We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vidalong Street, 3 | Val Gardena (BZ), 39046 Ortisei, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Ortisei
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

East or West in the Dolomites but the hotel Gardena is the best.The Bernardi family - the owners
of this magnificent place - succeeded in creating the nice home for ski lovers.Our eight days stay
there turned our to be a pleasant vacation in every respect:location,service,friendly atmosphere,
personal touch by the staff,and last but not the least - cuisine.We really enjoyed every moment
of our stay in this hotel.Being experienced travellers we may say with good reason that we found
a home away from home.

Room Tip: mountain view rooms give an indelible impression of the Dolomites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

There is five star glitz and then there is five star quality and comfort which we enjoyed in the slender of the Italian Dolomites. We enjoyed great food and wine, indoor pool and Saunas as well as refreshing hikes on the plateaus of these mountain. The Ann Strube room in the restaurant as well as the normal restaurant were outstanding for breakfasts and dinners. While smaller than city five star hotels, this place provided welcoming services, great facilities, un-noticed servicing of the rooms in comfortable alpine furnishing. The blend of Swiss like efficiency an wonderful Italian wines and pastas are hard to beat.

Room Tip: We liked the corner rooms with wrap around flowered balconies on the second and third floor, not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallarate, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

certainly one of the best hotels I have been in the mountains. NO doubt about the great location in Ortisei few steps away from the cable to Alpe di Siusi (one of the largest pasture in europe) and the view from there is simply amazing.
Back to the Hotel. Certain areas like the lobby, cigar room, billiard has been totally renewed and open during June 2012. very stylish, modern but still warm. really good.
Fantastic food at the restaurant from breakfast to dinner, daily menu always different and "a la carte" choice anyway. An Ex starred michelin restaurant is there "ANNA STUBE" with good food in a cozy atmosphere. Worth a visit!
Great spa and amazing pool, the garden is fantastic during summer time, quite.
it is part of relays&chateux Hotel chain and deserve to be. BRAVI.
Noi torneremo di sicuro in estate...forse anche quest'inverno

Room Tip: Have been in superior room of 34/36 sqm overlooking the garden and pool area. first floor. High sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family and friends recently stayed at this hotel and we had a great experience. We were 4 adults and 3 children, ages 13,11 and 6. From the emails back and forth prior to our trip to the welcome snack upon leaving for our long drive, the staff of this family run hotel exceeded all our expectations. They even arranged for a hiking guide on a day when usually one is not available just to make sure we had things to do every day. Whatever our request, the answer was always yes we can do that. The rooms were spacious and the meals were memorable. We eagerly awaited reviewing the menu for dinner each night that was posted every morning. The breakfasts and dinners were amazing. From a machine that made fresh squeezed orange juice to sumptuous meat and cheese platters to all kinds of pastries and yogurts, the breakfasts were above and beyond what we expected. The breakfast was served buffet style but you could also order from a waiter that was there to answer any needs you had. Lunch was on your own, unless you wanted the option extra, but we were out every day and didn't need it. We found great a great pizza place down the block that was recommended by the hotel and on other days there were places to eat along the trails we hiked. As mentioned previously the 5 course dinners were amazing.
As far as the activities the hiking and biking, which the hotel arranged were some of the best we ever did, although the biking turned out to be a little more strenuous than we expected for the kids, even on the so called flat areas were very hilly and it was sometimes difficult transporting the bikes to the areas to bike. The hotel offers the services of a guide for hikes that i highly encourage everyone to take advantage of. He made our hikes much more interesting than we could have done on our own. The scenery of the Dolomites was beautiful and you felt as if you were in "The Sound of Music". The kids loved the cows and horses that were all around the meadows.
The saunas in the health spa were also good although i do warn Americans who may not expect it that they are coed facilities and clothing optional ,including the showers. The pool was on the smaller side but the kids loved the waterfall in the corner . Every day fruit was brought out later in the day as a snack, and drinks were available when the health spa was open, although you had to be over 18 to enter which turned out to be a good thing.
Overall we found that the staff had a quality of service above and beyond anything ever experinced and coming from the tristate area and having stayed in plenty of 5 star hotels, our standards were pretty high.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel has an exceptional staff, cleanness, swimming pool and sauna. The food is very good, with an excellent breakfast, a lot of fruits and juices, not so common in europe. The staff is efficient and cordial, the room and the location are very good. The only thing: if you go during summer, you will feel very uncomfortable due the high temperature inside the rooms, lounge and restaurant, they do not have air conditioning. It is a pity for a five star hotel, I understand that the Alpes are normally very cool, but the temperature inside the hotel is very uncomfortable sometimes during summer. If you leave the windows opened, you will have some noisy and early light in the morning.

