 7 euros. The table next two us, two English women, were vocally astonished at how small their dishes were and commented to us "do you get the impression that they don't want us here?!" Our pasta course was tiny... about eight pieces of ravioli, the main course of beef were super thin slices hardly covering the small plate, the salad was just green lettuce torn up on a plate and, to top it off, the bread was stale. The comment by another reviewer that the "fantastic pasta dishes made them "too full for the main course" seems unbelievable based on the dishes we saw. All this for $75. To not be totally one-sided, the house red and white wines from Orvietto were quite good, the highlight of the meal. As with the English women, we felt indifference bordering on contempt once we were seated as the host and staff spent their time socializing at tables with their local acquaintences.
It was unquestionably our worst restaurant experience in Italy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

BEST pasta in all of Italy! I never knew it could taste this good. "Just like-a mama used to make it!" Delicious.

Great atmosphere too, loud and proud.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food, cannot fault this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were recommended this little gem of a restaurant by the owner of Misia Resort nearby (lovely place to stay). Had the most fantastic pasta dishes (too full for the main course). Service was great. Would definitely come back and recommend to others!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simple, authentic, and true.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a little 'hole in the wall' hidden away from the main streets of Orvieto. You don't come here for smart decor and service, you come here for authentic, inexpensive, simplicity. Probably wouldn't bother with a reservation, this is a 'drop by' place, to sit outside and be part of the scenery. Simple ingredients, sensitively cooked, and presented in the style of 'mothers cooking'. I'd go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed trattoria da carlo also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to trattoria da carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage trattoria da carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.