We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piciuel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Piciuel Hotel to your Saves list
Piciuel Hotel
Via Pinei 3, 39046 Ortisei, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Givat Ela
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I travelled to the piciuel hotel with my wife and my two kids. the hotel is not in the center of Ortisei, but it is a few minutes wit car to the town center. the public buses have a low frequency, every hour., but if you know the time table is a good option.
It is a small, family hotel, the owner is a very nice and friendly person and the same his wife and the other staff members. the room are nice, good size,,very clean and comfortable. The food is the main problem, breakfast is OK, but you need to pay extra if you want "special eggs" like omelette or scrambled egg. The dinner has a good salad bar, and two courses. the meet portion are very small and cut very thin, showing a clear intention to save cost. there is a variety of desserts.
In conclusion, this a good value hotel, but customers with expectations of very good Italian food will be probably disappointed. and another important issue, they charged 3 euro for any hour of Internet connection.It is really unbelievable that they consider web a luxury.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Our 30 day vacation started here not knowing what to expect from Italy or this area in the alps. My itinerary was to include mostly small towns and villages for a better way to see something that most have probably overlooked. Wow, was I ever right! We traveled from Maniago to the Hotel Piciuel located in the town of Ortisei via all the mountain passes. Beauty was everywhere including our Swiss Chalet perched above the town. The rooms were as gorgeous as there setting with white walls and light wood everywhere. The greeting was very warm and welcoming and the hospitality was over and beyond. No stairs to climb no rough parking and located just perfect for a trip to Ortisei, Castelrotto and Bolanzo- Bozen. All 3 are on the must see list with Ortisei # 1. Our balcony overlooked woods with changing colors,the Dolimites and a farm with many sheep and 2 deer that just happened to pop out for my camera. In the town you won't get the feel of historical events but you will see the beauty of what Italians and Germans living together can create (a special and unforgettable beauty ). The Piciuel, its location, its feel of being new and its staff is all first class. It can't get any better!

  • Liked — Beatiful view, Great location, Hotel sparkling clean, Wonderful managment and staff, Fresh air
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We had a great time in this beautiful hotel and location. I highly recommend it as the rooms are elegant, absolutely clean and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms are big and modern. Showers are huge (hard to find in italy). The food is delicious and it's like eating at a restaurant every day. The hotel is located approximately 3 kms from the centre of Ortisei which is a positive thing. Apart from the amazing views from the hotel, you also have peace and quiet. We cannot wait to return there.

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

If you want to spend a wonderful in Italy, skiing on amazing slopes, go to Val Gardena, Hotel Piciuel. The hotel in very well, wonderful host, very good food, very good quality services. Amazing view from the hotel to Ortisei village. Nice rooms, warm and friendly.

  • Liked — Location, services
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piciuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piciuel Hotel

Address: Via Pinei 3, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ortisei
#19 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Piciuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piciuel Hotel Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piciuel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.