Room Tip: Just careful if it is summer time, because the temperature inside is high and uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago for long time, and i think that is the best hotel in the world. They have a service and a food, that compared quality price is really the best one.
I travel all over the world, but the restaurant is awesome, the best one, the room clean spacious and the suite gardena has the Sauna inside. The spa is amazing, the service is wonderful. This family is really the best one as owner of a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I can’t sufficiently describe how much my wife and I have enjoyed our two recent stays at Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof. The hotel is located in the lovely town of Ortisei in Val Gardena, Italy. In mid-December 2011 we enjoyed five nights at the hotel in a suite with our two adult children. My wife and I had such an exceptional time during this initial stay that the two of us returned in mid-March of this year for seven nights. My review may sound gushing, but I can’t recommend this hotel more highly. Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof is a member of the Relais and Chateau consortium of independently owned fine hotels. We have stayed at over thirty Relais and Chateau properties over the years and believe Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof is one of the best of those we’ve been lucky enough to stay at. The hotel is owned by Hugo and Cinzia Bernardi and has been in their family for decades. We met both of the Bernardis at the hotel’s welcome cocktail reception and they couldn’t have been warmer, more hospitable and considerate. The Bernardis reinforced for me that the culture of an organization, including a hotel, can be determined, for good or bad, by the organization’s leadership. The Bernardis have set a very high standard that their staff live up to with their considerate and professional performance and appreciation of their guests’ needs. As we experienced previously, and as was reinforced by this second visit, Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof’s staff was the most welcoming, helpful and friendly that we’ve had the pleasure to experience. And their service is genuine. They’re simply nice people who smile and are pleasant because that’s who they are, not just because it’s their job. This emanated from the top on down. Not just our favorite Relais and Chateau property, just our favorite hotel. Period.

Both of our stays included half board. Describing the breakfast buffet is difficult since there aren’t many things to eat that aren’t available. Suffice it to say having enjoyed this breakfast feast for five days during our last stay, it was still remarkable to get reacquainted with this bounty during our second stay. The dinners at Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof are definitely a challenge if you are watching your weight. There are appetizer, soup, pasta, main and dessert course choices with a huge salad buffet and cheese cart also available. The cuisine is first class, impeccably prepared and professionally served by an outstanding wait staff. Our dining room staff during our two stays, Walter, Domenico, Giuseppe, Rene and Gianluca, were thoroughly attentive, genuinely friendly and always helpful. In the hotel’s ski shop Heinrich patiently equipped us with excellent gear and made adjustments to our rentals during the week as needed. At the Reception we can’t say enough about Mathias who during both stays went out of his way to make our time in Val Gardena memorable. He patiently helped us sort through the almost unlimited skiing possibilities in the Dolomites, how to maximize the skiing we could do in the time available to us and, in general, made us feel welcome. It was obvious that he appreciated that we had decided to stay at Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof. He was exceptional and he along with the entire staff are a credit to the Bernardis and the system they employ to select such outstanding people.

The rooms are bright and beautifully decorated with fluffy duvets on the beds. The hotel has a lovely pool and an amazing spa facility for all guests with several different steam rooms and saunas. Perfect after a full day of skiing.

We have stayed in many hotels and even the best always seem to have at least that one something you can point to that you wish had been done better or differently. I couldn’t find “that something” with Hotel Val Gardena Grodnerhof. It’s absolutely the best hotel we’ve experienced and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof

Address: Vidalong Street, 3 | Val Gardena (BZ), 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardena Grodnerhof Hotel
Gardena Grodnerhof Ortisei
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.