We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Poliziano

Caffe Poliziano
Via Voltaia del Corso 27/29, 53045 Montepulciano, Italy
+39 0578 758615
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 78 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Price range: $29 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta, Soups, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Caffè Poliziano Historical Place of Italy.This spacious and elegant Caffè in the historical centre of Montepulciano is a fine example of Art Nouveau design. For generations visitors and local residents have been able to enjoi a glorious view of of the Valdichiana from the balcony. Distinguished guests have included Carducci, Pirandello, Prezzolini, Malaparte, Mario del Monaco, Giulietta Masina,Ornella Muti,, Mario monicelli, Marina Doria di Savoia, Enrico Rava, Mauro Bolognini, Giorgio Battistelli, Licia Colò.... In 1992 the Caffè was lovingly restored to its former glory. Federico Fellini, who visited the "Poliziano" soon after, considered the atmosphere and style to be worthy of a great Central European city such as Vienna or Prague.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although it's a very historic place, it's not worth it. The waiters not good at service, the desserts are not fresh, and there're only tourists as customer. (Actually it's normal, because Montepulciano is a very touristic place and Italians not living there)

They have little balconys, it's nice to drink sthg with the view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    162
    68
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We ha read about Caffe Poliziano and headed to it on arrival - walking past a very tempting little cafe as we headed up the road.
And didn't we regret it. We were served by an impatient and unhelpful waitress and so were hasty in our choice. We opted for a breakfast combo with coffee, juice, fruit and bread and jam. It came quickly and seemed ok, but quite expensive for what was served.
But then the butter was rancid and I politely tried to complain but was shown a box of butter pats by a waitress and was told they are all from the one box - she offered another one, but once it's spread on your bread you can't really take it off and she didn't offer to replace that.
Yes, it has a good view, it has the appearance of a light and airy tea room, but our experience was that it was very poor.
Later in the day we returned to the little cafe down the street - our personal recommendation would be that if there's a table, stop there! It's called Bar Enoteca Piazza delle Erbe!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

excellent location, friendly service, good food and great wine (ask for house wine, comes from Valdipiata winery)!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast Everyday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our hotel charged for breakfast so we ate (at the bar) here everyday for 4 euro for two people (yes, 2 euro each: 1 euro for cappuccino, 1 euro for a pastry). The service was prompt, efficient, and tourist-friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The view and the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stopped for cake and coffee in this nice, old Caffe. The view is tremendous, the cakes are great and the service is super nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Poliziano also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Caffe Poliziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Poliziano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.