We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable hotel and environs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Seneca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Seneca to your Saves list
Palazzo Seneca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 12, 06046 Norcia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Norcia
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unbelievable hotel and environs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Relais et Chateau Palazzo Seneca as on off-the-beaten track diversion on our trip from Rome to Tuscany. This may have been the jewel in an otherwise magical trip. The town itself is wonderful, redolent of boar sausage, boar prosciutto, truffles and pecorino. The hotel is understated but luxurious, a haven of comfort and privacy in a tiny walled city. Unfortunately, our kind hostess forgot to tell us about the spa and breakfast which was included in our rates, but we adored our experience anyway. I'll just have to come back to have the total experience! Our lunch at their casual restaurant across the street was disappointing, but dinner at the hotel restaurant Seneca was perhaps the best, most innovative, outstanding food of a food oriented trip. The owner came and chatted with us as we ate outside and told us fascinating details of the region and of the family hotel. I highly recommend eating at the restaurant - the chef is brilliant. We then explored the meadow nestled in the high mountains surrounding Norcia (a challenging drive, but well worth it) and plan to return to the Palazzo Seneca for a longer stay next time and truly explore this amazing region. The hotel is exceptional, the owner is committed to excellence and the staff reflects that commitment. It was a true pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    45
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
214
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this new & well appointed Relais & Chateaux establishment. Modern rooms & very clean. The walk in shower was bigger than some hotel rooms we have stayed in. Elevator service. Sprawling property with many rooms--some, who knows what they are for? The bar is sort of a sitting room--you need to pray somebody will show up to help you. I would rate @ very good--except for the service. My wife ordered a cheese plate from room service which took 30 minutes to arrive & then asked for a wine opener which never showed up. At breakfast we ordered black coffee-20 minutes later, we got coffee with milk. I stood by the egg cooker & requested an omelet. He went to the kitchen for resupplies. I waited patiently while he cooked & finished the omelet--maybe 10 minutes total. He then informed it wasn't my omelet! It was that kind of stay. When we came back from walking that day. We reserved at reception a table for 8:30 pm dinner. My wife decided not to go, but I was there promptly @ 8:30. there was no reservation. The waiter took a place card off a table , threw it away & sat me down. I explained my wife was not coming. I waited 35 minutes for a menu; I asked for wines by the glass selection list which was not in a very voluminous wine menu. I was told they have no such list? I got up & left. Breakfast starts @ 7 am. My hike was starting at 7:30 am. I appeared @ 7:05 am in the breakfast venue: nobody there!! If you are expecting even a modicum of service--don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our second visit. The hotel has a series of public spaces (including a library) as good as I have seen anywhere. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped (though the basic room we chose was small, especially the shower room). The hotel is undoubtedly expensive - but there is free private parking, a rare commodity in many of these small Italian towns. It is a marvellous base for walking in the Monti Sibillini. Excellent breakfast, and luxurious dining. One note of mild criticism of the dinner. At these prices, one expects all the trimmings. We dined four times, and were given free prosecco on all four occasions. On one occasion we got the pre-dessert you would get in a luxury French restaurant at this price. Once there was a complementary glass of sweet wine with the dessert. And twice there were the petits fours which, once again, you would get in a similar French restaurant. Now should these extras not have been provided on all four occasions?

Room Tip: Inquire about a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is owned and operated by a family who seem to be present at all hours of the day and night. The family owns other hotels in Norcia but this is the crown jewel of their properties. Unfortunately, we had to go to one of their other hotels for the gym and pool. They did supply bikes. The food was excellent.Large breakfast selection. Staff was courteous and helpful, but little services like getting dollars changed to Euros, post cards stamped and mailed were lacking. We had a fantastic room with a large balcony with 2 chaise lounges and a bistro table and chairs. The view of the gardens and hillsbeautiful. Hotel is conveniently located to the center of town. Norcia has an antique outdoor market on Saturdays.

Room Tip: If you can request a room, 210 was excellent (corner room with great view and huge shower (no bath t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Norcia is quaint, quiet, reserved and lovely. The family owned Palazzo Seneca does an impeccable job of remaining genuine to Norcia while being elegant, simple and luxurious. The location is perfect, close walking distance to the small center of town and on a quiet street. The room that we stayed in, although an upgrade, was quite compact, but in an organized way and was absolutely comfortable with great bedding, all amenities and a beautiful large modern marble bathroom. There are unique and charming accents and amenities throughout the rooms and the hotel. Breakfast was truly remarkable - a large buffet with a broad variety of all local products that were so delicious and fresh. This is a wonderful hotel and area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Palazzo Seneca about 2 years ago. Even that was pricy the location and the views were worth the money. Specially if you can arrange to get the rooms in the back of the hotel. So you can be able to enjoy the views of the hills of Norcia. The restaurant provided very good meals, including breakfast and dinner. Staff was very friendly and mostly bilingual. Free WIFI is always a plus. And if you walk around town you would be able to find the exotic black truffles mushrooms. At prices that you can never imagine, unfortunately too complicated to bring them to the US. Better enjoy them on location. One of the interesting places to visit is the old monastery where St. Benedict started his congregation and has been the place where all monks dreams to be. Many other attractions nearby Palazzo Seneca? The staff can always suggest the best.

Room Tip: Reserve rooms in the back of the hotel, they have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. The views from the hotel are beautiful. i am an artist and have found many subjects to sketch. The hotel staff are all welcoming and friendly - from the front desk, to the wait staff, to the maids. Their brochure mentions a "spirit of service". This is SO true! They have a lovely herb garden. The food is always fresh and tasty in this restaurant and in the family owned restaurant across the street. The town of Norcia is charming. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to have an opportunity to visit again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Seneca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Seneca

Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 12, 06046 Norcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Seneca 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At home in an Umbrian palace, this is the atmosphere that you live in this XVI-century building of charm that has reopened after an accurate restoration. Fusion between design and tradition, simplicity and quality is the secret of this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Seneca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Seneca Norcia
Palazzo Seneca Hotel Norcia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Seneca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.