We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customized service and relaxing stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Seneca

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Seneca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palazzo Seneca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 12, 06046 Norcia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Norcia
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Customized service and relaxing stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We would like to thank again the friendly staff for making our stay very relaxing in our tour through North Italy. Rooms were comfortable, and at our arrival we were shown different roomtypes in case we wanted to change or upgrade. The palace itself makes you really feel home and the restaurant serves traditional local food with a twist. A beautiful place in a fantastic scenery...we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    40
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
172
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I find it difficult to write an unbiased account of Palazzo Seneca, simply because our stay in Norcia was near-perfect.
Palazzo Seneca is a beautiful building, carefully restored. It is the staff that keeps it alive. Even though it is a Relais & Chateaux ownership, it does not suffer from the sterile-grandeur that I have experienced in other R & C establishments. The main reason for this difference is the Bianconi family management, their staff, and their relationship to Palazzo Seneca.
Apart from being one of the very few completely walled Italian towns (still intact), Norcia has two major attributes;
It has a fantastic local cuisine, and its inhabitants show a friendly humility in relationship to tourists.
Both of these points are reflected at the Palazzo S. The breakfast at the P.S. is, alone, well worth staying for. All local produce and supplied with information.
We choose Norcia as a base for walking in the mountains (typical Norwegian pastime!). Umbria has fantastic scenery, and the ground is “kind” to your feet. I can highly recommend the area around & above Castelluccio. October turned out to the right choice, we were lucky. The nighttime had a temperature of around + 8 rose to + 27°C in the afternoon, even at 1900 meters. Out all day, returning to the town to enjoy its gastronomic delights in the evening. Late spring was also recommended to us, due to the flowering on the plains.
Do keep an eye open for watching the sheepdogs at work.
There are numerous restaurants in Norcia, we tried a selection (all varied but no disappointments).
If in need of a “easy” lunch – I can recommend buying a couple of slices of pizza from the small shop on the side of the square, accompanied a bottle of beer, then just sit on a bench and watch the local life!
Other than the time of year, try to evade going to Norcia in the week-ends. Norcia is practically invaded every Friday by Italians whom arrive to purchase the black truffels, Norcina, and lots of other delights. They usually leave on Sunday, late-afternoon. Start your stay on Sunday or Monday, to find the serenity of Norcia.
Finally, whether you have any religious believes or not, try to (respectfully!) be allowed to listen to the Gregorian Chant in the evening at the Church St. Benedetto.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel represents all that you would hope for from a Relais & Chateaux. The rooms are lovely and the food is excellent and in keeping with most things Italian this is very much a family operation with a matriarchal mother in the background!

We were looked after wonderfully and wanted for nothing, you arrive and are greeted fondly and made to feel like an old friend or repeat client. We stayed for a few nights and I am so glad we were there for two dinners as the chef is excellent. We were fortunate to meet the chef having said how much we enjoyed his cooking and mentioned that we were hoping to visit (the Michelin starred) La Bastiglia in Spello but didn’t expect to be able to book a table, the chef turned around and said he’s a friend of mine, picked up his mobile and booked us a table – what service and connections!!

Go visit, eat and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent 2 amazing nights at Palazzo Seneca and honestly could not fault a single thing. The staff are so accommodating and helpful (incl. parking our car for us 300m away from hotel and bringing it back for us), the accommodation superb, location perfect - just off the main square so no noise, and the breakfast spread amazing! We also ate at their restaurant and had the most incredible meal, once again the staff doing everything possible to make sure it was memorable. I regret not going down to the spa but well, next time! The surrounds of Norcia are breathtaking! Well done to this hotel - in a league of your won

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your important feedback. It is a pleausure read about your statisfaction.
We hope to have you again in Norcia as our guest. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the walled city of Norcia, Italy in June. Our room at the Hotel was beautiful and modern with a lovely balcony for morning coffee or afternoon wine. The breakfast buffet is as good as you get. We ordered scrambled eggs with truffles (at $10 and incredible steal). A very friendly staff who accommodated our every need.

They own a wonderful restaurant directly across the street that specializes in local fare. We ate there three times and were fully satisfied. The prices on both the hotel and restaurant were moderate at most. There also was spa facilities, but we didn't access them.

Norcia is a culinary destination, and it is one that is well worth visiting. The food and wine are both accessible and inexpensive. We intend to return and will definitely stay at the palazzo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you to write about Palazzo Seneca on tripadvisor. Your opinion for us is very important.
We hope to see you again in Norcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel suites, the exceptionally friendly and efficient staff, the location is idyllic Norcia was all perfect. The hotel is warm, luxuriously comfortable, yet relaxed and casual. It was my favorite place on our 23 day trip through Italy. Fantastic. Michela was wonderful, and personally attended to us. Norcia is a beautiful village, with a remarkable piazza, and excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: The junior suites are beautiful and each room a little different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for your words, we are really honoreted that we was your favourite place during your stay in Italy. A special thank you from Michela and we hope to see you again in Norcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

As other reviewers have found, Palazzo Seneca is just wonderful. Service great, room wonderful, breakfast out of this world. We had to change our schedule and they tried hard to get us in a day early but couldn't do it but we would have loved to stay a second night here. Truly wonderful! Norcia is wonderful too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Seneca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Seneca

Also Known As:
Palazzo Seneca Hotel
Palazzo Seneca Norcia
Palazzo Seneca Hotel Norcia
Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 12, 06046 Norcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Norcia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Seneca 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At home in an Umbrian palace, this is the atmosphere that you live in this XVI-century building of charm that has reopened after an accurate restoration. Fusion between design and tradition, simplicity and quality is the secret of this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Seneca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Seneca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.