We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Olivaia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orvieto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antica Olivaia
Save
You added Antica Olivaia to your Saves list
Loc. San Bartolomeo, 17, 05018 Orvieto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Antica Olivaia is THE place to be. Perfect to wind down and relax. Breathtaking views and peaceful surroundings. Daniella and Marco are passionate hosts - Our room was large, spotless and very comfortable. The food was lovingly prepared and absolutly delicious - you will certainly not go hungry !!! Our Fox Terrier Archie was also made very welcome - had freedom to run around and a good friend in Miles the pup.
Very special place and family - unforgetable !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Absolutely perfect! I have a perfect weekend getaway at Antica Olivaia. The bedroom was very comfortable and even without any air-conditioning comfortably cold (outside it was 35+!!), so needed an extra blanket as well to be able to sleep... The bed was more than comfortable and there was also a daybed as well. The bathroom had only shower, but this was more a plus for me. Marco is an excellent cook (the rabbit with roast potatoes was a winner!) and Daniela's amaretto semifreddo's was a perfect finish to the dinner! And the family dog, Miles, is a gentle giant. Good with kids and adults as well. The farm proximity to Orvietto (what a view of this town from the property!) and almost centrally located in Umbria makes a perfect base for exploring the nearby towns and Umbria (even further out). Will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a fabulous three days we spent in this beautiful scenic B & B. The room was so spacious that it was equal to, if not better than, the four star hotels we stayed in during our month long trip in Italy. Daniela and Marco made us feel like home. The dinners were fantastic, with local and organicly grown vegetables from their garden. A sparkling pool and pets to love on Miles the dog and Quilt and Lucy the firendly cats. We did not want to leave and plan a return next year. Unforgettable!! Thank you for the memories!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Antica Olivaia. It has a spectacular panoramic view of Umbria, including Orvieto - possibly the best view we have ever enjoyed in Italy, which is saying a lot. Our bedroom was very comfortable, with a huge bathroom and wood-timbered ceiling. Marco is a fantastic cook, and we particularly enjoyed the risotto with radicchio and Gorgonzola. Daniela has a wealth of knowledge about lesser-known sights in the Umbrian countryside, and they are charming bilingual hosts. A wonderful getaway, within an easy drive from Rome!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here two nights and were extremely well taken care of by Daniela and Marco who treated us like their private guests and did all you can imagine to make sure we got the best out of our stay.

The location is amazing with stunning views and carefully restored peaceful rooms with everything you can ask for - including a very nice and relaxing swimming pool.
Meals are of superb quality and genuinely home cooked, served at the terrace overviewing the sunset.

An extra advantage for international travelers is that the hosts speak fluent english.

Only recommendation is that you should follow the provided road directions from the Agriturismo - not the GPS!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Marco and Daniela have created a truly amazing agritourismo in the heart of Umbria. My wife and I (and 1 year old baby) had such a peaceful and relaxing break from the Roman summer. The views are out of this world, with a direct line of sight to Orvieto from a bench in the back garden. The swimming pool is perfect, with plenty of trees around to hide from the sun. The rooms are clean, cool, and dark (when the shutters close), ensuring we all had long deep sleeps. Marco's cooking was just terrific (the best we have had in any Italian Agritourismo), and has left us dreaming of future visits (we will certainly be back to sample more). The hospitality cant be beaten, and we were welcomed as if we were old friends. Just simply a perfect peaceful weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We selected to stay here during a road trip through Italy. Staying here was like visiting your Best Friends' at their vacation home but better because the hospitality and care from Marco and Daniela is more gracious than you will get from family and friends. The B&B is equipped with modern fixtures and luxurious bedding and linens. It is immaculately clean and the outdoor spaces are so beautiful you will feel like you have stepped into a travel magazine. We scheduled to have dinner at the B&B with Marco and Daniela and loved it! We are foodies so when I say it is some of the best food we have had in Italy you can trust that you will not be disappointed, especially if you want to experience the local wine and cuisine and "slow food" (fresh, local, seasonal and naturally delicious) that Italy is known for. To top it off you will get to dine among breathtaking scenery, recommend you have dinner with them at least once. Breakfast is also a treat with fresh jams and homemade fruit torte. As hosts, Daniela and Marco will cater to your preferences; if you want to chat with them to hear their stories of living in Italy and get advice on sightseeing and experiencing Italy they will spend time with you but if you prefer to enjoy some solitude and serenity in their beautiful B&B then they will provide you space to relax in peace. Don't forget to pack a bathing suit, the pool is lovely weather you spend an afternoon relaxing poolside or just quick dip if weather permits it is a must! If you like to exercise there are rural roads that you can walk/or jog while enjoying beautiful views of Orvieto, vineyards, orchards and countryside. We only wish we had scheduled more time in Orvieto to enjoy relaxing at this lovely B&B, spend more time with the owners, Marco and Daniela and to enjoy all that the city and area around Orvieto has to offer. We are excited to return again!
Final Tip: Your GPS probably won't find it so be sure you get the directions from the website. Not a hard to find place, just not really known to GPS/Navigation systems yet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Olivaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Olivaia

Address: Loc. San Bartolomeo, 17, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Antica Olivaia is a charming 17th century stone farmhouse nestled in a protected nature reserve and located near the ancient hill town of Orvieto. This recently restored country inn offers its guests six spacious rooms with en suite bathrooms, a beautiful private pool and breathtaking views of Orvieto and the Umbrian countryside. Conveniently located between three of Italy's most beautiful regions, it is the ideal place from which to discover the extraordinary Umbrian countryside and many towns such as Civita di Bagnoregio, Todi, Perugia, Assisi, Montefalco, Spoleto, Montepulciano, Montalcino, and Pienza. The owners, Marco and Daniela, prepare dinner 3 times a week for their limited number of guests and meals are eaten together family style on the veranda under the stars. Informal cooking lessons can also be organized in the afternoons usually in conjunction with dinners. Marco, Daniela and their furry friends look forward to welcoming you to the Antica Olivaia...A slow farm for a slow life! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Olivaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.