We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book another one” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vecchia Maremma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vecchia Maremma Hotel to your Saves list
Vecchia Maremma Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia Nord, 208, 58016 Orbetello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Orbetello
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just book another one”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in the hotel looking for something quiet at an affordable price, in a location nearby Orbetello. The room was old and a little uncomfortable. The service wasn't bad but definetly below benchmark standards. The Wifi, something important if you are travelling, was only available in the lobby, with no possibility whatsoever to get access in the rooms or in a more comfortable area.

We'd say that there were only two good things in the hotel. The restaurant, that serve good dishes at an affordable price, and an acceptable pool.

Our recommendation as a traveling couple would be to choose another one.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    24
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
9
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I feel my 'average' ranking is a little unfair, because it was 'good', just not 'very good'.

We needed a stopover for a night and this hotel fit the bill. The rooms were large and clean, though basic. There was ample breakfast and the wifi was free.

Sadly we weren't there long enough to use the pool but it looked inviting.

The old photographs on display were very interesting, too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was horrible. Stale bread, jam in packs, awful juice which was surprising because its restaurant had a good rating. Can't be the same people who are in charge of the breakfast...it's located on the freeway about half an hour drive from orbetello

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for two nights, and while overall it was pretty good, it was nothing special. I found the decor to be outdated, in an old-world kinda way, which was actually charming. Our room had a huge balcony, which was nice for reading and relaxing.
The pool was a great amenity, although my North American snob came through when I kinda realised that it wasn't spectacularly maintained. It was clean, but I figured it wasn't cleaned as often as a pool might be back home.
The restaurant was actually pretty good - they had a good wine selection, and the food was yummy. There was a reasonable continental breakfast, which was nice.
The best thing about this hotel was its proximity to Monte Argentario - it ws less than a 10-minute drive to the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Room was basic but exactly what we needed. The was tv, internet (free wifi) and desk staff very helpful. They had a great poolside party on the Saturday night with live music and swimming. My family had an absolute ball. The pool was clean, warm and great fun. I think we were in the main hotel whereas there are also apartments. We enjoyed our stay - no complaints at all. Thank you for taking us at such late notice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Pros:
• The pool looked nice although we didn't use it.
• The breakfast was varied.
• The hotel was quiet once in the rooms.
• Large car park.

Cons:
• The hotel seemed more like a truckers' stop than a hotel.

• The staff weren't very friendly and we were made to feel like we were an inconvenience which was a shame. We were also told the wrong time of which the main door was locked so ended up being locked out. But after knocking we were let in.

• The room was OK, spacious, but the decor was dated, particularly the bathroom ('70s). The bathroom had no ventilation and there was quite a stench which seemed to get worse after it had been cleaned. Whether it's the cleaning products, I don't know. The smell seemed to fix itself into our clothes as well.

• It was about a 15-minute drive to Orbetello, no restaurants nearby as it's on the side of a dual-carriageway.

If possible I would try to get something in Orbetello or on Monte Argentario.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vecchia Maremma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchia Maremma Hotel

Address: Via Aurelia Nord, 208, 58016 Orbetello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Orbetello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Orbetello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vecchia Maremma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vecchia Maremma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchia Maremma Orbetello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecchia Maremma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.