We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, secluded hotel with extremely helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontermosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fontermosa to your Saves list
Hotel Fontermosa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S.S. Aurelia km 156,40 | Localita Bagnacci, 58015, Orbetello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Orbetello
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish, secluded hotel with extremely helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel building had been recently refurbished to a good specification and quality. The pool was of a good size and surrounded by a beautiful garden and all of the hotel facilities were consistently clean. However, the biggest asset to this hotel is its staff - I have never felt so welcomed and at ease with hotel staff. The hotel owner couldn't have done more for us, but didn't interfere or impose himself. He recommended his favourite restaurants (for every budget), activities to do and even drove us to and from the restaurants. We had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Fontermosa and would be very keen to return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

High quality and good value hotel in a nice location with a wonderful pool and with in a 10 minute drive to the Argentario area. You need a car to get to the beach as there is highway seperating you from the coast. There are some great beaches to explore nearby and this was a great base to explore the area. The hotel itself is pretty new and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was ok and they were nice enough to prepare a take away breakfast as we has an early start. There is an amazing restaurant nearby that the hotel also recommended. Da Guido in Magliana in Toscana which is a must if you stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Words can't do justice to how fantastic the staff is at fontermosa. It was truly remarkable to feel so comfortable and welcomed in a hotel environment, leading us to the conclusion that fontermosa has the size and offerings of a hotel but the warmth and personality of a bed and breakfast. Best place we stayed in Italy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrywm36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

In my travels around Italy and Europe it has become increasingly apparent that the hospitality of Fontermosa is genuine and unique. my two friends and I arrived in Talmone around nine pm on the evening of our reservation. not realizing that the hotel itself was farther then we had expected. we called the hotel in hopes they would have some local knowledge. they told us that a taxi would to expensive and they sent someone from the hotel to come and collect us. this completely changed my understanding of what it means to stay in a hotel. previous to having stayed in Fontermosa I always felt as if you were simply renting a room and were expected to leave. my experience with Fontermosa was that akin to a second home. they took care of us. The cook Cladio(i hope thats how he spells it) came out during every meal to confirm that we had enjoyed the food. He is an amazing cook and convinced me to try Sardines! he staff stayed up with us until one am helping us figure out how to make our train! they were an amazing family to have encountered on my travels and I will always remember that experience. If ever you find yourself with an opportunity to meet this family I hole heartedly recommend it!

very affordable, clean amenities, amazing thermo pool, very close to Maremma national Park, GO HERE!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the courtyard. i believe all of the rooms on the second floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBassettCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Myself and two other friends had the pleasure of staying in this hotel on our trip to Italy. The owner and staff were very friendly and the service was exceptional.Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely deck overlooking the pool.The hotel is very modern with beautiful artwork throughout it. The grounds are very well kept and manicured.The overall ambiance of the hotel was delightful.I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to Italy.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We came across this hotel by accident and were very happy with our stay - I believe that the hotel has recently had a make over and been refurbished.
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was very clean,the bed comfortable and we really enjoyed the balcony to sit out early morning / evening. Although the hotel is just off the motorway the noise was minimal and we were able to travel to various locations without any problem.
Service was great and much appreciated. Although the staff did not realise it we were on holiday to celebrate our wedding some years ago and our stay was made very special by the Chef (Claudio) creating a special menu for our dinner one evening - a gesture we will treasure.
The hotel staff were able to recommend good restaurants in different price ranges, make a booking and gave good directions on how to get there.
The pool and gardens are next to the hotel and we enjoyed a number of swiming sessions in the large clean pool.
It is also a good location to visit other places and we did so using a hired car - there are lots of intersting places to see and visit in the local area.
We really enjoyed our stay and would book the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Two friends and I found the hotel on the internet and were extremely happy with our choice for our last two nights in Italy. The hotel is beautiful, small and quiet. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. They accommodated all our requests and more. It was a great pleasure to meet them. Our 4 course dinners by Chef Claudio were fresh and delicious. Our room opened onto a large deck that doubled the room space and provided a sunny space to relax and enjoy. The bathroom was large and bright. All the conveniences are modern and new. Although we did not go in the pool it was much larger than any pool at other hotels. It would be a lovely location for small functions and events with all the terrace space, beautiful gardens and excellent food and service. While it is beside the highway and train tracks, I did not notice a lot of traffic noise. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend this hotel to my friends. It was a wonderful end to our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orbetello
2.2 mi away
Hotel Capo d'Uomo
Hotel Capo d'Uomo
#1 of 3 in Talamone
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corte dei Butteri
Corte dei Butteri
#1 of 2 in Fonteblanda
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
8.1 mi away
San Biagio Relais
San Biagio Relais
#6 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
7.1 mi away
Tris
Tris
#4 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Baia di Talamone
Hotel Baia di Talamone
#2 of 3 in Talamone
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontermosa

Address: S.S. Aurelia km 156,40 | Localita Bagnacci, 58015, Orbetello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Orbetello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Orbetello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fontermosa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the suggestive Maremma, 1,5 km away from the beach, the Hotel has a convenient position between the sought-after Argentario coast and Talamone port. Short distance from the Resort the stunning landscapes of the Uccellina Natural Park and the breathtaking sunsets of the Orbetello Lagoon can be admired. The freshly renovated Fontermosa Hotel offers a contemporary style in a warm atmosphere where every single detail is a balance between comfort and beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fontermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing