We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG, a premier Italian dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

Il Giglio d'Oro
Piazza Duomo, 8, 05018 Orvieto, Italy
0763341903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 128 Restaurants in Orvieto
Price range: $39 - $71
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: L‘ingrediente principale della nostra cucina è l’amore. Per i prodotti di qualità legati al territorio - gli oli umbri e toscani, le carni chianine, i tartufi, i formaggi - e per le alchimie di sapori nuovi e raffinati alla base del viaggio gastronomico che vi proponiamo. Hanno ispirazioni orientali, ma ben innestate su radici toscane, i piatti a base di pesce. Mentre i dessert spaziano dai classici della pasticceria, a originali combinazioni di golosità____The principal ingredient of our kitchen is love. Love for the high-quality products of the territory – Umbrian and Tuscan extra-virgin olive oil, chianina beef, truffles, cheeses – and for the magical blends of new and subtle flavors, the underlying premise of the gastronomic journey we propose. Dishes based on fish betray oriental inspiration, grafted onto Tuscan roots. Desserts range from the classics of the pastry chef to original mouth-watering delicacies.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“OMG, a premier Italian dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are looking for a fantastic Italian dining experience in Orvieto this is one of the best. Next to the Duomo with a decor that mimics this fantastic architectural splendor with food to match try this restaurant. I don't give a rating of five often but they deserved it. The pate was to die for and we overdosed on tartufo infused pasta. We dined upstairs and everything was delivered via a dumbwaiter which I haven't seen often which was unique. The staff were excellent, the wine delicious and the food outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ebensburg, PA
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A nice lunch in a very nice location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a beautiful day in Orvieto so we were able to sit outside and enjoy the shaded table while looking at the cathedral and piazza. The porketta was very good and the wine was, as well. Having a lunch in such an historical spot and among the old buildings was very special for us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good, but little ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Set on the piazza by the cathedral, you would expect a special setting - it is, if you're sitting outside. However, on the night we went, dinner was inside and up a staircase in the main restaurant. Two immediate issues - one being that we were the only people there (which you didn't know until you went upstairs), and two - no views, so you might as well be anywhere. So, little ambiance, and an inclination to leave quickly as we felt the waiter was ready to lock up. The food was excellent - inventive and balanced - the wine recommendation of the waiter very good. But at the end of the day, 45 minutes and we had gone, not to return, perhaps put off by the Rome level of prices, and certainly by the lack of atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gigliodoro, Proprietario at Il Giglio d'Oro, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
we are very sorry you found the internal location so bad, maybe you do not know that these buildings are full of history bein the ancient little houses hosting the workers who built the Duomo - Cathedral, not always it s possible to eat outside because of the wind or cold and many people complain if we let them eat outside in October and then they realize is too cold. By the way the view in the historic centre of a medieval town is often difficult because the old houses had small windows due to a practical reason: protection from hot in summer and cold in winter. Finally we aare also very sorry you were by yourself in the restaurant, we are also sorry to have the restaurant not always full of people but the crisis affects us too and this is not our fault, sorry! A pity you could not enjoy the ambiance that is one of our strong point when the restaurant is full or during the summer in the magnificient square, we hopefully see you again in the future and in a better evening and atmosphere. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice terrace, so so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

a small restaurant with nice terrace looking over on the side of the Duomo … nicely welcomed, attentive service, the food is enjoyable however not great … it looks homely decorated but not always home made … for us the prices are overrated ...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gigliodoro, Proprietario at Il Giglio d'Oro, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
we are very sorry to hear you think our food is not always home made as if it was fake food or not quality one. we spent years of experience and passion in selecting always high quality food and always making everything ourselves, this is very sad for us. thanks for the images..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you have kids of any age don't bother.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

From our very recent experiences and subsequently reading other reviews here this establishment clearly doesn't accept children. The apparent owner when noticing we were accompanied by children, and then asking how many we had, made up an inplausible story about being fully booked. We took our 120 euros and our 2 well mannered and behaved girls 2 doors down (Vinosus) and had a very good meal with some polite staff and company. When we left it was obvious the Giglio was empty. Well done. Unfortunately this came after a similar experience in San Gimignano. I had always thought Italians were very accepting of children. And I am sure they generally are. But the way these people behaved you'd think we were traveling with axe-murderers.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giglio d'Oro also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giglio d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.