We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rezia 7, 39046 Ortisei, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just come back from a week in the Adler Dolomiti Spa. If you are looking to be pampered in the most beautiful hotel set in awesome scenery this is the place!

The staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Health resort annex. The rooms were enormous with beautiful views over the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    151
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
362
552
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having skiied in various places in Italy and Austria, I can say that there is nothing else like it in the Alps. If you find something better, please let me know. I have stayed at the Adler in Ortisei on about 10 different ski trips and this hotel has it all - from beautiful rooms, some modern, some with local Tyrolean charm; to fabulous food; to wonderful service, including a drop off and pick up to the Alpe de Siusi ski lift; to an outrageously decadently, relaxing spa facility. Even if I didn't ski, I would go here in the winter, but it's also a great summer destination for hiking too. For the sybarite in you, you just can't beat the spa here. Everyone is extremely helpful too. It's not cheap, but it's worth every euro.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer portion are farther from the dining areas and spa. There's also a separate bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Well, what a fantastic hotel. This is our third visit to the Adler Spa hotel located in the Dolomites. We reserved a room for a three night stay to be pampered by the outstanding staff and hotel amenities. As this was our third visit we believed we knew what to expect. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised.

We arrived in the main building eager to check-in when the receptionist informed us that we were booked in the ‘Balance’ section of their hotel. She showed us where the ‘Balance’ reception was and we began the short journey through the corridors all the while wondering what we were in for.

I made the reservation on-line and clearly did not pay close enough attention to the room choice selections that were offered. There are basically three choices of where to sleep in the Adler; the Main building, the Vital Residence, and the Balance. We prefer a walk-in shower rather than a shower located in the tub, so we avoid the Main building. We have always stayed in the Vital Residence for this reason. I knew there was the Balance part of the hotel but I thought it was called that more for the treatments/activities that were offered. We chose a junior suite as all the double rooms were unavailable; however, I failed to realize that this room was located in the Balance part of the hotel.

The Balance part of the hotel is located in a separate building above the Main/Vital Residence parts. All are interconnected by elevators and corridors so you never have to go outside to go anywhere within the hotel. All the features (pools, saunas, etc.) of the hotel are available no matter where you stay. An elevator took us up to the Balance lobby/reception area where we collected our booklet of information, towel cards, daily news letter, and room keys and after a short briefing headed off to the room.

Wow! The room was beautiful and stylishly decorated with wide plank oak flooring, ceiling beams, and wooden wall panels that are scalloped in the form of petrified ripples on a lake as if a rock had been thrown just before. The bathroom is separated from the toilet and living areas. Inside there is a large sink, tub, and separated by a glass panel is a fantastically huge walk-in shower with a rain-effect shower head. Needless to say, we were both extremely pleased.

During our check-in briefing we also learned that the Balance has its own restaurant and menu. As we booked our room at the balance our reserved dinner table was in the Balance restaurant. You have the option to eat your meals either in the Main restaurant or at the Balance. You need only to inform them so they may book a table in the Main restaurant for you. The beauty of the Balance restaurant is that it is set-up for the number of guests staying in the Balance. It is similar to the Main restaurant but smaller. The effect is a peaceful atmosphere and as it is well staffed the transitions between servings are seamless. We felt the quality of meal preparation, variety, presentation, taste, attention to detail, and service was better than that of the Main restaurant. This is probably due to the fact that the Balance is serving only a small percentage of the total hotel quests at a time. During our stay the hotel was completely booked and I can imagine that the Main restaurant was crazy busy. We ended up eating all of our meals in the Balance as it was just that good.

Every night there were guests from the Main restaurant trying out the Balance restaurant. They kept the available guest tables to only three and they were located more in the lobby area. They were always full during our stay.

Probably, the greatest bonus for us with staying at the Balance is that it is child free. Don’t get me wrong, we love kids and have two of our own (grown and gone), but if you are yearning for relaxation and a place for peacefulness then the Balance is for you. We were so impressed with the Balance that we will always book here for our future visits.

I would highly recommend that if you are looking for a fantastic five star hotel located in a wonderful small Italian town in an area that affords you the opportunity to ski or hike that you consider the Adler. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the 'Balance' area for peacfulness and relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Adler Hotel is the best hotel in St. Ulrich, but it's not cheap at all. It has everything your heart desires. The rooms are just great. Also, the service is excellent. Particularly noteworthy is the great location right in the center of Ortisei. And within walking distance to the gondola. In winter, a great way to relax from skiing and in summer a great place to return rom walking hikes. This is a really nice place to stay all year long.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Check in: they have few buildings. We arrived with a car to the main building, and got poor instructions to get with the car to the other buildings. One should have expected that upon arrival to the second building someone would expect us. I arrived, had to leave the car on the street, go up to the third floor to the reception there, and only than they have sent someone to let us into the parking.
Internet: not working properly. Most of the time down.

All this from my first 3 hours pin the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Best ski hotel in the Dolomite. The perfect ski vacation. Best food, best rooms, prime location in the center of Ortisei. This winter it was our fourth stay in Adler. Free ski guide for good skiers. Breath taking spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our second visit to the Adler and we enjoyed it as much as the first one. We were stunned by the new lobby and the refurbished restaurants, both done very tastefully in a modern alpine style.
Our superior room was of good size but started to show signs of wear, particularly the carpet. Apart from that the room was clean, had ample space to hang/store clothes and the beds were very comfy. Unfortunately the rooms in the residence building face a courtyard with a bar/restaurant, where things get VERY noisy on warm summer nights. Italians like to celebrate and to speak in a loud voice and thus we were kept awake till after midnight. We had to leave the window open, since there is no AC in the room, a major drawback for a hotel of this category.
The gardens, pools, saunas etc. are all immeculate, staff is friendly, there are plenty of loungers, nothing to complain about. As was the case the first time, we were not too thrilled with their system of getting little cards which you had to hand in at the spa reception to get a bathrobe and towels. At the end of your stay you had to return the towels and bathrobes to get your cards back and hand them over to the receptionist, which is a fussy and petty-minded way of handling things. After all this is a 400€ a night hotel, that should cover the cost of the occasional bathrobe or towel that happens to end up in a guest's suitcase. I don't know any other hotel that uses such a silly system and I have travelled quite a bit. Apart from that the spa towels are of rather cheap quality, I cannot imagine that they get taken home in big quantities.
Food and service at the restaurant and at the bar was excellent there is absolutely nothing to complain about. The restaurant staff is extremely friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. One small complaint is the fact that rolls and bread on Sunday mornings are not fresh, but are Saturday's leftovers, something I find very difficult to understand. A five star hotel should be able to arrange for freshly baked rolls and breads even on Sunday. It really ruins the day when you have to chew on old, dry rolls.
Despite the fact that my review mainly deals with things we disliked, this does not mean that we were not happy with our stay. Quite to the contrary, given the overall positive experience, I can highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again. The next time hopefully not just for an extended weekend but for a full week.

Room Tip: The new building in the back looks great and I am sure it is much more quiet than the residence with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort

Address: Rezia 7, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star hotel in Val Gardena, UNESCO Dolomites, with spa and wellness centre, biggest Water World of the Dolomites and all year daily guided outdoor programme (skiing, snowshoeing, trekking, mountainbiking, a.s.o.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Escapio, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Dolomiti Spa And Sport Resort
Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Hotel Ortisei
Adler Dolomiti Hotel
Adler Dolomiti Ortisei
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.